ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2009, 09:37 PM   #1
bull600 OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 348
Routing with Shonkymaps

First let me say that I'm a complete newbie to the world of GPS. I'm looking to get a garmin 60cx as I was able to play around with one on a recent trip to the northern Filnders Ranges and was quite impressed. This particular one was loaded with the Garmin Australian Topo and the coverage and accuracy of tracks was very good.

As I can't really justify the $200 for the Garmin Topo I've been playing around with Shonkymaps on my PC (I downloaded both it and a copy of mapsource v 6.14.1) before I take the plunge on the gps.

The Shonkymaps look ok for what I want locally but my question relates to using the routing function. After deciding on a route and marking various waypoints on the map it marks out the intended route but - in straight lines only - not following the roads or tracks. I've looked up a few mapsource tutorials and it seems that this shouldn't happen (as it is of limited use). Is it a shonkymaps issue or a setting somewhere I can't find?

Cheers

Greg
bull600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 07:56 AM   #2
GodSilla
I did that.

Oddometer: 7,589
Welcome to the Garmin House of Pain.

Just kidding really, it's the learning curve that hurts at first.

My understanding is that Garmin Topo is routable, whereas shonkymaps is not, so doing a route in shonkymaps won't give much of a result.
BUT! Tracks are good in shonkymaps, they work very well. I strongly suggest that you take a bit of time and browse the rather good stickies on the subjects of routing and tracks in the main gps forum, not only are they specifically helpful but they contain a wealth of background info and terminology. Cheers.