ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Road warriors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2010, 03:59 PM   #46
Nikolya
Rider
 
Nikolya's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester, NH
Oddometer: 95
Here is mine. Hwy 50 near South Lake Tahoe.



And from last small trip to North Cal



Nikolya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 11:54 PM   #47
Mr.Moose OP
Living the Adventure
 
Mr.Moose's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, OR
Oddometer: 527
Nikolya- What kind of windshield do you have on your bike? thanks for reviving this thread..
Mr.Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 09:47 AM   #48
Nikolya
Rider
 
Nikolya's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester, NH
Oddometer: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Moose
Nikolya- What kind of windshield do you have on your bike? thanks for reviving this thread..
I assume it's regular Connie windshield. Works good for me.
Nikolya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 09:09 AM   #49
MikeyT
Krusty Olde Pharte™
 
MikeyT's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: The Thumb of Michigan
Oddometer: 5,193
Here's a few pix of my 86. Just back (yesterday) from a 25 day, 8k+ mile tour. The bike is now at 131k miles. Not a lot for a Connie, but not insignificant either.







__________________
MikeyT

99 Shadow Spirit 1100

"Non Illegitimi Carborundum"
MikeyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:04 PM   #50
Mr.Moose OP
Living the Adventure
 
Mr.Moose's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, OR
Oddometer: 527
Nice looking bike RatBob
Mr.Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 05:10 AM   #51
MikeyT
Krusty Olde Pharte™
 
MikeyT's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: The Thumb of Michigan
Oddometer: 5,193
Thanks, Mr Moose.
__________________
MikeyT

99 Shadow Spirit 1100

"Non Illegitimi Carborundum"
MikeyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 07:00 PM   #52
flux_capacitor
I know a shortcut!
 
flux_capacitor's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Cumming GA
Oddometer: 9,623
Just bought an '86 last week and finally got it in the garage today. Can't wait to get to do some touring on this beast!

34K miles and bone stock as far as I can tell. I can't believe so little money can buy so much bike!

flux_capacitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 07:41 PM   #53
Nikolya
Rider
 
Nikolya's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester, NH
Oddometer: 95
My Congratulations!!! It's good bike for the price. It's real sport tourer.
Nikolya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:29 AM   #54
Nikolya
Rider
 
Nikolya's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester, NH
Oddometer: 95
New Upgrades!

Finally installed new handlebar and Genmar footpeg adapters yesterday.

Pics:







Result:

I like new handlebar position more up right. I have not tested it in long ride yet. Older one was not comfortable after 300 miles.

Genmar footpeg is real disappointment. I like how it change a riding position but it's so uncomfortable to switch gears. I could work if you have size of boots less than 10 maybe.
Nikolya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 04:42 PM   #55
flux_capacitor
I know a shortcut!
 
flux_capacitor's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Cumming GA
Oddometer: 9,623
Which handlebars are those? They look like what I am after. The sweep on these stock bars are terrible, especially coming from Adventure Bikes with hardly any sweep. At 6'3" I struggle to set up bikes for my height.
flux_capacitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 05:01 PM   #56
Nikolya
Rider
 
Nikolya's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester, NH
Oddometer: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by flux_capacitor
Which handlebars are those? They look like what I am after. The sweep on these stock bars are terrible, especially coming from Adventure Bikes with hardly any sweep. At 6'3" I struggle to set up bikes for my height.
It's Flanders handlebar. I inherited the handlebar and a handlebar adapter from previous owner. He never installed it because it requires longer choke cable and clutch/brake hoses. I don't know about the size.

I found one here: http://www.amotostuff.com/Merchant2/...1000_hand_cont



Nikolya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 05:17 PM   #57
Trooper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Trooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Land of Fruits and Nuts.
Oddometer: 234
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by flux_capacitor
Which handlebars are those? They look like what I am after. The sweep on these stock bars are terrible, especially coming from Adventure Bikes with hardly any sweep. At 6'3" I struggle to set up bikes for my height.
I put a set of Storz touring bars on my 01. It took the weight off of my wrists and provided more leverage in the turns. Provides a more upright seating position as well. A side note, it also eliminated the "Connie Buzz" felt through the original clip on bars. Mine was never as bad as some have reported but what little I did feel went away after installing the Storz bars. No modification was required to any of the cables or wires. It was a good investment. www.storzperformance.com

Greg
__________________
Daughter: What did you do for a living, daddy?
Daddy: I thwarted nature!
Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 04:30 PM   #58
flux_capacitor
I know a shortcut!
 
flux_capacitor's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Cumming GA
Oddometer: 9,623
Thanks guys. So I got to looking and my bike already has the Storz clamp on it! Cool! Looks like I can flip the end pieces around making them taller. Are these things 7/8" bars or 1" bars? I might just go get some ATV bars.
flux_capacitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 04:37 PM   #59
Trooper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Trooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Land of Fruits and Nuts.
Oddometer: 234
Thumb

Absolutely, if you already have the Storz clamp you can install any 7/8 bar as long as the cables will reach.

Greg
__________________
Daughter: What did you do for a living, daddy?
Daddy: I thwarted nature!
Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 07:07 PM   #60
flux_capacitor
I know a shortcut!
 
flux_capacitor's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Cumming GA
Oddometer: 9,623
Sweet! I reckon it will be the first mod I get to.
flux_capacitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014