ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2013, 01:00 PM   #2281
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
I originally tried the updates using my Internet Explorer and it didn't work. When talking to the Service Rep. he said the Internet Explorer wouldn't work. Go Figure.
Internet Explorer isn't used for the updates at all.
Cineform downloads the updates itself.
__________________
DR650 Wiki
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 12:34 PM   #2282
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,085
Am I reading this correctly? We now have to use Cineform Studio to update products.

What happened to the old way of downloading the update, putting it on the memory card, and letting the camera load the file on startup?

I'm still using the HD Hero and that's how I updated when I added the LCD back.

Sounds like things have changed as far as updates go.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 03:27 PM   #2283
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Am I reading this correctly? We now have to use Cineform Studio to update products.

What happened to the old way of downloading the update, putting it on the memory card, and letting the camera load the file on startup?

I'm still using the HD Hero and that's how I updated when I added the LCD back.

Sounds like things have changed as far as updates go.

Jon...
I wasn't aware of that method, my HD hero got updated through Cineform early on.
RideFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 05:35 PM   #2284
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,085
Well at least for firmware updates on my HD Hero I've always gone to this page and downloaded the update.

http://gopro.com/support/hd-hero-firmware-update

From this page use the pull down list to select the camera.

http://gopro.com/support/product-updates-support

It appears that the Hero-2 units and the WiFi stuff do indeed use Ciniform.

And then the Hero-3 either updates through your browser (needs Java) or you can do it manually from this page.

http://gopro.com/support/product-reg...-hero3-cameras

I much prefer to not have to use other software to update a product but things seem to be going that way these days.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 10:46 PM   #2285
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Am I reading this correctly? We now have to use Cineform Studio to update products.

What happened to the old way of downloading the update, putting it on the memory card, and letting the camera load the file on startup?

I'm still using the HD Hero and that's how I updated when I added the LCD back.

Sounds like things have changed as far as updates go.

Jon...
Hero HD updates via firmware saved to the sd-card.

Hero HD 2/3, remote, wifi back pac all can update via Cineform.
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:33 PM   #2286
gots_a_sol
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gots_a_sol's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Charles Town, WV
Oddometer: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by team ftb View Post
In that position can you rotate the camera down low enough to get the bars in the pic and you just keep forgetting or does the angle not allow the bars to be in the pic?
After riding today and pointing the camera down, I now remember why it was always pointing too high. With it it tilted down where I want I can't get the camera out of the housing because the mounting arm blocks the door from opening. So I'd tilt it up to get the camera out then forget about tilting it back down
__________________
11 Husky TXC250
09 Husky WR165 - VCHSS #79L
gots_a_sol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:52 AM   #2287
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,363
Just did the update yesterday, went the manual route. Does anyone know what this update is addressing bug-wise.
RideFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:39 AM   #2288
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Just did the update yesterday, went the manual route. Does anyone know what this update is addressing bug-wise.
There's a recent update to the H3 Black?
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 07:55 PM   #2289
AmILostYet?
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Yorktown/Hampton, Va
Oddometer: 14
I'm thinking of getting a GoPro, primarily for mounting to my helmet and taking pictures (maybe some video, but primarily pictures). I've seen people say the battery life is about an hour for the Hero3. Is that true for still pictures as well? As in, if I leave it on and get a wireless remote, will it still only have ~1 hour of battery life even thought it's not recording or taking pictures constantly?
AmILostYet? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:17 PM   #2290
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmILostYet? View Post
I'm thinking of getting a GoPro, primarily for mounting to my helmet and taking pictures (maybe some video, but primarily pictures). I've seen people say the battery life is about an hour for the Hero3. Is that true for still pictures as well? As in, if I leave it on and get a wireless remote, will it still only have ~1 hour of battery life even thought it's not recording or taking pictures constantly?
I did a ride a couple of weeks ago where I set my H3 Black to just take a still photo every 60 seconds. WiFi off. LCD BacPac off. It seemed to last roughly an hour or so. I'd have to look at the photo timestamps to really be sure and I can't get to them right now.
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:28 PM   #2291
Metalsapo
R.E. Ordoez
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Guatemala C.A.
Oddometer: 41
Good camera (The best), bad battery life (the worst)

Quote:
I did a ride a couple of weeks ago where I set my H3 Black to just take a still photo every 60 seconds. WiFi off. LCD BacPac off. It seemed to last roughly an hour or so. I'd have to look at the photo timestamps to really be sure and I can't get to them right now.
I have mine with a helmet configuration, and yes, it is short period of battery, with the battery expansion, i have a little more, but dont get that enthusiastic, time lapse is the best bet, just make sure to stop it for the boring moments like, waiting for the people left or drinking water during the enduro sessions, and the best thing for the time lapse sessions is to try to keep the camera in a single place, i have tried my head, but when the video is running confuses allot. And the best energy bet is to get the extra batteries and charge them all before leaving, lots of bags there, expansion batteries, mounts and things, not a simple camera after all, and i still have to make sure that i can use it well.
That seems like unhappy, but just to let you know the only thing i dont like, but it is a great camera, with memory enough with the 32 GB easy to use, practical, brilliant resolution and many more.
__________________
________________________________________
F650GS 08 Red
Metalsapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:30 PM   #2292
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmILostYet? View Post
I'm thinking of getting a GoPro, primarily for mounting to my helmet and taking pictures (maybe some video, but primarily pictures). I've seen people say the battery life is about an hour for the Hero3. Is that true for still pictures as well? As in, if I leave it on and get a wireless remote, will it still only have ~1 hour of battery life even thought it's not recording or taking pictures constantly?
On pause, it drains the battery just as fast.

Maybe find a Hero 2.
2.5hrs battery life (5hrs with battery back pac and no wifi/remote).
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:10 AM   #2293
AmILostYet?
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Yorktown/Hampton, Va
Oddometer: 14
With a Hero2 is it possible to get a remote at all? Also, how do the still pictures compare between the two? If there's a difference, is the difference worth the extra pain in dealing with the batteries?

It kind of sounds like the 2 is the way to go for me and my lengthy rides
AmILostYet? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:15 AM   #2294
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmILostYet? View Post
With a Hero2 is it possible to get a remote at all? Also, how do the still pictures compare between the two? If there's a difference, is the difference worth the extra pain in dealing with the batteries?

It kind of sounds like the 2 is the way to go for me and my lengthy rides
I have three Hero II, all with WiFi Bacpacs and remotes and each lasts about 3 hours while taking interval pictures at 5 or 8 megapixels. Very satisfied with mine.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:27 AM   #2295
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I have three Hero II, all with WiFi Bacpacs and remotes and each lasts about 3 hours while taking interval pictures at 5 or 8 megapixels. Very satisfied with mine.
Just to confirm, the first picture I took yesterday afternoon was time stamped 1:03pm, and the last, before the camera shut off, was 4:08. So it did go for three hours.

The first, at 13:03:



Got lots of these shots...



Then this last one at 16:08:

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 04-09-2013 at 05:28 AM
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014