ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2009, 07:53 PM   #1
9Dave OP
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,711
City Nav North America NT 2010 coming out next week

I ordered a full version of CN NT NA for my 60csx a couple weeks ago. It never showed. Called Garmin and the nice customer service rep told me that the 2010 version was coming out next week and would ship on the 27th.

She did offer to upgrade my shipping to 2nd day since they didn't tell me about the monthlong delay. I gladly accepted.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 01:21 AM   #2
wbrisett
hmmm....
 
wbrisett's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Austin
Oddometer: 317
The download version is already available. I had to ship my Zumo 450 off for repair, they shipped me a refurb unit. When I registered it via their website, it told me there was an update available. It was the 2010 mapset.

Wayne
__________________
2011 BMW R1200GS Adventure (back to one bike)
wbrisett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 03:30 AM   #3
9Dave OP
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbrisett
The download version is already available. I had to ship my Zumo 450 off for repair, they shipped me a refurb unit. When I registered it via their website, it told me there was an update available. It was the 2010 mapset.


I have a download version for my 376c. But since the 60csx has not previously been registered with CN NT, they are not presenting any options to just give me an unlock code and install.

I don't really care - I just want both my units on the same software. I almost screwed the pooch on a ride I was leading a few weeks back with version conflicts on the route. Thankfully, I had the track, also.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 05:52 PM   #4
KenR
Beastly Adventurer
 
KenR's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Park City, UT
Oddometer: 1,668
I was on the phone with Garmin Support today for 3-1/2 hours...yes, that's right, 3-1/2 hours, fixing an issue with Mapsource. Anyway, the software tech I was speaking with said that City Navigator NT 2010 is in stock; my two copies will ship tomorrow.

Sure love Garmin...when their stuff is working.
__________________

KenR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 03:14 AM   #5
9Dave OP
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenR
Anyway, the software tech I was speaking with said that City Navigator NT 2010 is in stock; my two copies will ship tomorrow.
If it's a full version, good luck. That's the same thing I was told on 5/4.

But the customer service rep could have been hedging her bet with a 5/27 date.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 02:01 PM   #6
KenR
Beastly Adventurer
 
KenR's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Park City, UT
Oddometer: 1,668
Two copies arrived today!
__________________

KenR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:28 AM   #7
9Dave OP
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,711
Yeah - I was told mine would ship on the 27th via 2nd day. UPS confirmed that. Should be on my doorstep today.

Don't anyone come by and steal it, either!
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:52 PM   #8
9Dave OP
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,711
Got it. Worst part is that it installs the new Mapsource version, and I haven't found a way to get around it - yet. Version is NT 2010.10, or something like that.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 06:52 AM   #9
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave
Got it. Worst part is that it installs the new Mapsource version, and I haven't found a way to get around it - yet. Version is NT 2010.10, or something like that.
This was the case with the 2009.10 maps. You had to upgrade to at least past the 6.13.7 version where all the major changes took place. I saw all the complaints about the 6.14 version, so I at least waited till I had the 6.15.4 version of MapSource and thats what I run now. I've gotten used to the newer look of it and it does make it easier to see smaller roads.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:51 AM   #10
PRW
living @ 11.5740741uHz
 
PRW's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Oddometer: 1,092
Make sure you have the AC Adapter before upgrading...

With the 478 and possibly with other models, make sure that, when you're updating the map from 2009 to 2010.1, you use the AC Adapter or the update will NOT work. I learned the hard way on the road this week, when I made the stupid mistake of updating from a motel room. Worst part was that the attempted update process erased my 2009 map completely before it bombed out on the installation. There was no supporting documentation instructing that the unit must be connected to external power. I typically do not carry my AC adapter, so in my case, I was left without maps from Nevada back to Chicago...
__________________
When Im riding my motorcycle, Im glad to be alive and when I stop riding my motorcycle, Im glad to be alive. -Neil Peart

2008 R1200GS (Slate Gray Metallic Matt)
2003 R1150GS (Night Black)
PRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 08:07 PM   #11
MotoJim
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MotoJim's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Searching....
Oddometer: 209
City Nav North America NT 2010 DVD Install

The new release of City Nav North America NT 2010 on DVD does not give the user the ability to specify the install location on the PC.

It apparently places the map data (over 1GB) on the C: drive. If you do not have enough space on the C: drive it will not allow the install.

What were they thinking? Geesh, even Roads and Rec allowed the user to specify the location.

I'm going to call Garmin and ask how I can install the software on my D: drive. I bet their Tier-1 support folks don't have a clue about this.

Jim
MotoJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 08:28 PM   #12
PRW
living @ 11.5740741uHz
 
PRW's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Oddometer: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoJim
The new release of City Nav North America NT 2010 on DVD does not give the user the ability to specify the install location on the PC.

It apparently places the map data (over 1GB) on the C: drive. If you do not have enough space on the C: drive it will not allow the install.

What were they thinking? Geesh, even Roads and Rec allowed the user to specify the location.

I'm going to call Garmin and ask how I can install the software on my D: drive. I bet their Tier-1 support folks don't have a clue about this.

Jim
Good luck and expect to wait at least an hour for them to answer, then at least another hour to talk to a Tier-2 support tech...

What happened to Garmin, anyway?! They used to be such an excellent company to deal with and they've really gone to shit, IMO.
__________________
When Im riding my motorcycle, Im glad to be alive and when I stop riding my motorcycle, Im glad to be alive. -Neil Peart

2008 R1200GS (Slate Gray Metallic Matt)
2003 R1150GS (Night Black)
PRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 09:28 AM   #13
MotoJim
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MotoJim's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Searching....
Oddometer: 209
You'll need big C: drives starting now!

Well it only took 1.5 hours to get to someone who could help.

It's not pretty. Beginning with version 2010 and forever into the future the mapping software will only install to the C: drive.

The software guy I spoke with said they have had many discussions internally trying to overturn this edict but that's the way it's gonna be. It has something to do with their future map updating scheme.

Garmin is a legend in their own minds. This is especially true the higher you go in the organization. Every time something like this happens I get pissed off and go buy something from Lowrance. Garmin just doesn't have enough good competition.

Oh, the other thing that was said to me was that the mapping data sizes in the future are going to go way up.

I guess I'll go buy me a 1TB hard drive to use as my C: drive.

Jim
MotoJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 01:38 PM   #14
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,813
That has got to be the crappiest setup I've ever heard from Garmin thus far. People with multiple drives are pretty much screwed if they don't want it on their C drive.

I wonder if you did enough tweaking in the registry though if you could change it? Install on C: and then copy the folder structure over to another drive and change all drive references to its new location? I know I saw somewhere on here how to run MapSource off say a thumb drive for those little SSD type laptops with limited HD space. Maybe there's hints in there that could be used to get this to work elsewhere.

Still, I'm starting to get discouraged on the types of decisions Garmin is making like this.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:03 AM   #15
XPatriot
Charges have been dropped
 
XPatriot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: West Chester, PA
Oddometer: 1,076
Back to the original topic, ordered City Nav NT this week, and the 2010 version arrived.
__________________
1995 1100GS, 128K Miles

There comes a time when the jewels cease to sparkle, the gold loses it's luster, and the throne room becomes a prison. And all that is left is a father's love for his child.
XPatriot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014