ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2014, 09:41 AM   #1
rossphoto OP
GDTRFB
 
rossphoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Far far away
Oddometer: 545
speedometer

My speedo is out and a local mechnic told me I was missing the dome ring??? I have searched all the microfiche and have no idea what that is.. I ordered the replacement speedometer sensor. Is there a magnet that attaches somewhere to trigger the sensor (like on by bicycle computer a magnet attaches to the spokes and swipes by the sensor). Or do I just replace the sensor cable and go? How does the sensor read???
Thanks
__________________
"if your not getting older, your dead"

rossphoto screwed with this post 07-18-2014 at 09:47 AM
rossphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:38 AM   #2
Boatman
Ride more, BS less!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 9,811
What bike????

950's - the speedo pickup senses the rotor mounting bolts.

I suspect ABS modes use the ABS ring,,,, not sure though.


Search of KTM parts didn't turn up "dome ring"
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs
Boatman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 11:08 AM   #3
Chuckracer
Jerkus Maximus
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lowville, NY
Oddometer: 7,134
Need new mechanic.
__________________
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure
2001 Scorpa SY250

Chuckracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 11:20 AM   #4
rossphoto OP
GDTRFB
 
rossphoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Far far away
Oddometer: 545
Ha yea that's why I'm basically my own mechanic . I couldn't figure this one out. I think my sensor is bad putting on a new one today... Thnx
__________________
"if your not getting older, your dead"
rossphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:06 PM   #5
Boatman
Ride more, BS less!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 9,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossphoto View Post
Ha yea that's why I'm basically my own mechanic . I couldn't figure this one out. I think my sensor is bad putting on a new one today... Thnx
Ok.... so what bike????
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs
Boatman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:18 PM   #6
rossphoto OP
GDTRFB
 
rossphoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Far far away
Oddometer: 545
950 adv. In my op I kept telling myself as I was typing name the bike and year and of course I forgot. Anyway, new sensor in working great... Thnx
__________________
"if your not getting older, your dead"
rossphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:47 PM   #7
iJabberwocky
Gnarly Adventurer
 
iJabberwocky's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Leavenworth, WA
Oddometer: 184
I was assuming a 1190....
__________________
Iakona
2011 KTM 990 ADV R
iJabberwocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:54 PM   #8
Boatman
Ride more, BS less!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 9,811
950's have a tendency for the sensor wiring to break near where it is zip tied to the right bar/front brake master.


Next time you go to that mechanic ask him what kind of lube he uses on the fabradoyne.
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs
Boatman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:59 PM   #9
rossphoto OP
GDTRFB
 
rossphoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Far far away
Oddometer: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boatman View Post
Next time you go to that mechanic ask him what kind of lube he uses on the fabradoyne.

Ha ha... Yea I zip tied it in a way that hopefully there isnt much strain or bend in the wire...
__________________
"if your not getting older, your dead"
rossphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014