ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 03:37 PM   #1546
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoriley View Post
The remote will be awesome. We have 6 GoPros in our group and I would love to be able to trigger all of them at once.
Now that would be cool.
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:13 PM   #1547
Ron from BC
Beastly Adventurer
 
Ron from BC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Oddometer: 1,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoriley View Post
I'm also thinking of doing more 720 footage. The 1080 stuff is hard to tell apart from the 720 except for the field of view. You get more run time and smaller file size and for the web it more than suffices.
I had earlier put a question on this thread regarding FOV options for the GoPro Hero 960 camera. While I like the camera model I have the 170 degree FOV takes away from the end result.

I put this question to GoPro asking if a replacement lens for the 960p was available. A lens replacement is not available however this response is encouraging:

"At this time I have not heard any plans from our engineering team to add additional FOV options to the 960p resolution. However in a future firmware update we will be adding 127 and 90 degree FOV options to 720p which may help your situation."

This is a solution to my issue as those FOV's are great and I have no problem in my application for 720p.
__________________
'02 BMW R1150 GSA
'06 Kawasaki KL250H Super Sherpa
Ron from BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:37 PM   #1548
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,650
Fov

That would be great. I believe the 170 degree view uses the whole sensor and other fields of view are just using a smaller crop of the sensor. Since it is well beyond the 2 megapixels needed for 1080 HD or the roughly 1 megapixel needed for 720P they have a lot of options.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron from BC View Post
I had earlier put a question on this thread regarding FOV options for the GoPro Hero 960 camera. While I like the camera model I have the 170 degree FOV takes away from the end result.

I put this question to GoPro asking if a replacement lens for the 960p was available. A lens replacement is not available however this response is encouraging:

"At this time I have not heard any plans from our engineering team to add additional FOV options to the 960p resolution. However in a future firmware update we will be adding 127 and 90 degree FOV options to 720p which may help your situation."

This is a solution to my issue as those FOV's are great and I have no problem in my application for 720p.
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 07:44 AM   #1549
Elefant
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Elefant's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Philly
Oddometer: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin III View Post
.... Isn't there an affordable movie making software that lets you speed up the editing process so you can more easily and more quickly delete the junk?

....What if as you were randomly recording and an interesting event happened. I....
....It would have been really neat to have gotten that on video....
That's precisely my point. Best pics and movies are always randomly shot IMHO.
So unlimited data storage and a source of unlimited juice, would make it that much more appealing..... at least for me....
__________________
ROCK ON!
Elefant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 06:25 PM   #1550
knobbyjoe
knobbyjoe
 
knobbyjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N by NW of The Biggest Little City
Oddometer: 443
GoPro Masters,
I bought a GoPro 3 years ago and lost it during a desert race, first time using it. I never got to down load anything.

Now going over this thread I see a new generation GoPro and accessories is out. I want to try again to created good videos of my motopsycho adventures.

Will you help me get the right stuff?

My question: If you had all the money what would you buy in the way of GOPro camera and equipment for 50/50 road/dirt adventures?

Thanks in advance. I appreciate your advice and experience.
KJ
__________________
KTM 400 XCRW with Thumper Racing 450 kit and 450 cam 2007
KTM 450 XCRW with Christini AWD and Plated 2008
KTM 990 Adventure 2008
knobbyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 04:59 AM   #1551
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,098
KJ,

I would start out with the following...

- HD Hero-2 Motorsports kit.
- The LCD screen.
- Maybe a spare battery
- A couple good memory cards.

Regarding memory cards, I use 16gb cards since they seem to fill up about the time the battery need changing. I think other folks may use the 32gb cards. Just get good fast name brand cards and you will be happy.

That should get you going and from there you can look into different mounts if what comes in the kit does not work for you.

Hope that helps,

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:10 AM   #1552
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,650
GoPro kit

I would get the battery backpac since you get a second battery and the backpac allows you to charge two batteries at once. If you use the two battery setup you can fill a 32 gig card as well. As far as cards go there is no point in going above Class 4 since the card is either fast enough or it isn't.


Quote:
Originally Posted by knobbyjoe View Post
GoPro Masters,
I bought a GoPro 3 years ago and lost it during a desert race, first time using it. I never got to down load anything.

Now going over this thread I see a new generation GoPro and accessories is out. I want to try again to created good videos of my motopsycho adventures.

Will you help me get the right stuff?

My question: If you had all the money what would you buy in the way of GOPro camera and equipment for 50/50 road/dirt adventures?

