ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2009, 03:03 PM   #1
Steve G. OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Steve G.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: West is the Best
Oddometer: 6,545
Centech AP2 installation locations, GS/GSA

So I've just recieved my Centech AP-2 fuse panel and AP-130R relay, thanks to the boys at BestRest http://www.bestrestproducts.com/p-50...use-panel.aspx so I can wire in my Piaa light kit. The wiring looks very straight forward, but, for such a big bike, there doesn't seem to be very many locations to mount the AP-2 and still have fairly easy access to it.
Just wondering if any of you guys have found a good place to bolt this thing down?


Steve
Steve G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 03:32 PM   #2
dang
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Westport or Olympia WA
Oddometer: 457
There is a bracket just under the aft end of the fuel tank which holds the diagnostic plug. Somewhere on here a clever fellow has posted a pattern for a panel bracket which attaches there. It's close to the battery so there is little voltage drop in the primary cable and generally central to various aux loads.

Someone makes a commercial plate which fits there too. Cyclenutz perhaps?

Oh, here you go.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=110062

and here is the commercial version,
http://www.cyclenutz.com/products/el...50gs_more.html
dang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 04:11 PM   #3
mikegc
Beastly Adventurer
 
mikegc's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: High Point, NC
Oddometer: 1,460
Centech AP2 Fuse Block

I put mine in the removable try that holds the stock toolkit. I also placed the Centech supplied relay in the tray and accessed power for it via the accessory plug just below the tray. I still use the original toolkit case as a cover for the Centech & relay.

Mike
__________________
IBA 25881


Duty- Honoring a Friend
mikegc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 07:32 PM   #4
PotatoHead
It's only potato...
 
PotatoHead's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Oddometer: 272
I put mine (on a 2007 GS) on a piece of clear plastic shaped to fit on top of the tool tray, so that I keep a bit of space underneath for tool and fuse storage.



You can see the container holding extra fuses and a red "bit holder" underneath the clear plastic. Bought the fuse and relay from http://www.easternbeaver.com/
PotatoHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 09:09 PM   #5
Steve G. OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Steve G.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: West is the Best
Oddometer: 6,545
Great picture! I've got free access to up to 1/2" thick lexan. I'm going to do the same thing.
Thanks guys!

Steve
Steve G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:20 AM   #6
Steve G. OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Steve G.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: West is the Best
Oddometer: 6,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by PotatoHead
I put mine (on a 2007 GS) on a piece of clear plastic shaped to fit on top of the tool tray, so that I keep a bit of space underneath for tool and fuse storage.



You can see the container holding extra fuses and a red "bit holder" underneath the clear plastic. Bought the fuse and relay from http://www.easternbeaver.com/

So, just had a chance to start working on this. From looking at your picture, do you have to lift the clear plastic to gain access to your tool kit, or have you pulled it right out, and are using the catch tray underneath for your tools?
Steve
Steve G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:24 AM   #7
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,186
Not so neat, but same location:



Jim
JimVonBaden is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 12:11 PM   #8
PotatoHead
It's only potato...
 
PotatoHead's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Oddometer: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve G.
So, just had a chance to start working on this. From looking at your picture, do you have to lift the clear plastic to gain access to your tool kit, or have you pulled it right out, and are using the catch tray underneath for your tools?
Steve
Yes, I need to lift the clear plastic to get access to the "tools" (but there is not a lot of space) underneath. I keep the real tools in a tool tube or panniers.

Keep in mind that wires are attached, so think about where to attach wire tie downs so you can get access.

I think I used 1/8" plastic from TAP plastics.... Started with a cardboard template to get the shape, cut the plastic, and then sanded to fit.
PotatoHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 12:57 PM   #9
billyt53
Phast Phossil
 
billyt53's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney - Nth Subs
Oddometer: 585
This is where I fitted mine on my 1150GSA.





Oh, I see that you have a 1200 gs. My bad.


Billy
__________________
India - The Highs and Lows
A photography book by me

South America on Two Wheels
Another photography book by me
billyt53 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:59 PM   #10
myblubeemer
JWAT
 
myblubeemer's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Oddometer: 453
__________________
jwat

"I'm not sure what I do all day, but it takes me all day to do it!"
myblubeemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 04:04 PM   #11
Mac
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,095
__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC
Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 05:59 PM   #12
1200gsceej
Beastly Adventurer
 
1200gsceej's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco Peninsula
Oddometer: 1,212
That is so pretty, so neat
-ceej
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac
__________________
My bike: Yellow '05 1200GS - on the Spotwalla ADV location page as CJ3.
My solo trips: SF to Colorado and back 2011 and 2013, SF-LA loop, Pinnacles and Carmel Valley loop
With Ol'Badger: http://www.2guysonbikes.com
And remember: Beauty is in the behind of the holder.
1200gsceej is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 06:05 PM   #13
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,260
nice work, I wish I could find that wire sheathing around here.
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 07:54 PM   #14
Ricardo Kuhn
a.k.a. Mr Rico Suave
 
Ricardo Kuhn's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Location: Salt lake city, Utah
Oddometer: 12,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac
Wow, I wish I can do work like that, Mac do you have a "How to" or at least more pictures of diagrams so a Humble admirator can follow "Some" of your steps.

Aagain wonderful layout so elegant and easy to follow.
__________________
I'm looking for a cheap battery for my 11GS so I can get her running again..
Ricardo Kuhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 11:46 AM   #15
NBeener
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,521
Mac, I thought you were gonna' set up shop :)

Mine ... same as the others ....

NBeener is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014