User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-16-2009, 07:51 PM   #1
been saved OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 87
Why I ride ADV Riding with my family!

This ride report will, I hope, include quite a few rides and be added to by other folks we come in contact with as we ride.

I wonder sometimes if riding is really necessary, it truly can be a pain in the neck, a drain on funds and tiring so why do I feel compelled to do it?

I will start off with the past:

WEELLLL I started controlling a motorbike when I turned 6, I think

and when legs allowed I graduated to this (insert pic of CB 750) but my riding days began earlier

behind my Dad and even earlier

as just a future thought of old Grandpa, yep old WWII Harley in Jamaica. My Dad took that old Harley over from my Grandfather and of course promptly crashed. He was soon straightened out and continued to ride, I guess it goes from generation to generation. I began riding that Big ol 750 when I was 16 (yes I took the MSF) while working at the Harley shop (boy did that make me laugh) and I promptly crashed it after rerouting the throttle cable and leaning into a corner. WOT and a tight right hander do not mix (ATGATT HAHAHA nope shorts t-shirt and evil kneviel coloured open face with no padding). I tried in vain to pretend that the crash did not hurt but dear ol Dad saw through it; chuckled and not only let me keep riding but BOUGHT a bike so we could now ride together (life happened and he had not had a bike in a while). Of course teenage years can be a bit of a challenge and I did not fully appreciate the gift that my Dad had given me. I rode that bike until I was 21 replaced it with a wore out 66 mustang and bikes were secondary to say the least.

The Present: