ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 172 votes, 4.99 average. Display Modes
Old 01-14-2011, 04:18 PM   #151
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportourer View Post
New Question...
I just purchased a like new 478 from someone on Craigslist. The unit was never registered so when I registered it, I got a free update to 2011 maps which was great. Now, the bad part. There is an internal problem with this unit and the car speaker does not work. I called Garmin and they sent me a new one for free but it still doesn't work so the problem is definitely internal. I called them back and they said they need a reciept for me to send it in and get a free replacement which I don't have. Without a reciept it is a $150 replacement cost. I can get the sound out of the stereo output, but I wanted to mono one to work because my audio system has a mono input which will override the music and such coming from my Zumo which is where I get all audio. Anyway, this is getting complicated now so, here is the question. A good friend of mine got a new 478 a couple of years ago and it did the same thing. He sent it in and got a free replacement and the new one did the same thing in about 6 months. So, if I decide to spend the $150 and turn my great deal into a not so great one, can I expect mine to keep working or is this a common problem. I have a Street Pilot 3 that is 8 years old that the speaker works fine on, so I would like to believe a new 478 would solve the problem. But if it will fail again I guess I will need to just convert the stereo output to mono. Let me know...
I'm confused what speaker isn't working? The built in speaker the cig plug like this one?



So you are saying that is tied to something internal in the unit, not just through the plug? Hmm, my speaker on my cig cord still works fine and I've actually been using that plug in my tank bag for over a year when the other basic cig plug bit the dust? There is obviously the 3.5mm plug on the back? So it won't work for you because its stereo? You could just get a stereo to mono adapter? I've also seen some hardwire plugs with a mono plug built in. Not sure if the same thing carries the sound through though's as the cig plug?



I've never heard of that being a major problem on the 478's, but most people that
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:42 PM   #152
spidennis OP
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning View Post
I'm confused what speaker isn't working? The built in speaker the cig plug like this one?

My cig plug speaker stopped working but sometimes it will work for a short time. I'm thinking it's a bad connection. My stereo jack on the back works just fine though.
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 02:15 AM   #153
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportourer View Post
There is an internal problem with this unit and the car speaker does not work. I called Garmin and they sent me a new one for free but it still doesn't work so the problem is definitely internal. I called them back and they said they need a reciept for me to send it in and get a free replacement which I don't have. Without a reciept it is a $150 replacement cost. I can get the sound out of the stereo output, but I wanted to mono one to work because my audio system has a mono input which will override the music and such coming from my Zumo which is where I get all audio.
I had this same problem with my 478, even down to Garmin sending me a new speaker plug, which didn't fix it, and my lack of receipt. I had no choice but to accept this problem or to try to fix it myself. I took my GPS apart, cleaned up a few contacts and tested the sound. It worked! Yay. I reassembled it, and it no longer worked. Boo.

After several trials, here's what I found worked for me. Refer to the picture below.



The ring around the antenna connector shown in this picture was too tight. If I loosened it up (use a pair of needle nose pliers) my sound worked. If I tightened it, the sound went away. The truth is, I couldn't figure out why this fixed it... but it did, so I can't complain.

That's the easiest fix to try first. If that doesn't work, I can give you more detailed instructions on what different things I tried to fix the sound on my GPS.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:41 AM   #154
Sportourer
Adventurer
 
Sportourer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 63
Jamie,
Thanks for the advice. I am a mechanic for a living so I have no problem taking the unit apart if that will fix it. I am away from home at work for the next few days so I don't have the GPS with me. I will try the antenna ring first as you suggested and if it doesn't work I will let you know and ask what else you did.
__________________
Alex Schmitt
Bethel, NY
IBA#364
STOC#4028
AMA#372280
Sportourer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:56 AM   #155
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,354
The antenna connector on most models is powered to supply power to the optional amplified external antennas. A short there would certainly cause a problem!

