ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2011, 06:39 AM   #751
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by sallad View Post
Some of my video from my ride in Kisatchie national forest. Got stuck..

http://www.vimeo.com/20834418
WOW.....That is stuck all right!

Nothing like coming to a quick stop. At least you did not go over the bars

When I heard you try to start it I thought oh no! Glad the bike lived to see another day.

What strap was that you guys used to pull the bike out? Looks like it rolls up nice and small.

Oh yeah, nice sharp video.....looks good.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:46 AM   #752
sallad
Studly Adventurer
 
sallad's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Gulf Breeze FL
Oddometer: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by McDuff View Post
That is some really clear footage. What class card are you using?
Looks like a good place to ride, except for the extra deep water hole.
Using PNY class 4 SD cards. It was a nice place to ride, quite a few mud holes but lots of trails to ride

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
WOW.....That is stuck all right!

Nothing like coming to a quick stop. At least you did not go over the bars

When I heard you try to start it I thought oh no! Glad the bike lived to see another day.

What strap was that you guys used to pull the bike out? Looks like it rolls up nice and small.

Oh yeah, nice sharp video.....looks good.

Jon...
Actually the strap is using for pulling underground cables through conduit, I have a relative that had a bunch left over so both of us carry a 20 foot strap with us. Has paid for itself many times already. Even cut little loops and stuck them around the front forks for a handle

thanks for the comments on the quality, a lot of it has to do with the camera being stationary because most of my videos aren't coming out that sharp!
sallad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 09:43 PM   #753
BerndM
Shiftless One
 
BerndM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Near Disneyland, in SoCal.
Oddometer: 1,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
Now I know I need (want) the LCD

I just had a crazy idea while reading what you had to say. If I could get the connectors I'll bet I could build an interface cable to remotly mount the LCD

Hope I don't kill the camera in the process.

Jon...
When I got my LCD Bac, I called them and asked if they had any plans to offer a variety of extension cables for remote mounting the LCD from the camera body. He said NO (WTF???)
I suggested to him that they were missing the boat here and these cables would fly off the shelves.
He said he'd pass my thoughts on the their staff.
I looked at the connectors real close and decided that even if I could get a pair, my soldering skills would leave MUCH to be desired. Those are super tiny connections and there's a bunch of them. It might be near impossible to determine which wires do what. I bet GoPro won't offer up THAT important info.
BerndM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 10:16 PM   #754
xymotic
Beastly Adventurer
 
xymotic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Federal Way, WA
Oddometer: 8,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM View Post
When I got my LCD Bac, I called them and asked if they had any plans to offer a variety of extension cables for remote mounting the LCD from the camera body. He said NO (WTF???)
I suggested to him that they were missing the boat here and these cables would fly off the shelves.
He said he'd pass my thoughts on the their staff.
I looked at the connectors real close and decided that even if I could get a pair, my soldering skills would leave MUCH to be desired. Those are super tiny connections and there's a bunch of them. It might be near impossible to determine which wires do what. I bet GoPro won't offer up THAT important info.
I wouldn't think you'd need to know what they do, they just go straight through, pin 1 on the back mates to pin 1 on the camera. It's a good idea, I think you might be on to a decent little side business there
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just_Sean
Oh for ***k's sake Aaron. Please link us to my fascist, racist or homophobic posts.
"Anyone who doesn't take truth seriously in small matters cannot be trusted in large ones either."
Albert Einstein


Baja trip to the tip
6:10 to Yuma
trials and tribulations in the Mojave
Baja Blitz Yard sale
View Current Location via Spot Tracker
xymotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 05:50 AM   #755
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,086
BerndM,

I agree, I think they would sell a lot of them but maybe it's just not cost effective or they may be concerned about failure rates. Hard to tell.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xymotic View Post
I wouldn't think you'd need to know what they do, they just go straight through, pin 1 on the back mates to pin 1 on the camera. It's a good idea, I think you might be on to a decent little side business there
Correct, it would be a straight through connection. Without having the LCD it's hard to know for sure but it may be as easy as buying two press on (crimp) connectors and some ribbon cable. If that's the case then there would be no soldering involved.

If I come up with something that is reliable I'll post the info here.

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 07:52 AM   #756
JustinT
I will ride my whole life
 
JustinT's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: The Great US
Oddometer: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
BerndM,

I agree, I think they would sell a lot of them but maybe it's just not cost effective or they may be concerned about failure rates. Hard to tell.



