ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2009, 07:26 AM   #1
drecian OP
token asian guy
 
drecian's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Oz
Oddometer: 101
Garmin 2820 power draw.

I've recently picked up a used Garmin 2820 for use on the K75. Since it was not released here, the previous owner farkled up his own version of the motorcycle lead by taking the car 12v plug with the speaker on it and re(un)wired it to be just a +ve and -ve wire which he said he had hardwired.

My question is would this draw any power if the unit itself was unplugged; as in permantly hot to the battery, but GPS unit taken off the bike. I'm just unsure since the stock cable has the little speaker in it.]

Cheers
Jeff

__________________
A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single kick.

Jeff - K75S
drecian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 02:37 AM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by drecian
My question is would this draw any power if the unit itself was unplugged; as in permantly hot to the battery, but GPS unit taken off the bike. I'm just unsure since the stock cable has the little speaker in it.]
If there is no GPS attached, it shouldn't draw any power.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:57 AM   #3
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,728
^ as 9Dave said. It shouldn't draw anything.

I prefer to keep all my GPS's on hot connections as that way they aren't turning off when you turn off the bike, and the 2820 especially since it doesn't have a battery backup. Even the 2820 left on the bike plugged in should be minimal if anything since it doesn't really charge.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R, 01 FZ1,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 07:48 AM   #4
craig196
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Oddometer: 77
Garmin 2820

I have my 2820 wired to a Eastern Beaver fuse box. http://easternbeaver.com/Main/Products/Fuseboxes/PC-8/pc-8.html Always hot so you can check map when bike is off.
Bought a new wire that does not have a audio wire.
http://www.touratech-usa.com/shop/sh...so?sku=GC12V26
I just used the wire not the fuse. If I want audio I just plug into the audio jack on the 2820 for XM radio and directions. No problems. Craig
craig196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014