Thanks in advance. I appreciate your advice and experience.
KJ
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:14 PM   #1553
knobbyjoe
knobbyjoe
 
knobbyjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N by NW of The Biggest Little City
Oddometer: 443
Thanks gentlemen, To the store I go.
__________________
KTM 400 XCRW with Thumper Racing 450 kit and 450 cam 2007
KTM 450 XCRW with Christini AWD and Plated 2008
KTM 990 Adventure 2008
knobbyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 08:58 PM   #1554
Jick Magger
Exile on Main Street
 
Jick Magger's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Okanagan Valley BC, Canada/Scottsdale, Arizona
Oddometer: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoriley View Post
I use the adhesive mounts on my helmet and they stick amazing. For the bike nothing beats a RAM mount and a Manfrotto Nano clamp. You can clamp the camera to a crash bar, a handlebar or pretty much anywhere. You move the camera in seconds and it does not fall off. I've had mine on multiple bikes in many crashes and it is fine. It will give in an impact which is also nice. Some RAM u-bolt mounts are nice if you have a few spots you use regularly. I think I posted some pics way back in this thread somewhere. Post #7. You can use a shorter arm as well.

Just bought a Go Pro Hero 2 Motorsports edition today. To say I"m technologically challenged is an understatement but I love buying the technology. I appreciate those who know of what they speak posting her for all to learn. I take it from the statement from Motoriley that i should buy the Ram mount and the Manfrotto Nano Clamp. I will be using primarily on my Gs. Is this set up as good as it gets? I would hate to order these items only to find out there is a better solution. Thanks for any input offered.
__________________
"Blessed are the Cheesemakers"


RIde Report http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...t=Rolling+jick
Jick Magger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 01:25 AM   #1555
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoriley View Post
..........For the bike nothing beats a RAM mount and a Manfrotto Nano clamp............

Riley,

I've finally decided to get the nano clamp and I can't remember what size ram ball are you using in your setup. I'm guessing 1" but I noticed they come in a few different sizes.

What size are you using?

Thanks,

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:36 AM   #1556
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,650
RAM ball

1". It is pretty much the standard size. I've tried lots of mounts and I'm still totally sold on the RAM setup. Order a couple of the u-bolt mounts and mount them in places as permanent positions as well. Also if you were rhinking of getting a GPS mount RAM is the way to go.
Just don't buy the RAM coffee cup holder....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Riley,

I've finally decided to get the nano clamp and I can't remember what size ram ball are you using in your setup. I'm guessing 1" but I noticed they come in a few different sizes.

What size are you using?

Thanks,

Jon...
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:37 AM   #1557
GoFasterPB
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 41
Yup, 1" ball.

Testing this mount today for the first time after copying Motoriley's setup myself.
GoFasterPB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:45 AM   #1558
Motoriley
Even my posing is virtual
 
Motoriley's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Deepest darkest burbs of Montreal
Oddometer: 2,650
Balls

Don't forget the locktite on the Nano end.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoFasterPB View Post
Yup, 1" ball.

Testing this mount today for the first time after copying Motoriley's setup myself.
__________________
04 Toyota Sienna, new wipers for 2011!!
Electricity (120 AC), Indoor Plumbing, new kitchen tap for 2010!!!
Color tube TV, Microwave Oven (yes she rotates!),Washer & Dryer,Paved Driveway,
Website - http://www.apormc.com/
Vids - http://www.youtube.com/user/Motoriley?feature=mhum
Motoriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 03:33 PM   #1559
Rashnak
Lorem Ipsum
 
Rashnak's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoriley View Post
1". It is pretty much the standard size. I've tried lots of mounts and I'm still totally sold on the RAM setup. Order a couple of the u-bolt mounts and mount them in places as permanent positions as well. Also if you were rhinking of getting a GPS mount RAM is the way to go.
Just don't buy the RAM coffee cup holder....
i agree the RAM mount is the way to go. I have four of them, plus another five gopro mounts at other locations.

I do the same thing as you, except that I used a flat RAM mount to mount the gopro, which allows me to change the camera mount very quickly.

Rashnak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 05:08 PM   #1560
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoriley View Post
1". It is pretty much the standard size. I've tried lots of mounts and I'm still totally sold on the RAM setup. Order a couple of the u-bolt mounts and mount them in places as permanent positions as well. Also if you were rhinking of getting a GPS mount RAM is the way to go.
Just don't buy the RAM coffee cup holder....
Thanks, I appreciate the info.

By the way, when will the Awesome Players Off-Road MC season premier be starting? I've watch all the past season's episodes a few times and looking forward to a new season of videos

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014