ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2008, 11:51 AM   #1
Yak_KLR 650 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Kamloops, British Columbia
Oddometer: 159
Topo maps for Canada - free!

This guy in Calgary has written a program that allows you to load the Federal 1:50,000 maps for most of Canada into Mapsource and have them display a Garmin GPS unit. I downloaded the file (1.5 Gb!) and can open it in Mapsource and transfer them to my 2610. They can't auto route like Topo Canada, but more recent map data and more detail. Also the detail is visible at higher zoom levels (5 Km). Definitely recommended. about time someone started to break Garmin's stranglehold on what maps we can use. thsi doesn't violate any copyrights, uses publicly available maps, he doesn't mess with any of Garmin's code, just writes his own to allow Mapsource to accept them.

http://www.ibycus.com/ibycustopo/
Yak_KLR 650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 02:17 PM   #2
ZZR_Ron
Underground
 
ZZR_Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 7,988
You have me quite intrigued, i'll have to try that later tonight!!!
__________________
Great minds think alike;small minds seldom differ...
ZZR_Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 02:31 PM   #3
Yak_KLR 650 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Kamloops, British Columbia
Oddometer: 159
It takes a LOOOONG time to run the file. I ran it over night. One guy reported over 3 hours to complete. Don't save the file to the computer, run the .exe file right from the website. After it is done, install it, then open Mapsource and it will show up in the drop down list of map products in the top left. You will have all of Canada, except most of Newfoundland and the Territories at 1:50,000 with great detail. After it is loaded in Mapsource, you can select individual mapsheets to load to the GPS (just like the Garmin products). These are .img files so I am hoping this guy can do the same with ortho photos!
Yak_KLR 650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 03:02 PM   #4
ZZR_Ron
Underground
 
ZZR_Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 7,988
Thanks for the info Yak! I'll give it a try!!
__________________
Great minds think alike;small minds seldom differ...
ZZR_Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 04:24 PM   #5
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yak_KLR 650
about time someone started to break Garmin's stranglehold on what maps we can use. thsi doesn't violate any copyrights, uses publicly available maps, he doesn't mess with any of Garmin's code, just writes his own to allow Mapsource to accept them.

http://www.ibycus.com/ibycustopo/
I'm not a Garmin apologist, but define "stranglehold".

There are at least a few folks out there making maps that are Garming Mapsource/GPS compatible. But it is a lot of work. Just ask Jeramey Valley, who has done maps for the State of Michigan backroads, ORV trails, etc. http://www.vvmapping.com/ He has spent a LOT of time on this project.

There are whole user groups out there for folks who like to do design maps, and some free/low cost tools to make ones that are compatible. Just takes some time, and talent to do so, and the tracks or open source data to put in the roads, et.al.

Dave
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 04:38 PM   #6
humvee
Beastly Adventurer
 
humvee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Winterpeg, MB, CANADA
Oddometer: 1,608
downloading now...only an hour on hi-speed. pretty good download speed for a poor student (him, not me...I'm just poor) Gonna be interesting to see how it compares to Garmin's Canada TOPO

EDIT: 6 hours on hi-speed
__________________
"Explore an unpaved road with a new friend" - Fortune Cookie, September 30, 2013
humvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 06:23 PM   #7
ZZR_Ron
Underground
 
ZZR_Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 7,988
I'm about halfway through the download!
__________________
Great minds think alike;small minds seldom differ...
ZZR_Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 07:37 PM   #8
Yak_KLR 650 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Kamloops, British Columbia
Oddometer: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave-950
I'm not a Garmin apologist, but define "stranglehold".


