ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2013, 01:12 PM   #2416
RarestRX
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Oddometer: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer View Post
That sounds quite good. Of course 95% of the numbnuts out there would put some sort of annoying soundtrack on the video so we couldn't hear the motorcycle.
Thanks! I'm in the same boat as you, I want to hear the bike, not wind noise or "Let the Bodies Hit the Floor" or some dubstep crap.

Here's the mic:

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-ECM-DS70P...ony+stereo+mic



You'll need the GoPro microphone adapter:

http://www.amazon.com/GoPro-3-5mm-Ad...pro+microphone



Lastly, you'll have to get the Skeleton frame for your GoPro, so you can access the port, or drill a hole in the side of your waterproof housing. The guy on Ebay I bought it from had done this, so I went that way.
RarestRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 02:25 AM   #2417
Sean-0
straya carnt
 
Sean-0's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Mumblebum Northern NSW
Oddometer: 4,302
i have all the stuff you guys suggested im looking for narration not engine note i guess ill just have to persist with it
Sean-0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 06:51 AM   #2418
RarestRX
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Oddometer: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean-0 View Post
i have all the stuff you guys suggested im looking for narration not engine note i guess ill just have to persist with it
Maybe mount it to either side of your mouth, not directly in front so it won't pick up your breathing?
RarestRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:38 AM   #2419
Sean-0
straya carnt
 
Sean-0's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Mumblebum Northern NSW
Oddometer: 4,302
yes I have moved the mic to just near my ear side of face
yet to try it out so I will let you guys know ..... I just thought I may be doing something wrong ......maybe a G/P3 expert can tell me ...but I have been told there is noise suppression in the settings ?

im not really upto speed on the G/P3 I have had a hero H/D for a few yrs but these seem to be a bit different ...am yet to read up on the instructions just yet
Sean-0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:52 AM   #2420
indypup
╭∩╮( º.º )╭∩╮
 
indypup's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Troy, OHIO
Oddometer: 3,631
Here's my latest video using GP H3.

__________________
don't do that...but if you do FILM IT!
2014 KTM 350 XCF-W ISDE
2007 ST1300, 2008 KLR650, 2008 WR290R Supermoto, 1995 Ninja 250R
Only a dog knows why a motorcyclist hangs his head out the window! Be real, be whole, be innovative.
indypup is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 02:28 PM   #2421
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,370
New update released recently:

RELEASE NOTES (for Hero 3):
This camera software update provides the following additional features and fixes:

Enables compatibility with new GoPro App features
Corrects HDMI TV preview from low res to high res
Fixes forced exposure lock on 0.5 and 1 second time-lapse intervals
Optimizes compatibility with select microSD cards by reducing data stream rate to 35Mb/sec while recording in 4K, 2.7K and Protune™ modes (HERO3: Black Edition only).

http://gopro.com/support/product-updates-support

If you have a Hero 2, there's also an update for that and the WiFi Bacpac. Plug your freshly charged H2 and Bacpac separately into your computer and run Cineform Studio to get the updates.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.

Emmbeedee screwed with this post 07-30-2013 at 02:41 PM
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 06:58 PM   #2422
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
New update released recently:

RELEASE NOTES (for Hero 3):
This camera software update provides the following additional features and fixes:

Enables compatibility with new GoPro App features
Corrects HDMI TV preview from low res to high res
Fixes forced exposure lock on 0.5 and 1 second time-lapse intervals
Optimizes compatibility with select microSD cards by reducing data stream rate to 35Mb/sec while recording in 4K, 2.7K and Protune™ modes (HERO3: Black Edition only).

http://gopro.com/support/product-updates-support

If you have a Hero 2, there's also an update for that and the WiFi Bacpac. Plug your freshly charged H2 and Bacpac separately into your computer and run Cineform Studio to get the updates.
Wow, I hate to quote myself but this new iOS GoPro app is a game changer, if it works:

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 07:23 PM   #2423
biggziff
Funk Soul Bruvah
 
biggziff's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 8,085
It works. I updated my new Hero3 Black Edition this afternoon and then the IOS App...works as advertised.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Wow, I hate to quote myself but this new iOS GoPro app is a game changer, if it works:

__________________
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


<><
biggziff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:10 PM   #2424
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggziff View Post
It works. I updated my new Hero3 Black Edition this afternoon and then the IOS App...works as advertised.
So how do you see the pics and videos on your phone? I get the feeling they didn't implement this on the Hero 2 even though there were updates for that model released today.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:21 PM   #2425
biggziff
Funk Soul Bruvah
 
biggziff's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 8,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
So how do you see the pics and videos on your phone? I get the feeling they didn't implement this on the Hero 2 even though there were updates for that model released today.
While recording or in standby you can see what the camera sees on the phone...with a 1-2 second delay. Once there are photos or video on the camera's card you can view them, delete, edit, etc on the phone using the app.

Slick.
__________________
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


<><
biggziff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:53 PM   #2426
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggziff View Post
While recording or in standby you can see what the camera sees on the phone...with a 1-2 second delay. Once there are photos or video on the camera's card you can view them, delete, edit, etc on the phone using the app.

Slick.
Yay! It does work on the Hero 2! I updated the app through iTunes and synced the phone, then assumed I was using V2 but it hadn't updated the phone. I downloaded the update directly to the phone and it worked. I can now see my photos from the card to the app!
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:12 AM   #2427
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,370
I figured out why I didn't see the new features of the app on my iPad. The latest app requires iOS V6 and my old iPad 1 is on iOS V5. But the app works perfectly on my iPhone.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:20 AM   #2428
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,114
Although I don't use my GoPro a lot the iOS app makes me want to upgrade from my HD Hero to the new Hero3 black edition just to be able to view the camera image on the iPhone instead of the LCD Backpac.

Jon...
__________________
Bikeless at this time
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:36 AM   #2429
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Although I don't use my GoPro a lot the iOS app makes me want to upgrade from my HD Hero to the new Hero3 black edition just to be able to view the camera image on the iPhone instead of the LCD Backpac.

Jon...
Just buy a WiFi bacpac if you're content with your Hero.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 09:46 AM   #2430
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Although I don't use my GoPro a lot the iOS app makes me want to upgrade from my HD Hero to the new Hero3 black edition just to be able to view the camera image on the iPhone instead of the LCD Backpac.

Jon...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Just buy a WiFi bacpac if you're content with your Hero.
I thought about that but according to GoPro.....

"..........The Wi-Fi Combo Kit is compatible with the HD HERO2 and Original HD HERO cameras. (For Original HD HERO cameras, the Wi-Fi Combo Kit will enable remote control, but will not connect with the GoPro App.")

So it appears that will not work since I have the HD Hero.

Jon...
__________________
Bikeless at this time
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014