ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-28-2009, 10:08 AM   #1
FrankS OP
...please wait...
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 415
Zumo touch screen and digitizer replacement

After my last ride (in the rain), the screen of my zumo550 developed some flaking, it seems the outer protective film came loose.
While this would have been a perfect excuse to upgrade to the 660, I wanted to see if this is something I can repair. Turns out I can…

I bought a new touch screen on ebay for $18, shipped from China. This is not the LCD screen itself but just the touch sensitive layer that goes on top of it. It can be replaced in about 10 minutes.

Screen problems


New touch screen


Using a TORX 7, remove the 8 screws at the back


Unsnap the top cover, no clips holding the shell together, once the screws are loose, the bottom flap is open and the top cover removed, they come apart


Open the latch for the LCD screen (left) and the touch screen (right), slide out the ribbon cables


Unscrew the screen assembly from the front cover, take it out


Remove the silver mounting frame


Now this is the most tricky part. The touch screen is glued to another frame which sits on top the LCD. Carefully pry it off the LCD screen. I used a cutter to bend the black frame a tiny bit outwards so it will unclick from the LCD screen. Be careful, you don’t want to cut into the LCD screen


Once separated, cut the old touch screen off the frame. It will most likely break but it’s the part we want to replace so who cares


Remove the protective film from the back of the new touch screen


Align it with the frame and stick it on, make sure the alignment is okay, you only get once chance.


My new screen is a bit smaller than the old one so I added some sealant to the right side



Put it all back together

Test it, then calibrate the screen (switch zumo on and hold power button until the calibration menu appears (about 60 seconds).


Enjoy


Looks like I pinched the gasket on the right side a little bit, I guess I take it apart one more time and make sure it seals tightly

Regards

Frank
FrankS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 05:07 AM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,375
Thanks for this! Great tutorial. Indexed.

The screens were easy to find with an eBay search. Same guys are selling both the LCD screen and the touch screen, as well as some other screens.

Dave
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 12:32 PM   #3
pretbek
Studly Adventurer
 
pretbek's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: West Chester, PA
Oddometer: 660
Zumo 550 crazy screen problems: $25 repair (w/ photos)

The Zumo 550 GPS seems to have a tendency to have their digitizer go haywire, crazy and bonkers after a few years.
Signs of this are that there seem to be all kinds of phantom screen presses when you don't touch the screen, or it does not react when you do touch the screen (probably because there is a constant phantom screen press occupying the digitizer).

Solution 1: Give Garmin $150 to send you a refurbished Zumo.
Solution 2: Spend $25 on a digitizer from eBay and do it yourself. How-to is shown below.


I bought a Zumo 550 digitizer on eBay for $17 plus shipping. They also sell screens for about $50, you do NOT need that.
I also had to buy a Torx allen wrench ($5 for a pack of four different sizes, including the one I needed) that would be long enough to reach the recessed screws on the back of the Zumo. The Torx inserts that you snap into a screwdriver-style handle are not long enough.
In total I spent about $25.



For safety you could remove the battery, which I did.
Then undo all the torx screws in the back of the Zumo and pop the plastic cap off the top.
After that open it carefully, because the front and back half remain joined by the plastic connection leads of the digitizer and the screen to the PC board.

There is a rubber gasket clamped between the front bezel and the digitizer, It is probably a bit stuck to the digitizer by now, but it is not glued. Carefully take it off and clean it, it is probably dirty.

Undo the 4 phillips head screws that hold the metal screen casing to the front bezel.
Pop the screen/digitizer combo out of its metal casing.
Carefully pull the narrow (1/8" wide) brown plastic contact lead out of its "socket". The wide lead (1" wide) is of the screen, leave that in.







The digitizer is glued to the screen along the perimeter. Cut it loose with a slim, sharp knife like a razor blade. Or a kitchen knife.







After cleaning the glue residue off of the screen with something like Goo Gone, you can put the new digitizer on the screen.

