ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 12:29 PM   #1621
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 6,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by FYYFF View Post
Question:

Can we use iMovie on iPad to work on GoPro movies?
Not if you've got an iPad 1. No "front facing camera". Bastards.
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:47 PM   #1622
CaseyB
Adventually
 
CaseyB's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: The Garden State
Oddometer: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
well, you just sold me on my next trip. didn't really see much distortion with your vid, maybe a little bit when you slowmowed some scenes. where the slow mo parts recorded in 720/60 frames per sec.? Also, out of curiosity..did you do the stabilization for all the footage you had? Final cut pro has the stabilization feature, i messed with it a few times...but everything seems to work out well without it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TavisB View Post
I just upgraded to a MacBook Pro with a card slot (my old MacBook didn't have one), and it's much faster than transfering over USB.
thats what i figured, i just upgraded to a macbook pro from a pc.....wasnt aware that the older versions did not have an SD slot..
__________________
One of These Days
CaseyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:28 PM   #1623
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 6,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrinSearchin View Post
well, you just sold me on my next trip. didn't really see much distortion with your vid, maybe a little bit when you slowmowed some scenes. where the slow mo parts recorded in 720/60 frames per sec.? Also, out of curiosity..did you do the stabilization for all the footage you had? Final cut pro has the stabilization feature, i messed with it a few times...but everything seems to work out well without it.
The distortion is minimised if the horizon is about in the centre of the shot.

Looks like it's had stabilisation as normally the helmet wouldn't move.
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:21 AM   #1624
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by FYYFF View Post
Question:

Can we use iMovie on iPad to work on GoPro movies?
That got me to wondering so I looked around and according to this you can.

How To Edit GoPro Hero HD Video On An iPad 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1Bx_x9K9SA

Here is the Google search result I found the above link with.
http://www.google.com/search?q=imovi...w=1203&bih=800

I may have to install iMovie on our iPad just to try this myself.

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:45 AM   #1625
DougZ73
Lacks Freetime
 
DougZ73's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 6,267
I have decided the SD camera has done its job, but in the near future, its time to upgrade to an HD set up.

I'd prefer GoPro since I already have the mounts and what not.

BUT, if anyone knows of a HD set up someone is getting rid of, please let me know. It has to be on the cheap..since I am cheap, and brand new set ups, like that Contour Roam I rec'd to my buddy, can be had for sub $100. ( yes, I should have gotten one then too, but wanted to stay with what I have). But, replacing batteries at $10 a set(4) is getting real pricey and old.

Thanks in advance for any head's up.
__________________
Skyline Drive 11/2010 , Catskills 2010 trip, Catskills 2011 , Southern TNJT, 2011
DougZ's MTB thread , DZ Moto Photo Bloggin' , (my) Learning photography thread
"I work,and ride,with a sprinkle of chores and a pinch of maintenance."- AWM
- Ryder Joseph Z. , Born 11/26/12-- the next Adventure begins.
DougZ73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 07:18 AM   #1626
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post

I really enjoyed you video!

I've never been to that part of the country but I may have to add it to my list.

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:24 AM   #1627
FYYFF
Forever young...
 
FYYFF's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 1,828
Thanks Jon,

I was just being lazy and wanted to see if anyone here did movie editing on their iPad. Because you know GoPro's HD movies are quite large (100 MB per minute) and I am not sure if importing and working on them on iPad would be feasible.
Thanks for the links again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
That got me to wondering so I looked around and according to this you can.

How To Edit GoPro Hero HD Video On An iPad 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1Bx_x9K9SA

Here is the Google search result I found the above link with.
http://www.google.com/search?q=imovi...w=1203&bih=800

I may have to install iMovie on our iPad just to try this myself.

Jon...
__________________
- 2010 KTM 990 Adv. -

My Smugmug
Follow me with SPOT
My YouTube
FYYFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 12:12 PM   #1628
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 6,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
That got me to wondering so I looked around and according to this you can.

How To Edit GoPro Hero HD Video On An iPad 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1Bx_x9K9SA

Here is the Google search result I found the above link with.
http://www.google.com/search?q=imovi...w=1203&bih=800

I may have to install iMovie on our iPad just to try this myself.

Jon...
I use ReelDirector.
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 02:53 PM   #1629
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 2,896
Anybody got a good idea for a quick body harness for the GP I could throw together tomorrow.
It is my wifes 66th birthday this weekend and we have her convinced to do a zip line. Gotta do a video of that one.

__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger", 2003 525 EXC, 2001 400 EXC
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
dad2bike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:19 PM   #1630
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
Somewhere in this thread somebody made a harness but I could not find it.

How about lots of Velcro?

If you figure it out we need to see the video

Edit: See post below for ideas...

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)

Jon_PDX screwed with this post 03-15-2012 at 05:31 PM
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:30 PM   #1631
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
DIY go pro Chest Mount Harness

dad2bike,

I found what I was looking for.......

DIY go pro Chest Mount Harness
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZwkrhzuUxQ

Or this one.....
http://imgur.com/a/ZOqSY

They both use the base plate that the GoPro was mounted to in the box.

Hope that helps,

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:50 PM   #1632
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 2,896
Nice!

I knew there was a reason to save that base plate.

Thanks so much.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger", 2003 525 EXC, 2001 400 EXC
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
dad2bike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:05 PM   #1633
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
You're welcome.
Looking forward to the video

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:30 PM   #1634
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 2,896
I picked up the velcro straps etc tonight.

Any tips on what program I should use to edit and compile my videos?
I got 3 clips this last weekend and want to combine them into 1 before uploading to youtube.

I tried out my camera on 10 second time lapse. Holy crap that was a bunch of pics to go thru. Almost 1100 before the batteries gave out. I think I'll go back to video. Same battery life. The thing burns up power whether taking pics or just turned on. I will still have to get more batteries to carry.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger", 2003 525 EXC, 2001 400 EXC
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
dad2bike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:17 PM   #1635
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW - USA
Oddometer: 1,060
Tom,

As far as what editing software to use....that's like asking what's the best oil

Just kidding, it's not that bad

If you are on a Windows computer there is....

- Windows Live Movie Maker (free download)
- Sony Vegas

If you are on a Mac....

- iMovie (free with OSx)
- Final Cut

That's only a small sample of the types of video editing software that it available.

If you are new to editing video I would give the free stuff a try first. They may not be as fancy as some of the others but they can produce some nice video if you take the time to learn them.

To give you an idea here is a video (posted by A74R1 ) that was shot with a GoPro 960 and edited with Windows Live Movie Maker. It was about 12 GB of video before he edited it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lWV4G3w-1Q



Here is his reply when I asked him what he used to edit it with.

"Believe it or not just used Windows Live Movie Maker.. It really takes some pre-planning though with that amount of footage. I basically had to edit 2-3 clips at a time and then process it, and then keep adding to it.."

Hope that helps,

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014