ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Pacific Northwet - Where it's green. And wet.
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2015, 01:16 PM   #1
tod701 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
tod701's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Stanwood
Oddometer: 993
HB1515 Lane Splitting in WA

House Bill HB1515 was introduced today.

It would allow motorcycles to lane split and long as traffic is going no more than 35mph and the motorcycle does not go more than 10mph faster than the traffic.

http://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summa...1515&year=2015
__________________
Tod
NMA, WOHVA, BRC, AMA, NRA

tod701 screwed with this post 01-21-2015 at 01:21 PM
tod701 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 01:50 PM   #2
81forest
ADDRider
 
81forest's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 1,181
Way to go Tod! I will be following this with interest. Thank you!

Do you have a sense of it getting any support from WSP?
81forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 02:21 PM   #3
BlueSmokeWrench
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BlueSmokeWrench's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Oddometer: 136
When this popped up a couple of years ago, didn't it die before it got a hearing? I seem to remember sending a letter about this and getting a response from one of Pam Roach's folks asking if I would come say my piece but it never made it to the floor.

This would have an immediate positive impact on my work - life balance.

Time to dig up the previous letter from my sent items and polish it up. Thanks for the heads-up Tod.
__________________
2012 R1200GS
2014 CRF250L
BlueSmokeWrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 05:33 PM   #4
brianjonesphoto
Single Track Noob
 
brianjonesphoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: The Brier Patch, WA
Oddometer: 1,559
Thanks for your work on this Tod. Let us know how and when we can help.
__________________
Brian
Mine: 07 DL650 ABS, 99 DR350SEx, 05 Montesa 4RT Her's: 02 KL250 Super Sherpa

www.PhotoSupportNW.com

brianjonesphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 06:07 PM   #5
vinnard
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Central Cascades, WA
Oddometer: 41
Email your representatives! http://leg.wa.gov/house/representati...s/default.aspx

find the one in your district, click email, and it will give you the option to email all representatives in your district.

Here's a California study that shows lane splitting is no more dangerous than riding in general.

http://www.ots.ca.gov/pdf/Publicatio...tingReport.pdf
vinnard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 07:03 PM   #6
tod701 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
tod701's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Stanwood
Oddometer: 993
This bill will likely be assigned to the House Transportation Committee.

When that happens or if it is assigned to another committee I will post the names and email addresses of the applicable committee members.

Hopefully that will happen tomorrow.

Getting voted out of the committee of origin is the first mandatory step for a bill to move forward and should be where you should focus your efforts until that hurdle is cleared.
__________________
Tod
NMA, WOHVA, BRC, AMA, NRA
tod701 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 09:03 AM   #7
tod701 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
tod701's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Stanwood
Oddometer: 993
HB1515 should get assigned to the House Transportation Committee later today.


Judy Clibborn is the committee chairman.

It will be up to her to determine if/when the bill will get a hearing.


Her email address is:


Judy.Clibborn@leg.wa.gov


The rest of the committee:


Jake.Fey@leg.wa.gov

Luis.Moscoso@leg.wa.gov

Ed.Orcutt@leg.wa.gov

Mark.Hargrove@leg.wa.gov

Steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov

Dave.Hayes@leg.wa.gov

Linda.Kochmar@leg.wa.gov

Jim.Moeller@leg.wa.gov

Jeff.Morris@leg.wa.gov

Liz.Pike@leg.wa.gov

Marcus.Riccelli@leg.wa.gov

Jay.Rodne@leg.wa.gov

Mike.Sells@leg.wa.gov

Matt.Shea@leg.wa.gov

Dean.Takko@leg.wa.gov

Gael.Tarleton@leg.wa.gov

Hans.Zeiger@leg.wa.gov

Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov

Mark.Harmsworth@leg.wa.gov

Joan.McBride@leg.wa.gov

Lillian.Ortiz-Self@leg.wa.gov

Lynda.Wilson@leg.wa.gov

Jesse.Young@leg.wa.gov
__________________
Tod
NMA, WOHVA, BRC, AMA, NRA
tod701 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 11:52 AM   #8
Lawnchair
Adventurer
 
Lawnchair's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Pleasure Point Baby Yeah!
Oddometer: 26
Filter For Safety!

