ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2009, 08:43 AM   #1
ckgdrums OP
Adventurer
 
ckgdrums's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita, Ks.
Oddometer: 34
Custom Splash Screen GPSMap 478.

I was wondering if anyone has had any success using xImage and uploading a custom splash screen to the 478? I tried a couple of times and kept getting a compatibility error.
__________________
Ride safe,
Chuck
ckgdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 09:01 AM   #2
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckgdrums
I was wondering if anyone has had any success using xImage and uploading a custom splash screen to the 478? I tried a couple of times and kept getting a compatibility error.
It's worked fine for me, but remember , your image has to be the exact size and format or it will not work. Use xImage to download a screen shot from the unit and use that as a template for format and size. Don't forget they have to be .bmp files.
__________________
SW
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 09:06 AM   #3
ckgdrums OP
Adventurer
 
ckgdrums's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita, Ks.
Oddometer: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
It's worked fine for me, but remember , your image has to be the exact size and format or it will not work. Use xImage to download a screen shot from the unit and use that as a template for format and size. Don't forget they have to be .bmp files.
I made it a .bmp file, and resized the image to 480x320 like the other one was, but for some reason it didn't like something about the image I was using. I guess I'll have to keep trying.
__________________
Ride safe,
Chuck
ckgdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 10:27 AM   #4
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckgdrums
I made it a .bmp file, and resized the image to 480x320 like the other one was, but for some reason it didn't like something about the image I was using. I guess I'll have to keep trying.
Check the color depth and color palate of a downloaded screenshot. I bet the problem is there.
__________________
SW
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 10:30 AM   #5
ckgdrums OP
Adventurer
 
ckgdrums's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita, Ks.
Oddometer: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
Check the color depth and color palate of a downloaded screenshot. I bet the problem is there.
Okay, will do.
__________________
Ride safe,
Chuck

ckgdrums screwed with this post 07-23-2009 at 04:17 AM
ckgdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 04:17 AM   #6
ckgdrums OP
Adventurer
 
ckgdrums's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita, Ks.
Oddometer: 34
UPDATE: Okay, I have tried to edit images with MS Paint, PhotoDraw, Adobe PhotoShop (which I do NOT know how to use) and I cannot get anything to transfer to the 478, EXCEPT for a black background only, it transferred just fine....figures.

So, is there anyone that has had some success creating a Splash Screen with any of the above mentioned programs? And, if so, could you list the specific properties of that image so I could attempt to duplicate that with the image I am trying to send?

Thank you.
__________________
Ride safe,
Chuck
ckgdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 06:59 AM   #7
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckgdrums
UPDATE: Okay, I have tried to edit images with MS Paint, PhotoDraw, Adobe PhotoShop (which I do NOT know how to use) and I cannot get anything to transfer to the 478, EXCEPT for a black background only, it transferred just fine....figures.

So, is there anyone that has had some success creating a Splash Screen with any of the above mentioned programs? And, if so, could you list the specific properties of that image so I could attempt to duplicate that with the image I am trying to send?

Thank you.
I just fiddled a bit in Windows...... It's been awhile . A combination of Paint and the resizing powertoy will get the right dimensions (480x320) and color depth (256) but I can't find a way to alter the resolution with them. The resolution must also be changed to 96 dpi. There are a bunch of online image converters, maybe worth a try. I originally used a free version of ACDsee to do this but as with most of the original Windows "freeware", it isn't anymore. HTH.

Edit:

This might help.
__________________
SW

Steve W screwed with this post 07-23-2009 at 07:34 AM
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 08:32 AM   #8
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
the right dimensions (480x320) and color depth (256) but I can't find a way to alter the resolution with them. The resolution must also be changed to 96 dpi.
Irfanview will do all of that.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 01:13 PM   #9
ckgdrums OP
Adventurer
 
ckgdrums's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita, Ks.
Oddometer: 34
Thank you. I'll try that and see what I can come up with.
__________________
Ride safe,
Chuck
ckgdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 01:22 PM   #10
ckgdrums OP
Adventurer
 
ckgdrums's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Wichita, Ks.
Oddometer: 34
IRFanView did the trick. Thank you very much!
__________________
Ride safe,
Chuck
ckgdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:27 PM   #11
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckgdrums
IRFanView did the trick. Thank you very much!
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014