ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2010, 08:28 AM   #196
TavisB
@TavisB
 
TavisB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: PGH
Oddometer: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidKawie
My riding buddy mounts his over the mouth guard. IDK, how he fastened it, probobly some form of red neck engineering. But the video comes out good.
I crash a lot so I like the added protection of it being under the visor :).

I have no idea how to go about mounting it over the mouth guard, I'd like to see a pic of that setup
TavisB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 09:36 AM   #197
Misery Goat
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,594
gopro HD mounted to the visor of my shoei hornet



I just got iMovie 09 and learning the software.

Has anyone had success mounting to different positions on the helmet?
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 09:55 AM   #198
KidKawie
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Oddometer: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TavisB
I crash a lot so I like the added protection of it being under the visor :).

I have no idea how to go about mounting it over the mouth guard, I'd like to see a pic of that setup
Not the best pic, but you get the idea.

KidKawie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 10:01 AM   #199
KidKawie
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Oddometer: 39
I've seen chest mounted videos too.
KidKawie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 11:58 AM   #200
TavisB
@TavisB
 
TavisB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: PGH
Oddometer: 377
Misery_Goat, would you be able to post a picture of how you mounted to your visor?

My visor has a sort of "V" shape down the middle so I cant just stick on the flat mounting plate. I'm going to try to lay some fiberglass in there to make a good flat spot...the visor has a few little cracks in it already so some reinforcement can't hurt.
TavisB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 02:56 PM   #201
Misery Goat
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by TavisB
Misery_Goat, would you be able to post a picture of how you mounted to your visor?

My visor has a sort of "V" shape down the middle so I cant just stick on the flat mounting plate. I'm going to try to lay some fiberglass in there to make a good flat spot...the visor has a few little cracks in it already so some reinforcement can't hurt.
I don't have one handy. I basically used one of the curved mounts and stuck it on the shoei sticker (in the center where it's flat).

__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 03:51 PM   #202
TavisB
@TavisB
 
TavisB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: PGH
Oddometer: 377
Was easier than I thought it would be...hopefully I can test it out this weekend.

TavisB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 01:15 PM   #203
jamin_mathis
Beastly Adventurer
 
jamin_mathis's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: L.A. CA. Echo Park y'all
Oddometer: 2,519
mine should be getting here today
__________________

A riot is the language of the unheard MLK
jamin_mathis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:53 PM   #204
Misery Goat
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,594
so what's the largest SD card one can use with the GOPRO HD??

will 32GB work?
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:13 PM   #205
TavisB
@TavisB
 
TavisB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: PGH
Oddometer: 377
32GB? I have a 16GB in mine, should last about as long as the battery.
TavisB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:39 PM   #206
Misery Goat
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,594
okay, we know 16GB works, anyone using 32GB?
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:45 PM   #207
TavisB
@TavisB
 
TavisB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: PGH
Oddometer: 377
From the manual:

"The HD HERO camera is compatible with 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, 16GB, and 32GB capacity SD and SDHC cards"
TavisB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:01 PM   #208
Misery Goat
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by TavisB
From the manual:

"The HD HERO camera is compatible with 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, 16GB, and 32GB capacity SD and SDHC cards"
thanks! i never had much use for manuals.
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:04 PM   #209
dstutz
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Oddometer: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misery_Goat
okay, we know 16GB works, anyone using 32GB?
I'm using a Kingston 32GB as that's one of the ones listed as "compatible" on their website.
dstutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 04:36 AM   #210
LongCliff
Bagger
 
LongCliff's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA, USA
Oddometer: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by TavisB
From the manual:

"The HD HERO camera is compatible with 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, 16GB, and 32GB capacity SD and SDHC cards"
Don't trust the manual! Here is the "which sd cards are compatible" thread from the gopro user forum:

http://goprouser.freeforums.org/stic...ards-t151.html

Read the whole thread for a full appreciation of what a big mess the compatible card issue has become.

Gopro has been promising a firmware upgrade to fix the compatiblle card issue and other problems for months. It is always "just about to be released", but never shows up. I'm not holding my breath.

On the positive side, I really do like my hero hd. (I'm using patriot 16GB class6 SDHC cards, which I don't think are fully compatible, but no problems yet.)

Here's a video I made last weekend. The camera is mounted on the top of my shoei hornet, just behind the rear attachment point of the visor:





__________________
2005 XT-225 (mine)
2003 TTR-125L (daughter's)
2008 TTR-110 (son's)
LongCliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014