ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 06:35 PM   #2236
DLRuapuke
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: North of the South NZ
Oddometer: 15
Thanks.............
Yes the WiFi remote system............
Pretty sure thats the case as well
Gaz
DLRuapuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:22 AM   #2237
coupe1942
Gnarly Adventurer
 
coupe1942's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, Tx.
Oddometer: 268
I did a quick test of my H3 Silver and an external mic today on my DIY ballcap camera mount. as cheap as this knock-off mic is, I like the audio much better than the internal mic of my GoPro camera. Judge for yourself though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDAAIMXh_-k
__________________
A sidecar without a dog is just another sidecar.

There is a reason Dogs do not live as long as we do. They are your Resume' in Heaven...
coupe1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 01:21 PM   #2238
coupe1942
Gnarly Adventurer
 
coupe1942's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, Tx.
Oddometer: 268
Just for grins and giggles, I am trying to modify a dog helmet to widen it and prepare it for mounting my GoPro onto. I picked this toy helmet up for $0.50 cents at a yard sale yesterday and then proceeded to cut it in half in order to widen it and then fit it to my dog, Murphy. I still have to trim down the back to allow a better fit at the dog' neck when done. I also will be adding a 1/4X20 set screw on the top of the helmet in order to put a camera mount there for my GoPro. I'll do that once the helmet is finished, so I can tell about the location and balance before making any final mods and reassembly of the two parts. I am trying to contact Tap Plastics to get some advise and to also advise me on how to make a mold of these pieces or helmet in order to make one or two more for myself. This toy helmet was meant for fans to shake and rattle as they cheered on their team at a football game, It was full of bb's under a cover plate inside the helmet. Any rate, this is just a fun DIY project, so if it does not turn out so well, it was no big waste of money involved with it. This helmet is not for actual protection, but just like my ZoomerGear helmet that Murph occassionally wears, it is more for just show and photo ops.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/a1930fo...7632844663253/

Here was a dog collar camera mount I did quite a while back for my old Hero 960 camera:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/a1930fo...7629774596928/

Here were some previous dog camera helmet mods I tried making in the past:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/a1930fo...7627800670206/

Like say, once completed I'll check it out to see if I can indeed mount a Gopro onto it or not.
__________________
A sidecar without a dog is just another sidecar.

There is a reason Dogs do not live as long as we do. They are your Resume' in Heaven...
coupe1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:53 AM   #2239
scooterGdawg
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: columbia, sc
Oddometer: 526
anyone with experience or knowledge to the following question?

i have a midland gtx1000vp4 two way radio, and want to know if
with the proper Y cables/splitters if you can capture both send and receive transmission on the go pro from the two way ....i would also want to
add an external mic.....

so, a 1 to 3 splitter from the go pro
a Y cable from each of the mic and speaker on the two way to plug
into the splitter from the go pro ....

that make sense?
__________________
http://myscootlife.blogspot.com
scooterGdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:40 AM   #2240
nuttynu
Studly Adventurer
 
nuttynu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: ANCHORAGE,ALASKA
Oddometer: 905
So I'm using my white edition with my iPhone 5, via wifi. And when I preview it. It has about 3-5 secs lag.


Any of ya having this issue ?
__________________

nuttynu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:47 AM   #2241
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttynu View Post
So I'm using my white edition with my iPhone 5, via wifi. And when I preview it. It has about 3-5 secs lag.


Any of ya having this issue ?
that's normal, that's how it works.
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:52 AM   #2242
nuttynu
Studly Adventurer
 
nuttynu's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: ANCHORAGE,ALASKA
Oddometer: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post
that's normal, that's how it works.
Thanak for confirming !!

I thought it was just me. But I guess I was expecting a "live " image.

I use the preview when I'm moutif the cam on top of car.
__________________

nuttynu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:37 AM   #2243
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttynu View Post
Thanak for confirming !!

I thought it was just me. But I guess I was expecting a "live " image.

I use the preview when I'm moutif the cam on top of car.
Same on the android app.
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:09 PM   #2244
indypup
╭∩╮( . )╭∩╮
 
indypup's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Troy, OHIO
Oddometer: 3,060
I can't remember which gopro I used for this...maybe the H2...

__________________
If there's no video...it didn't happen
2014 350 XCF-W Six Days SE
2007 ST1300, 2008 KLR650, 2008 WR250R, 1995 Ninja 250R
Only a dog knows why a motorcyclist hangs his head out the window! Be real, be whole, be innovative.
indypup is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:56 PM   #2245
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttynu View Post
So I'm using my white edition with my iPhone 5, via wifi. And when I preview it. It has about 3-5 secs lag.


Any of ya having this issue ?
It's roughly 2-3 seconds for me with my Black and my Android phone or tablet.
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 11:48 PM   #2246
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterGdawg View Post
anyone with experience or knowledge to the following question?

i have a midland gtx1000vp4 two way radio, and want to know if
with the proper Y cables/splitters if you can capture both send and receive transmission on the go pro from the two way ....i would also want to
add an external mic.....

so, a 1 to 3 splitter from the go pro
a Y cable from each of the mic and speaker on the two way to plug
into the splitter from the go pro ....

that make sense?
Not sure if this will be of much help but I'll pass along what I can....