Thank you for the update. As a Commuter into Seattle this is super important to me. I have written to Judy Clibborn and sent it off to encourage its passage. I've included all the types of distracted driver qualities that I've seen thru the years and how filtering forward allows us to keep a forward focus instead of a rearward distraction.
Lawnchair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 12:04 PM   #9
shadhardman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Location: Pacific NW, W-WA
Oddometer: 251
Nice, I'd take my panniers of for this....
__________________
~Shad
2012 12GS Rallye
shadhardman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 06:29 PM   #10
tony the tiger
yeah - what he said...
 
tony the tiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: secret owner of a Parmesan cheese factory
Oddometer: 10,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueSmokeWrench View Post
When this popped up a couple of years ago, didn't it die before it got a hearing? I seem to remember sending a letter about this and getting a response from one of Pam Roach's folks asking if I would come say my piece but it never made it to the floor.

This would have an immediate positive impact on my work - life balance.

Time to dig up the previous letter from my sent items and polish it up. Thanks for the heads-up Tod.
Nope, it got a hearing but never made it out of committee because of a few reasons:
1) not supported by WSP
2) poorly represented by supporters, using outdated or otherwise inapplicable data.
3) "anti-lane splitting" motorcycle groups contradict the arguments given by supporters.
4) committee members voiced concerns that motorists would 'lash out' at lane splitters.
That's the way I saw it - I went to the committee hearing but did not speak.
__________________
Tony
Quote:
Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened. You may only have up to 5 line(s). Long text may have been implicitly wrapped, causing it to be counted as multiple lines.

tony the tiger screwed with this post 01-22-2015 at 08:40 PM Reason: clarification of "anti" - they were riders that did not support the bill
tony the tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 06:31 PM   #11
tony the tiger
yeah - what he said...
 
tony the tiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: secret owner of a Parmesan cheese factory
Oddometer: 10,293
Oh yeah - and thanks, Tod for the heads-up. I'll definitely tell folks...
__________________
Tony
Quote:
Your signature contains too many lines and must be shortened. You may only have up to 5 line(s). Long text may have been implicitly wrapped, causing it to be counted as multiple lines.
tony the tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 07:04 PM   #12
guns_equal_freedom
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 5,534
Use current stats.

http://www.gizmag.com/motorcycle-lan...esearch/34425/

In a recent Berkeley study undertaken with the California Highway Patrol’s assistance, 7,836 motorcycle crashes were examined closely, with some 1,163 of these crashes having occurred while the rider was lane splitting.

Riders who were splitting at the time of their accident were significantly less likely to be injured in every category than those who weren’t: 45 percent fewer head injuries, 21 percent fewer neck injuries, 32 percent fewer torso injuries, 12 percent fewer arm/leg injuries, and 55 percent fewer fatalities.


http://www.ots.ca.gov/pdf/Publicatio...tingReport.pdf


Fuck Harborview and their study.
guns_equal_freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 12:02 PM   #13
Dawg_enD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Dawg_enD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Olympia, WA
Oddometer: 307
Thanks, Tod, for this and everything you do.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DolphinJohn View Post
By the way, it is f*cking 3:40 something and I'm hammered and I didn't get laid so f*ck off I'm eating cheetos and posting on f*cking ADV like a f*cking a$$hole.
Dawg_enD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 05:28 PM   #14
tod701 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
tod701's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Stanwood
Oddometer: 993
Senate Bill SB5623 was introduced today and is the companion bill to HB1515.

http://app.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summa...5623&year=2015

Sponsored by Senators Sheldon, Angel, Miloscia, Becker, Warnick, Conway.

It has been assigned to the Senate Transportation Committee.

Senate Transportation Committee member email addys:

Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov
Don.Benton@leg.wa.gov
Joe.Fain@leg.wa.gov
Steve.Hobbs@leg.wa.gov
Marco.Liias@leg.wa.gov
Michael.Baumgartner@leg.wa.gov
Annette.Cleveland@leg.wa.gov
Doug.Ericksen@leg.wa.gov
Cyrus.Habib@leg.wa.gov
Pramila.Jayapal@leg.wa.gov
Steve.Litzow@leg.wa.gov
Mark.Miloscia@leg.wa.gov
Jamie.Pedersen@leg.wa.gov
Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov
Timothy.Sheldon@leg.wa.gov
__________________
Tod
NMA, WOHVA, BRC, AMA, NRA
tod701 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 08:15 PM   #15
trippda
Adventurer
 
trippda's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Stillaguamish Convergence, WA
Oddometer: 55
Can I get a clarification please?

Would these bills if passed, allow one to pass vehicles standing at a red light and move to the front of the line? Assuming they are stopped and you are traveling at 10mph (no greater than 10 over stopped) and would be able to pass in the same lane .

thanks for posting this info, making the email rounds and sharing on social media currently.
__________________
Get busy living, or get busy dying
'96 - DR350 -'04 Sherpa
trippda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015