Correct, it would be a straight through connection. Without having the LCD it's hard to know for sure but it may be as easy as buying two press on (crimp) connectors and some ribbon cable. If that's the case then there would be no soldering involved.

If I come up with something that is reliable I'll post the info here.

Jon...
Here is a good link with guys finding the Pin-outs for this bus connector and have found ways to turn off and on and shutter and leds...for that connector. That being said they have also found connectors. I haven't read through all but if you interested it should be a useful thread.
http://goprouser.freeforums.org/the-...e742dbcfcd29fc
__________________
Full Throttle - it either solves the problem or ends the suspense
JustinT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 08:56 AM   #757
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,306
I've had the LCD screen on for some time now and I find it's a huge convenience now that you can adjust the camera aim before recording, and then after you've filmed or taken some pics, you can immediately play back video, fast forward, skip, etc.. and play back pics.. Also, camera menu functions are no longer cryptic acronyms, but are displayed in full text on the LCD screen. The screen itself has a menu, that permits you to select playback of video or photos, to adjust the screen brightness and to adjust the volume of the built in speaker. It was a long time coming but the results are well worth the wait.
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:47 PM   #758
种.
Ajaa kuin mummo
 
种.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Finland
Oddometer: 254
First over 10 km ride this year and first GoPro test with bike/helmet mount. I'm very pleased with the picture quality.



__________________
Pics and vids
种. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:05 PM   #759
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by XR650Rking View Post
Here is a good link with guys finding the Pin-outs for this bus connector and have found ways to turn off and on and shutter and leds...for that connector. That being said they have also found connectors. I haven't read through all but if you interested it should be a useful thread.
http://goprouser.freeforums.org/the-...e742dbcfcd29fc
Thanks for posting the info!

Jon...
__________________
2003 Nighthawk 750
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:15 PM   #760
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by XR650Rking View Post
Here is a good link with guys finding the Pin-outs for this bus connector and have found ways to turn off and on and shutter and leds...for that connector. That being said they have also found connectors. I haven't read through all but if you interested it should be a useful thread.
http://goprouser.freeforums.org/the-...e742dbcfcd29fc
Great link, I see tweaking ahead...



cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:03 PM   #761
Mac
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,100
From the link above, they have a smaller version that would work way better. Check this out...

http://www.podgizmo.com/products/118...kout-mini.aspx

__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC
Mac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 10:40 AM   #762
mundobravo
Beastly Adventurer
 
mundobravo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: new mexico
Oddometer: 3,117
GoPro

Can we get a thread going about all things "GoPro" ? The problem I got right now is how to charge the Batt from my bike , not using a USB cord. Anyone work this out ? I'm really sick of this ..
Attached Images
 
__________________
Driven Down - Yaviza - Darien Gap
https://vimeo.com/42443080
DRIVEN , solo moto to the Arctic Circle
http://www.vimeo.com/7780879
mundobravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 12:09 PM   #763
rustynut2
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: illinois
Oddometer: 439
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=535992
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Work harder, millions on welfare depend on you.

12 T800XC
09 KLR 650
rustynut2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 12:43 PM   #764
mundobravo
Beastly Adventurer
 
mundobravo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: new mexico
Oddometer: 3,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac View Post
I have two batteries already, so I'm not likely to buy a battery back pack. I can always switch over, or charge on the road (while recording, or not). All you have to do to power the camera while it's in the case, even while recording, is to dremel yourself a small hole to open up the USB connection in the camera itself. Obviously, this will somewhat reduce your waterproofness, but it works for me since I'm seldom under water while I'm recording anyway.

what am I missing here ... where does the "power" come from ? how can I charge my Batts from my bike ? Please tell me " where to put it" .... the USB end that is
__________________
Driven Down - Yaviza - Darien Gap
https://vimeo.com/42443080
DRIVEN , solo moto to the Arctic Circle
http://www.vimeo.com/7780879
mundobravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 01:16 PM   #765
RAZR
yup ima hairstylist
 
RAZR's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Silver Lake (L.A.)
Oddometer: 8,555
not sure if this has been discussed....
but what do you guys do with all the memory that these HD cameras take?
my computer is constantly filling up.
I have a 1 TB ext HD but I am constantly dragging videos back and forth from my computer to my ext HD.
__________________
"when there is no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth"
YOUTUBE
SPOT
RAZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014