ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2011, 07:46 AM   #1231
bzrider
Beastly Adventurer
 
bzrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: p cola
Oddometer: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon_pdx View Post
what is the file size of the 3 min video you are uploading?

Jon...
200 to 300 kb ?
bzrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 12:21 PM   #1232
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
At 200-300 kb sounds small for a 3min video but if it is that size that should not take very long at all. I have images larger than that........strange.

If you have a link to the video where it finally uploaded post it and myself, or someone else, will take a look.

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 12:53 PM   #1233
O Captain My Captain
Modern Day Walter Mitty
 
O Captain My Captain's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Do I smell pot roast??
Oddometer: 498
For those of you tethering your Go Pros to either your bikes or helmets, what are you using? Anything special?
O Captain My Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 01:16 PM   #1234
RAZR
yup ima hairstylist
 
RAZR's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Silver Lake (L.A.)
Oddometer: 8,477
i'm returning my GoPro today because it has become difficult to upload videos. it would just disconnect from my computer and it would happen on different cards, different media cables. i called GoPro about this and they said to just send it back and they'll replace it.
i bought it from REI so i will just return it to them.

has anyone else experienced similar problems with uploading videos?
__________________
"when there is no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth"
YOUTUBE
SPOT
RAZR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 03:44 PM   #1235
bzrider
Beastly Adventurer
 
bzrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: p cola
Oddometer: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
At 200-300 kb sounds small for a 3min video but if it is that size that should not take very long at all. I have images larger than that........strange.

If you have a link to the video where it finally uploaded post it and myself, or someone else, will take a look.

Jon...
http://youtu.be/PUE-dwI0qsg........ Try this and thanks this took like 6 hrs? the camera was on the r1 wvga setting 60 fps if that helps , thanks again

bzrider screwed with this post 07-10-2011 at 03:56 PM
bzrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 10:02 PM   #1236
Jon_PDX
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Clackamas, OR - USA
Oddometer: 1,081
bzrider,

Watched the video and it was 4:57 in length. But still I would not think it would take 6 hrs to upload a 5 min video unless YouTube's servers were really busy at the time you uploaded. But even if they were I would not think it would last for 6 hrs.

I downloaded your video and it was 51.7 MB in size and took 3 min's to download. Converting it from the .flv file to a .mp4 it went up to 65.6 MB in size which I think ??? is about right for a 5 min "R1" video. But never having shot in "R1" mode I could be wrong.

I think you mentioned you were on DSL at your location. It's been awhile since I was on DSL so I do not remember the speeds (bandwidth) of DSL.

Try this link...........

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Pick a location to check and it will give you your download and upload speeds. Upload speeds are generally lower (on cable) than download because the provider(s) assume you will be downloading more than uploading so don't be surprised if you get diffenent numbers up/down.

I'm on cable and from Oregon to Seattle, WA I get the following numbers.

Download Speed: 14952 kbps (1869 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 3844 kbps (480.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

If your numbers are a lot less then that may be why it took so long to upload but 6 hrs still seems like a really long time to me.

Hopefully I was of some help,

Jon...
__________________
2013 FZ1
Past Bikes.....Check with my Wife.....I've lost count :-)
Jon_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 03:51 AM   #1237
bzrider
Beastly Adventurer
 
bzrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: p cola
Oddometer: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
bzrider,

Watched the video and it was 4:57 in length. But still I would not think it would take 6 hrs to upload a 5 min video unless YouTube's servers were really busy at the time you uploaded. But even if they were I would not think it would last for 6 hrs.

I downloaded your video and it was 51.7 MB in size and took 3 min's to download. Converting it from the .flv file to a .mp4 it went up to 65.6 MB in size which I think ??? is about right for a 5 min "R1" video. But never having shot in "R1" mode I could be wrong.

I think you mentioned you were on DSL at your location. It's been awhile since I was on DSL so I do not remember the speeds (bandwidth) of DSL.

Try this link...........

http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/

Pick a location to check and it will give you your download and upload speeds. Upload speeds are generally lower (on cable) than download because the provider(s) assume you will be downloading more than uploading so don't be surprised if you get diffenent numbers up/down.

I'm on cable and from Oregon to Seattle, WA I get the following numbers.

Download Speed: 14952 kbps (1869 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 3844 kbps (480.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

If your numbers are a lot less then that may be why it took so long to upload but 6 hrs still seems like a really long time to me.