The digitizer comes with a glue line along the perimeter and a protective backer on it.
Center the digitizer on the screen, make sure the contact lead is in the bottom right corner, then have the glue make contact.
Press along the perimeter to firmly adhere the digitizer to the screen.







To put the contact lead back in its socket, flip the brown tab up, then slide the lead in the slot and lock the brown tab down again.







Turn the Zumo on and try it out, it should work fine and dandy now.

Now turn it off again, reassemble and go ride!
pretbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 04:37 AM   #4
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,375
Merged into prior replacement thread


Dave
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 06:29 PM   #5
Squelch
Everyday People
 
Squelch's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Daegu, Korea
Oddometer: 1,101
This is awesome. My Zumo just started going wonky, and I was about to pull the trigger on a 660. Now there's no need for that - why spend $600 when I can spend $30. Thanks for both the tutorials!
Squelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 02:58 AM   #6
davenoseyparker
Knees in The Breeze
 
davenoseyparker's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Tonbridge Kent England
Oddometer: 20
Zumo Digitizer replaced with your help

Guys, Without the thread I am sure I would have had a chisel and mallet to hand but follow the thread enabled me to replace the Digitizer screen.
Note, To be honest you need not take the Black frame off the LCD, using a craft Kife carefully around the edges of the screen is enough to release the digitizer from the LCD.
Also my 8 screws were of Alan type not Torx but at that size little matters.
All the same thanks for having a go in the first place.

Knees in the breeze
davenoseyparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 04:29 PM   #7
Squelch
Everyday People
 
Squelch's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Daegu, Korea
Oddometer: 1,101
It worked for me - and my screws were a number 6 Torx, not 7. Thanks for the walkthroughs!
Squelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 06:52 AM   #8
tok-tokkie
Studly Adventurer
 
tok-tokkie's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Cape Town
Oddometer: 590
Mine has packed up so I Google it & come right here. Was also thinking I would have to buy a 660. Much appreciated.
tok-tokkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 08:08 AM   #9
BikePilot
Beastly Adventurer
 
BikePilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Tampa
Oddometer: 11,099
Nice work!
__________________
'09 Buell XB12XT, TL1000S, H1F, M620, CR250R, KX100, XR650R, Cota 315R

Summer 2009 Ride Report http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...1509c&t=507038
Summer 2008 RR. http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=367703
BikePilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 08:10 PM   #10
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,042
Just did my 550, all works well again!

Too bad the screen is slightly smaller, but the price was right!.
My screen did not come with adhesive on the back, I had to add my own.
I have ordered a spare from another supplier - we'll see if the same size & if adhesive is supplied.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again

GS Addict screwed with this post 07-26-2010 at 08:17 PM
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 08:16 PM   #11
Waco
Renegade Sickle Hound
 
Waco's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 14,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by tok-tokkie
Mine has packed up so I Google it & come right here. Was also thinking I would have to buy a 660. Much appreciated.
From what I've read, the 660 sounds like a downgrade.
__________________
Support the AMA.
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:21 AM   #12
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,466
Do they have this for the 2610?
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:58 AM   #13
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 3,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Z
Do they have this for the 2610?
Search thru Ebay for 'Garmin Digitizer'
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:08 AM   #14
Waco
Renegade Sickle Hound
 
Waco's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Waco, Texas
Oddometer: 14,967
Is this a small percentage problem or a they-all-do-that problem?
__________________
Support the AMA.
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:24 AM   #15
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waco Kid
Is this a small percentage problem or a they-all-do-that problem?
Have no idea on the %. However mine finally crapped out after 3.5 years. Being doing a lot of dirty/desert stuff of late and have been scrolling the screen to find the end of the road etc. I will use the hard buttons more in the future as it eliminates touches and saves screen wear. Most likely I will use a screen protector film too.

A good cleaning helps. Make sure to get in the edges with a Q-tip or soft toothbrush. I carry a Q as an emergency cleaning device.
Twohondas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014