ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2009, 05:34 PM   #16
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp
There's got to be some reason Garmin did this, not sure what though
Why do you say this? I can't tell you how many suprises I have found when checking new firmware. It almost allways does what the spec says (the writer checked that) but then you find the suprises that it does that wern't in the spec and you don't want it to do.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 06:49 PM   #17
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown
Why do you say this? I can't tell you how many suprises I have found when checking new firmware. It almost allways does what the spec says (the writer checked that) but then you find the suprises that it does that wern't in the spec and you don't want it to do.
It's not really a firmware change, that setting has been there the same for years. All I mean is that there may be some useful reason that other GPS users (boaters, hikers, whatever) might not want all of their current active tracklog to display, only the fairly recent.

I'm with you on the surpises though, like the 3.90 locking up while calculating a route
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 11:24 PM   #18
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,337
Must be Garmins idea as a way of reducing screen clutter or for a faster redraw.

For others who read this thread.....the "Track Points" value only affects how much of the track is displayed on the Map Page and has no effect on how or how many points are recorded in the Active Track.

This info also applies to the 76cx models.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014