ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2015, 05:08 AM   #1
Emmbeedee OP
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,666
Garmin Basecamp Now Supports Multiple Separate Databases!

Thank Bengt Phorks for this discovery:(but let's discuss it here)

'Multiple databases in latest Basecamp
I was looking for an easier way than using Symbolic links to move the Basecamp database to a different drive and found that in the latest version of Basecamp there is the option to have mutiple databases. Go to Edit > Options > General > Database Options. You can Make a new Database, give it a new name and specify a location to store the database.
I was filling up the default drive with Birdseye jnx images from my Montana and needed to move them to a different drive. I am going to test this out and see if new jnx files are included in the new database or stay in the default location.'

Later: Success! The jnx file I just downloaded appeared in the new location on a different drive.
This gives me many options for storing and transferring GPS data. I can have a separate database for each area or city/country instead of one huge database that I have to search through. I can have a database of one area plus the jnx files on a flash drive and move it between computers. I can have a database set up just for planning trips and not clutter up my main database.
More testing to follow.

Even later: Add Mobile Basecamp.exe to the flash drive and you will have completely portable program including data
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 01-27-2015 at 05:13 AM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:52 AM   #2
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 659
This has been around for quite awhile on the Mac side. I have multiple databases, "Libraries" in Garminspeak,15 or so, in my Dropbox. Always available to any of my computers and always synced. Any online storage will work.

Mac tip:

Move a link to the directory in your storage medium containing all of the databases you want to have handy, to the dock. Then a mouse over/right click gives you a selection, click to open Basecamp with the selected database loaded.

__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:09 AM   #3
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 2,178
Sounds like they are improving it to the point where it looks like Mapsource.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 09:45 AM   #4
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 6,462
__________________
2004 DR650: 62,605 miles
2013 WR250R

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:25 PM   #5
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,763
This is a rather odd thread Emm, this feature has been available in Win-BC for quite a few releases now. The problem of course is the whacky Windows UI that is anything but obvious re: using multiple DB's.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:31 PM   #6
Emmbeedee OP
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
This is a rather odd thread Emm, this feature has been available in Win-BC for quite a few releases now. The problem of course is the whacky Windows UI that is anything but obvious re: using multiple DB's.
Well I don't use BC much myself so I wasn't aware of that. Bengt brought it up in the Montana thread and after doing a search, I didn't see any obvious threads where he could discuss it, so I created one.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:34 PM   #7
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,763
No worries. It really didn't get discussed much in Advrider - lot's in the Garmin Forums.

There were/are plenty of other issues with both BC's to keep the focus.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 08:25 PM   #8
pwlindo
I can do this!
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Beautiful Easton Connecticut
Oddometer: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Well I don't use BC much myself so I wasn't aware of that. Bengt brought it up in the Montana thread and after doing a search, I didn't see any obvious threads where he could discuss it, so I created one.
As a new Basecamp user I wasn't aware of multiple databases so I appreciate you posting this info.
__________________
'95 R1100GS
pwlindo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 02:33 AM   #9
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 13,116
Thanks for sharing. I wasn't aware. For those of us who have avoided BC at all costs, maybe it's time to take another look.

As BS is database driven, my best analogy is MS Access. While I could, I don't put all my tables, queries, reports, etc. in one db. Way too confusing trying to find things. I have a separate db for each major task and keep everything organized logically. Doing so with BC would make it a lot more logical for me.

But then again, I hate the interface, so I'm sticking with Mapsource for a while longer.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 07:19 AM   #10
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 2,178
I too am glad the OP posted this. I was not aware of it. And it never crossed my mind that the feature might be there.

I will probably start to try to use it since I do use BC for things I can't do in Mapsource.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 07:44 AM   #11
BKMLWR
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,627
Good to have the multiple databases pointed out...
I had a workaround by setting up another user in windows and doing special projects which creates another db in the other "user" section...
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 01:48 PM   #12
USAIR
picking and riding
 
USAIR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Kentucky
Oddometer: 1,601
I am having the same problem my main drive is filling up.
It's a Windows 7 PC SSD and it's is filling up quick.

So in order to move my database I should copy all folders and files to my new drive then point BC to the new folder?

Here's is how my drive looks.
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Garmin

Then the folders
Database
GeotaggedPhotos
JnxFiles
SavedSearches

I already pointed BC to the new location it restarted but I had none of my data was there.
So I pointed it back to default location and it was back up.

Just trying to figure it out before I do something I'll regret.

Thanks
Fred
__________________
2013 WR250R 2007 Wee
www.riverbendphotos.com
YouTube feed
Wallpaper for Montana GPSr
Beware of the Wallnut
USAIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 09:55 AM   #13
marco polo
Studly Adventurer
 
marco polo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria VA and Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 635
While we're talking about Basecamp, I'm running BC (for Mac) 4.2.4. I don't see any option for multiple databases. Is this only in the PC version?
marco polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 10:02 AM   #14
Emmbeedee OP
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco polo View Post
While we're talking about Basecamp, I'm running BC (for Mac) 4.2.4. I don't see any option for multiple databases. Is this only in the PC version?
I'm also on 4.2.4 for Mac and the databases are called "Libraries" in there.



I haven't done it yet but I assume you just create a new library.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 12:15 PM   #15
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 659
That's exactly what you do. At the time of creation you will be asked if you want to create an empty one or one that contains a duplicate data set of the one you currently have open.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015