If you have a helmet mounted speaker/mic setup for the radios you might (???) be able to tap into the signals. I say might because I don't remember if those Midland radios can be used with Midland's motorcycle helmet setup and if the mic requires power from the radio to work.

As far as using splitters, I've had mixed results. Sometimes they work just fine like when adding speakers to a system. Other times you run into feedback issues or signal loops where a signal from one device gets into the other device. The only way to know for sure would be to give the splitters a try.

If you do run into issues with signals feeding back then the only way to avoid that would be to isolate the signals from each other.

If that's the case then something like a Mix-It that allows multiple inputs and combines them into one output which you would then feed to the GoPro mic input may be the solution.

More info on the Mix-It can be found here...
http://www.mixitproducts.com

I'm not sure if something like that would work in your situation or not but the info on their site may give you some ideas.

What ever you decide to do, keep live audio output levels (like from the radios) low in the beginning so you do not drive the mic input on the GoPro to hard. I'm not sure what the specs on the GoPro are but it would be a shame to over drive the mic input and hurt it.

Hopefully that gives you some ideas on how to configure your setup.

If you get it all working post back here in case others wish to do something similar.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 05:07 AM   #2247
GI_JO_NATHAN
Beastly Adventurer
 
GI_JO_NATHAN's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Middle GA.....Aparently....
Oddometer: 1,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by indypup View Post
I can't remember which gopro I used for this...maybe the H2...

That looked like a great ride. Thanks for posting.
__________________
Jonathan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bueller View Post
Someone quote me so he can see my response
Quote:
Originally Posted by POLLOCK28 (XDTALK.com)
From what I understand from frequenting various forums you are handling this critisim completely wrong. You are supposed to get bent out of shape and start turning towards personal attacks. Get with the program!
GI_JO_NATHAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 05:58 AM   #2248
scooterGdawg
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: columbia, sc
Oddometer: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Not sure if this will be of much help but I'll pass along what I can....

If you have a helmet mounted speaker/mic setup for the radios you might (???) be able to tap into the signals. I say might because I don't remember if those Midland radios can be used with Midland's motorcycle helmet setup and if the mic requires power from the radio to work.

As far as using splitters, I've had mixed results. Sometimes they work just fine like when adding speakers to a system. Other times you run into feedback issues or signal loops where a signal from one device gets into the other device. The only way to know for sure would be to give the splitters a try.

If you do run into issues with signals feeding back then the only way to avoid that would be to isolate the signals from each other.

If that's the case then something like a Mix-It that allows multiple inputs and combines them into one output which you would then feed to the GoPro mic input may be the solution.

More info on the Mix-It can be found here...
http://www.mixitproducts.com

I'm not sure if something like that would work in your situation or not but the info on their site may give you some ideas.

What ever you decide to do, keep live audio output levels (like from the radios) low in the beginning so you do not drive the mic input on the GoPro to hard. I'm not sure what the specs on the GoPro are but it would be a shame to over drive the mic input and hurt it.

Hopefully that gives you some ideas on how to configure your setup.

If you get it all working post back here in case others wish to do something similar.

Jon...

Thank u...I guess I will head to radio shack and test some stuff out....ill post what I find
__________________
http://myscootlife.blogspot.com
scooterGdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:26 AM   #2249
Peirre O`Bollox
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Peirre O`Bollox's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Madam trixy`s house of ill-repute
Oddometer: 148
On a slightly different note:
(discounting the possible safety issue while being connected to the bike with a cable)

Has anyone used their helmet mounted GP in a skeleton case on a dry day while riding (touring) and hooked the GP up to a USB power source on the bike using lets say a $2 10ft spiral USB A - USB B cable to give a virtually unlimited power source to the GP while in use. negating the need to stop & swop out GP batteries. As I`m considering this idea, especially as I already have comms cable connecting me to the bike, and maybe the power cable for the gerbing if req`d

discuss .......
__________________
I accept no responsibility for swearing, drinking, motorcycle riding or your pregnant teenage daughter.
Peirre O`Bollox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:24 AM   #2250
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peirre O`Bollox View Post
On a slightly different note:
(discounting the possible safety issue while being connected to the bike with a cable)

Has anyone used their helmet mounted GP in a skeleton case on a dry day while riding (touring) and hooked the GP up to a USB power source on the bike using lets say a $2 10ft spiral USB A - USB B cable to give a virtually unlimited power source to the GP while in use. negating the need to stop & swop out GP batteries. As I`m considering this idea, especially as I already have comms cable connecting me to the bike, and maybe the power cable for the gerbing if req`d

discuss .......
If you read some of the posts from the GoPro forums they aren't having good luck using the GoPro in record mode while running off the USB cable. It's fine for playback running off USB. I'm going to sacrifice (take apart) a battery so I can connect wires to it internally, leave the metal back off the cam and run the wires out the back of the openings in the non-waterproof case cover, whan I can get around to it. Too many projects, not enough time.
Here's a recent ride shot mostly with the H3 @ 1080/60, still working on the settings to get rid of the jello effect from stabilization.
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014