Hopefully I was of some help,

Jon...
thanks i will check the speed ,
bzrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 10:12 PM   #1238
BerndM
Shiftless One
 
BerndM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Near Disneyland, in SoCal.
Oddometer: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAZR View Post
i'm returning my GoPro today because it has become difficult to upload videos. it would just disconnect from my computer and it would happen on different cards, different media cables. i called GoPro about this and they said to just send it back and they'll replace it.
i bought it from REI so i will just return it to them.

has anyone else experienced similar problems with uploading videos?
Just curious.
Why are you bothering hooking your GoPro up to the computer with silly cables?
It is sooo much simpler to just plug the SD card into the computer. That way there are zero issues to deal with.
I have never used cables on any of my cameras.
Inquiring minds want to know.
Regards
Bernd
BerndM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 08:58 PM   #1239
Creation
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: North Seattle
Oddometer: 502
Send it back to gopro. They will replace it for free. No hassle.
Creation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:47 AM   #1240
RAZR
yup ima hairstylist
 
RAZR's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Silver Lake (L.A.)
Oddometer: 8,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM View Post
Just curious.
Why are you bothering hooking your GoPro up to the computer with silly cables?
It is sooo much simpler to just plug the SD card into the computer. That way there are zero issues to deal with.
I have never used cables on any of my cameras.
Inquiring minds want to know.
Regards
Bernd
i have a new Mac that doesn't have a SD slot. i could get a SD card reader, but loading from the camera works fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creation View Post
Send it back to gopro. They will replace it for free. No hassle.

i bought it from REI. walk in, exchange for a new one. walk out.

WAAAY less hassle than boxing it up, going to the UPS store, paying for shipping, etc etc. this is why i love REI. no questions, just straight exchanged it.


my new one loads videos a lot faster and i have not had any issues thus far.

i was super close to just getting the Contour HD but after plenty of research on the internets, i feel that the GoPro still has better picture quality. i would have had to get the Contour+ for 500 bucks to maybe come close.



but no one else on this thread has had any issues with uploading vids or with any other glitch or problems?
__________________
"when there is no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth"
YOUTUBE
SPOT
RAZR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 06:39 PM   #1241
TavisB
@TavisB
 
TavisB's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: PGH
Oddometer: 372
latest effort

__________________
2003 Gas Gas EC250 | 2004 KTM 950 Adventure
[MotoAdventure blog] [2010 TAT Ride]
TavisB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 07:16 PM   #1242
Saltydog86
village idiot
 
Saltydog86's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Hinckley/Wheaton Illinois
Oddometer: 935
Quote:
Originally Posted by O Captain My Captain View Post
For those of you tethering your Go Pros to either your bikes or helmets, what are you using? Anything special?
Steel fishing leaders. I use different lengths depending on where I can hook it to.

Why they don't include a tether on a $300 camera is a mystery to me?
__________________
12 KTM 350 EXC-F
09 KLR 650
12 Genuine Stella w/Cozy Sidecar
05 Yamaha XT225
03 Honda Goldwing GL1800
Saltydog86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:38 PM   #1243
$kywalker
what's next?
 
$kywalker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: olympia, washington
Oddometer: 156
also returned mine to Rei

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAZR View Post
i'm returning my GoPro today because it has become difficult to upload videos. it would just disconnect from my computer and it would happen on different cards, different media cables. i called GoPro about this and they said to just send it back and they'll replace it.
i bought it from REI so i will just return it to them.

has anyone else experienced similar problems with uploading videos?
Didn't have a problem loading to computer. Some have problems with Microsoft Vista. I returned mine because of a sound recording problem. Rei exchanged it no ?'s asked. I also forgot to bring all the extras. I only returned the camers, no battery, just the camera and box. They didn't even blink. Or look @ the camera in the bag. I could of had a rock in the box...

I love the new one.

Good dirtbike videos, and an excellent video of a mt. Rainier summit.

Luke
__________________
If in Olympia, Wa. eat dinner here...
http://www.gardnersrestaurant.com
1996 Kawasaki gPZ1100 43k miles... 1999 dr350se. 1978 cb750f Cafe. 2005 yz250 racer
$kywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 08:29 PM   #1244
Juanjo_NY
Made in Argentina
 
Juanjo_NY's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: WashingtonVille, NY
Oddometer: 3,834
taking advance of the waterproof capability! :)
Attached Images
 
__________________
cheers, Juanjo
Juanjo_NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:19 AM   #1245
MikeBike4
Excuse me..
 
MikeBike4's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Albemarle N.C.
Oddometer: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by TavisB View Post
__________________
DRZ
DL650
Rucks
Forester S
MikeBike4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014