ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2015, 09:46 AM   #1
PJveetwin OP
LD-Ordie
 
PJveetwin's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Ridgecrest CA
Oddometer: 373
376C XM problem

Having a problem with the XM radio portion of my 376C. It appears to be having an audio problem as in the sound is garbled and almost impossible to interpret. I also have Skywatch which is working fine. I can't tell if it's the antenna or receiver that is giving me the problem. I wish I knew of some one local that I could swap parts around in order to isolate the issue. Can anyone shed any light on a possible solution or other means of isolating the problem? I believe a new antenna can be bought, but Garmin is no longer supporting repairs on the 376 I realize it's part of the conspiracy of getting me to upgrade to a new unit.......... Any help is greatly appreciated!
__________________
There are no problems that cannot be resolved with the proper application of explosives !

Jim

Member of "Team Pterodactyl"
Combat Touring!!


05-FJR 1300
05-650 Dakar
03-1150 GS Sport
70-FLH Shovelhead
50-FL Panhead
76- Bultaco 370 Pursang
98-Yamaha TW200
84-Yamaha TT-600
56-650 Triumph T-120, needs work......
1964 Land Rover Series IIA Gotta have at least one car
PJveetwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 05:13 PM   #2
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 662
IIRC, there's an option to set the audio output to "line out" or "headphone". Mis-setting this can cause some audio problems.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 06:33 PM   #3
PJveetwin OP
LD-Ordie
 
PJveetwin's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Ridgecrest CA
Oddometer: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
IIRC, there's an option to set the audio output to "line out" or "headphone". Mis-setting this can cause some audio problems.
Hey old Grouch

I appreciate the assist, but I've had this thing for some ten years and I have never seen that option. Looked again with no luck, can you point me a direction?
Thanks,
Jim
__________________
There are no problems that cannot be resolved with the proper application of explosives !

Jim

Member of "Team Pterodactyl"
Combat Touring!!


05-FJR 1300
05-650 Dakar
03-1150 GS Sport
70-FLH Shovelhead
50-FL Panhead
76- Bultaco 370 Pursang
98-Yamaha TW200
84-Yamaha TT-600
56-650 Triumph T-120, needs work......
1964 Land Rover Series IIA Gotta have at least one car
PJveetwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 06:58 PM   #4
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 662
I'm confused, I had a 376C and a 478. I know the 478 had the option and I was pretty sure the 376 did too, but I just checked the manual and the options are different. Sorry about that.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:17 AM   #5
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 13,205
The "puck" is a complete radio receive, not just an antenna.

As you said, your best bet to troubleshoot is to find someone with another compatible puck, plug it in, and see what happens.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 06:47 PM   #6
DonM
Do-dah Do-dah
 
DonM's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Oddometer: 300
Or a 376 if the test puck is not subscribed.
__________________
Best regards,
Don M
DonM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 08:25 PM   #7
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,896
Even if not subscribed,you still get a channel with constant "Buy Sirus/XM" ads and the sound should be clear,if reception is good.

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 12:42 PM   #8
PJveetwin OP
LD-Ordie
 
PJveetwin's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Ridgecrest CA
Oddometer: 373
Thanks to all that commented, it appears the logical problem is probably the output jack, I plan on attending this years BMW MOA rally in Billings Montana, I'll be on the lookout for someone running a 376 to swap out the puck. Thanks again.
__________________
There are no problems that cannot be resolved with the proper application of explosives !

Jim

Member of "Team Pterodactyl"
Combat Touring!!


05-FJR 1300
05-650 Dakar
03-1150 GS Sport
70-FLH Shovelhead
50-FL Panhead
76- Bultaco 370 Pursang
98-Yamaha TW200
84-Yamaha TT-600
56-650 Triumph T-120, needs work......
1964 Land Rover Series IIA Gotta have at least one car
PJveetwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015