ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 12:37 PM   #2326
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Chris,

I looked at your previous post where you mentioned you are using the samsung card which costs less than the sandisk (2x price). I'm pretty sure you are using the 32gig but which version 32gig samsung card are you using?

And I'm assuming a 16gig in the same version would also work well.

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:02 PM   #2327
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,291
This is what I picked up. I used to do the 1 battery = 1 card sizing with the GP HD but with the micro SD cards I like leaving them in the cam, that's a time consuming and tedious task to do trailside. I don't run the battery cover for temp purposes so a battery only swap goes pretty quick.
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:21 PM   #2328
8lives
Runnin on wonder
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Shasta County,Calif
Oddometer: 1,544
I scratched the lens on my camera,not the case,well ya I hit a big branch and scratched that too but it's easy to replace,the camera lens is a different story.
__________________
You can keep your guns,just don't point um at me please!
2013 Wee Strom AKA Miley
1986 XT350 For going places the Wee shouldn't be!
8lives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:56 PM   #2329
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
This is what I picked up. I used to do the 1 battery = 1 card sizing with the GP HD but with the micro SD cards I like leaving them in the cam, that's a time consuming and tedious task to do trailside. I don't run the battery cover for temp purposes so a battery only swap goes pretty quick.
Thanks
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:04 PM   #2330
InDenial
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Oddometer: 100
Need help. Just bought a Hero3. I have it working, but can't get it to pair with my iphone 5. The phone app, when turned on, searches for camera and says it can't find a camera. I have the camera on and in wi-fi mode. What else can I try?
InDenial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:29 PM   #2331
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by InDenial View Post
Need help. Just bought a Hero3. I have it working, but can't get it to pair with my iphone 5. The phone app, when turned on, searches for camera and says it can't find a camera. I have the camera on and in wi-fi mode. What else can I try?
Did you do all the software updates you need to do?
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:46 PM   #2332
GMess
Gnarly Adventurer
 
GMess's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Brisbane Inner North-west
Oddometer: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by InDenial View Post
Need help. Just bought a Hero3. I have it working, but can't get it to pair with my iphone 5. The phone app, when turned on, searches for camera and says it can't find a camera. I have the camera on and in wi-fi mode. What else can I try?
Have you change the camera Wi-Fi setting from the remote to the phone app?
__________________
Nothing is harder to see than the blindingly obvious!
GMess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:05 PM   #2333
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by InDenial View Post
Need help. Just bought a Hero3. I have it working, but can't get it to pair with my iphone 5. The phone app, when turned on, searches for camera and says it can't find a camera. I have the camera on and in wi-fi mode. What else can I try?
Your iPhone needs to be connected to the same WiFi network as your GoPro to connect in the GP app. If you have set up and named the GP WiFi network, then look for it in your phone's WiFI settings and connect to it.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:35 PM   #2334
TimothyCaseTimothy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Berthoud, CO
Oddometer: 483
Has anyone had any problems with using the Black H3, turning the camera off and then having it lock up on reboot (which then requires taking the battery out and putting it back in)?

Pretty annoying...
TimothyCaseTimothy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:40 PM   #2335
woodsrider-boyd
Wow, these guys are fast
 
woodsrider-boyd's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: WA
Oddometer: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsrider-boyd View Post
Ended up buying a 3.8mm Megapixel, no fishbowl lens from ragecams.com.

$99, free shipping. It's not listed on their website, found it on ebay.

Its not a factory spec replacement, factory is 2.2mm, fishbowl, but I wanted less fishbowl anyway, so this should work out perfect. Its supposed to fit in the GoPro protective case, so I should be good to go.

I'm still surprised no one offers a $50 factory spec replacement lens, but I guess if people are willing to cough up $99 - $129, no one is in a rush to offer a lens at a lower price. But if they did I think they would sell a ton of them.

Ed

Ps: I will report back once I install it on how the install went and how it works.
Got the 3.8mm lens from ragecams.com, ordered it on Friday, got it today, Monday.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/170729697812...84.m1439.l2649

Install went fine, used this video as a guide:



They neglected to send me a lens cover so I sent them an email. Got a prompt reply that they will send me one.

So far its working fine. I may have to fine tune the focus a bit, but for now I'm happy with it. -Ed
__________________
I don't know karate but I do know ca-razy.

'06 Husqvarna WR125
woodsrider-boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 08:00 PM   #2336
8lives
Runnin on wonder
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Shasta County,Calif
Oddometer: 1,544
Nice work
__________________
You can keep your guns,just don't point um at me please!
2013 Wee Strom AKA Miley
1986 XT350 For going places the Wee shouldn't be!
8lives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:56 AM   #2337
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,291
Thanks for posting that, good info!
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:31 AM   #2338
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
Thanks for posting the video!

I now know how to take the camera apart and what it looks like inside

I'm looking forward to seeing some video with the new lens.

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 10:44 AM   #2339
InDenial
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Oddometer: 100
Originally Posted by InDenial
Need help. Just bought a Hero3. I have it working, but can't get it to pair with my iphone 5. The phone app, when turned on, searches for camera and says it can't find a camera. I have the camera on and in wi-fi mode. What else can I try?
"Your iPhone needs to be connected to the same WiFi network as your GoPro to connect in the GP app. If you have set up and named the GP WiFi network, then look for it in your phone's WiFI settings and connect to it."

Bingo, this was my problem. Didn't know about switching the networks. Got it working. Now the problem is, I "deleted all the files" while on the phone screen and now I can't get the camera to work. It turns on, but just sits there with a picture of the movie camera on the screen, no data. And the preview on the phone doesn't work either.

Any ideas what the problem may be?
InDenial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 01:22 PM   #2340
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by InDenial View Post
Now the problem is, I "deleted all the files" while on the phone screen and now I can't get the camera to work. It turns on, but just sits there with a picture of the movie camera on the screen, no data. And the preview on the phone doesn't work either.

Any ideas what the problem may be?
If you mean you deleted all the files on the SD card from the iPhone app, that's not a problem. Sounds to me like you just need to restart the camera. I'd pull the battery out to make sure it's completely shut off and then put the battery back in and start it up again.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014