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:27 AM   #156
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportourer View Post
I will try the antenna ring first as you suggested and if it doesn't work I will let you know and ask what else you did.
More specifically, I found I only needed to loosen the ring maybe half a turn and then the sound worked. If I snugged up the ring, the sound quit working.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 01:08 PM   #157
Sportourer
Adventurer
 
Sportourer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 63
Jamie,
I finally got around to doing this. I loosened the ring a little bit and the sound now works! I can't believe this fixed it. I am sure glad I asked about this on here and did not send the unit in. Thanks again for the help!
__________________
Alex Schmitt
Bethel, NY
IBA#364
STOC#4028
AMA#372280
Sportourer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 01:20 AM   #158
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportourer View Post
Jamie,
I finally got around to doing this. I loosened the ring a little bit and the sound now works! I can't believe this fixed it.
Holy cow! It worked. I can't believe it either. Must be some sort of flaw in the design or manufacture so that tightening the external antenna ring opens or shorts some circuit inside.

I've been wondering if you ever gave it a shot. Thanks for posting your result.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 11:37 AM   #159
Sportourer
Adventurer
 
Sportourer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 63
Jamie,
I wonder if you were to take the unit apart and put a small washer in place which would allow the antenna post to be tightened but not pull on the board if that would totally fix it? If I have a problem with it cutting out I might try this but until then I don't want to take the unit apart if I don't have to. Loctite is always another solution as well if it wants to loosen up. On another note, I read your travel article. Very nice. I do a lot of what you say myself but I did learn a few new ideas. I can't say I am as thrifty as you, but I did just do a 14,000 mile trip to Alaska and back on a 1987 Transalp. The only time I did not camp was when I stayed at the University of Fairbanks in a dorm room for $20 which I split with someone and in a couple of peoples' houses along the way. It is the only way you can travel these days without spending a fortune.
__________________
Alex Schmitt
Bethel, NY
IBA#364
STOC#4028
AMA#372280
Sportourer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 11:40 AM   #160
Sportourer
Adventurer
 
Sportourer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 63
New 478 Question...
I am wondering if anyone has used the boat mount on their bike? I want to use the unit on my ST1100 and Transalp. I plan on getting a Touratech mount for the Transalp when I get lucky enough to score a used one hopefully. But for the ST1100 it seems like the boat mount should be rugged enough. What are your thoughts?
__________________
Alex Schmitt
Bethel, NY
IBA#364
STOC#4028
AMA#372280
Sportourer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:01 AM   #161
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportourer View Post
New 478 Question...
I am wondering if anyone has used the boat mount on their bike?
As far as I remember, that's what I'm using. It's been a year or two since I mounted it.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 05:27 AM   #162
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportourer View Post
New 478 Question...
I am wondering if anyone has used the boat mount on their bike? I want to use the unit on my ST1100 and Transalp. I plan on getting a Touratech mount for the Transalp when I get lucky enough to score a used one hopefully. But for the ST1100 it seems like the boat mount should be rugged enough. What are your thoughts?
Why not use a ram system mount to your touratech bracket, then you can swap the mount from bike to bike.

This is what I've got. I have a ram ball of each of my bikes and just swap the arm and mount over.

__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:58 AM   #163
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
Why not use a ram system mount to your touratech bracket, then you can swap the mount from bike to bike.
Yup. The Garmin marine cradle is RAM compatible. In my opinion a better cradle than the RAM cradle. I really like RAM, except for their cradles.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:52 PM   #164
SCflyer
Beastly Adventurer
 
SCflyer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Back in NC
Oddometer: 1,571
4.30 software update out

May be old news but to those that didn't know...

Softwa
Changes made from version 4.20 to 4.30:
  • Improved GPS satellite acquisition processing
  • Updated magnetic variation table with IGRF 2010 modelre update 4.30 is out.
__________________
"Not all those who wander are lost" J.R.R. Tolkien
SCflyer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 08:33 AM   #165
spidennis OP
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,275
date and time

I'm having a problem with changing the date and time. In setup it won't allow me to change it. It has the wrong date and time, needless to say it can't find any satellites and the position marks it as in the Atlantic off Africa somewhere.

I got on an alrliner from texas to the east coast and from that point on it's had troubles.

Is this the internal memory battery problem?
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014