Dave
As in Garmin only accepts their software for their units - I have an HP computer, but they don't restrict what brand of software I can use on it. I am aware that there are other people doing similar work to what I posted - most for other countries so not real useful, especially for those of us that don't have the time or ability to figure it out ourselves. It's always nice to have a choice. This is the first ready to use product that will work on a Garmin that I have seen offered for Canada. I am not averse to buying Garmin software - I have purchased 4 different Garmin titles. I just think that they shouldn't restrict third party software developers. Free market.
Yak_KLR 650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 09:01 AM   #9
ZZR_Ron
Underground
 
ZZR_Ron's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 7,988
Works like a charm Yak!!

Thanks for the info.
__________________
Great minds think alike;small minds seldom differ...
ZZR_Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 09:34 AM   #10
markgsnw
WTF?
 
markgsnw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon US
Oddometer: 3,546
it's a map set and an .exe file? WTF? I've got a Mac
__________________
http://vasaphoto.wordpress.com/

2011 Moto Guzzi Norge 8V GT
markgsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 09:39 AM   #11
markgsnw
WTF?
 
markgsnw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon US
Oddometer: 3,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yak_KLR 650
As in Garmin only accepts their software for their units - I have an HP computer, but they don't restrict what brand of software I can use on it. I am aware that there are other people doing similar work to what I posted - most for other countries so not real useful, especially for those of us that don't have the time or ability to figure it out ourselves. It's always nice to have a choice. This is the first ready to use product that will work on a Garmin that I have seen offered for Canada. I am not averse to buying Garmin software - I have purchased 4 different Garmin titles. I just think that they shouldn't restrict third party software developers. Free market.

I don't think Garmin restricts or even licenses third party developers. Have a look at Route Buddy as an example.
__________________
http://vasaphoto.wordpress.com/

2011 Moto Guzzi Norge 8V GT
markgsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 01:26 PM   #12
Yak_KLR 650 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Kamloops, British Columbia
Oddometer: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by markgsnw
Have a look at Route Buddy as an example.
Lots of programs that allow you to plan a route and then transfer routes and waypoints, etc to the unit. I haven't seen any that allow you to actually put different maps into the GPS. Maybe I haven't been looking in the right place, but there was a thread on here a while ago complaining about the same thing.

Can you use one of those Windows emulators to download .exe files to your Mac?
Yak_KLR 650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 06:38 PM   #13
markgsnw
WTF?
 
markgsnw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon US
Oddometer: 3,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yak_KLR 650

Can you use one of those Windows emulators to download .exe files to your Mac?

I'm taking the long way round: download 1.5GB file to mac, transfer to ancient PC, fire up Mapsource, quit, fire up MapConverter, transfer back to Mac, open in MapManager, flow to Bobcat.


Anything to amuse myself
__________________
http://vasaphoto.wordpress.com/

2011 Moto Guzzi Norge 8V GT
markgsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 07:06 AM   #14
markgsnw
WTF?
 
markgsnw's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon US
Oddometer: 3,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by markgsnw
I'm taking the long way round: download 1.5GB file to mac, transfer to ancient PC, fire up Mapsource, quit, fire up MapConverter, transfer back to Mac, open in MapManager, flow to Bobcat.


Anything to amuse myself


which worked, I now have the mapset in Bobcat
__________________
http://vasaphoto.wordpress.com/

2011 Moto Guzzi Norge 8V GT
markgsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 09:25 AM   #15
Fin
Kahoon's my daddy!
 
Fin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Oddometer: 2,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by markgsnw
I'm taking the long way round: download 1.5GB file to mac, transfer to ancient PC, fire up Mapsource, quit, fire up MapConverter, transfer back to Mac, open in MapManager, flow to Bobcat.


Anything to amuse myself

I hear ya. I'm doing the same but my pc is on the mac in Parallels. That should save some time... I hope.

Cheers

Fin
__________________
"When in doubt, gas it." This, to be honest, doesn't always solve the problem, but at least it ends the suspense.
Mark Gardiner from "Riding Man."

IBA#12239
BMW MOA #124707
Save $5 when you open your own smugmug account. Use code: ByFAeFySLnQKM
Fin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014