ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2011, 10:53 AM   #7771
jdpower
Studly Adventurer
 
jdpower's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Oddometer: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddhartha View Post
I blew the fuse on my bike when I plugged an air-pump into the socket to blow up a camping air bed this weekend. Apparently it's a very low ampage fuse - and the socket/wiring is designed for devices like satnavs. If you change the fuse to accommodate higher requirements - you risk invalidating your warranty if the device generates wiring damage or whatever - I have no technical knowledge of this - but this is the gist of what I was told by my dealer today when I asked for higher level fuse to be fitted at 600 mile service.

So - I will have to add an alternative device myself to blow-up a camping airbed....bit disappointed to be honest - as I would have thought this was basic stuff for an adventure bike...
One thing I have done on my other bikes is to just guy a 12 volt outlet from an auto parts store and put an inline (posi lock is one I use) fuse with a large enough fuse or just run it to my Fuze block that has enough fuse size to accomodate the air pump. That way the OEM outlet is left for minor duties. I put this outlet under the seat so easy to get to without making more holes in the tupperware or plastic stuff.

JDP
jdpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:19 AM   #7772
AlsoRan
Lone Trail Of Dust
 
AlsoRan's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: West Coast
Oddometer: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul thompson View Post
Well - got to say, the black looks fantastic.

Roll on 9am tomorrow..
Looks Great! Is that the stock height on the windsreen or is it a tall screen?
__________________
2012 Yamaha Super Ténéré
AlsoRan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 01:41 PM   #7773
Mugatu
Sidewalk adventurer
 
Mugatu's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Crespieres, France
Oddometer: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlsoRan View Post
Looks Great! Is that the stock height on the windsreen or is it a tall screen?
stock in high position
Mugatu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 02:21 PM   #7774
GrahamD
Beastly Adventurer
 
GrahamD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Blue Mnts Ozstralia
Oddometer: 4,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasp View Post
Good work mate - That looks tough

Get out and get it dirty... I wana see them pics.

Greg.
Greg, he's English, they don't do dirt, they do mud.

Looks good Paul

Looking forward to some impressions as the miles tick up.

Cheers
Graham
__________________
"It's better to ride a boring bike than push an interesting one" ... Canuman

"I just may as well admit that my other bikes are toast. I don't ride them. Plain and simple. I didn't want this. It wasn't the plan." - snakebitten
GrahamD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 02:54 PM   #7775
SuperCruise
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SuperCruise's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddhartha View Post
I blew the fuse on my bike when I plugged an air-pump into the socket to blow up a camping air bed this weekend. Apparently it's a very low ampage fuse - and the socket/wiring is designed for devices like satnavs. If you change the fuse to accommodate higher requirements - you risk invalidating your warranty if the device generates wiring damage or whatever - I have no technical knowledge of this - but this is the gist of what I was told by my dealer today when I asked for higher level fuse to be fitted at 600 mile service.

So - I will have to add an alternative device myself to blow-up a camping airbed....bit disappointed to be honest - as I would have thought this was basic stuff for an adventure bike...
I blew my accessory fuse when using a tyre air pump. Couldn't find a 3A fuse anywhere, so a 5A fuse was looking to be the likely replacement. When I checked out the wiring, I was annoyed that the wires going to the 12V socket were sufficiently thick to carry 10A yet the fuse was only 3A. After the fuse it just hooks into one of the very thick main power lines, so the potential for wiring damage is very minimal. I ended up just replacing the 3A fuse with a 10A one and haven't had any problem since and the wiring still looks fine.
__________________
XT1200Z Super Ténéré 2010

Around Australia, Super Tenere Style
SuperCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 03:38 PM   #7776
Siddhartha
New Adventurer
 
Siddhartha's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland ( originally Cape Town)
Oddometer: 11
Supercruise - thanks for that - was hoping/expecting that would be the case...and will follow your approach....

Rocca - Just seen your note also - thanks for that too.

Siddhartha screwed with this post 04-09-2011 at 01:19 PM
Siddhartha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:34 PM   #7777
SuperCruise
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SuperCruise's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddhartha View Post
Supercruise - thanks for that - was hoping/expecting that would be the case...and will follow your approach....
I should have noted that I don't run anything continuously that draws 10A, because that might be pushing my luck. I'm happy to run a high current draw item, like an air pump, for a couple of minutes though, which is all you normally need really.
__________________
XT1200Z Super Ténéré 2010

Around Australia, Super Tenere Style
SuperCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:48 AM   #7778
Paulvt1
Beastly Adventurer
 
Paulvt1's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Wolverhampton. England.
Oddometer: 3,468
Done about 100 miles. It does everything i want. Comfy, quick enough, and nimble on it's feet. Fun too. Excellent piece of kit.
Will be ordering the Givi rack soon.
I honestly can't think of any negatives.
Attached Images
 
Paulvt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:31 PM   #7779
vmaxaust
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 20
Yamaha Super Tenere 1200 for sale in Melbourne

Regretfully, I'm offering my 5 month old Super Tenere for sale. It was bought to do long hauls around Australia but with an ever worsening hip joint (Osteo Arthritis) I won't be riding around Melbourne let alone the back roads of Australia.

The bike is virtually just run in with 1970 road kms. Has never been in the dirt. Is fitted with Motorrad billet adjustable foot pegs, Motorrad bar riser kit (not fitted yet), Ventura rack, have the optional Yamaha lower seat as well as the original seat, custom made highway peg brackets fitted with Kuryakin billet adjustable pegs.

Basically, the bike is ready to go anywhere. Always garaged, had 1st service with engine and diff oils changed. $18,000 and take it away.

Call Sam 0418 303044 or email me direct...
come@comeracing.com
Attached Images
 
vmaxaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 04:09 PM   #7780
GrahamD
Beastly Adventurer
 
GrahamD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Blue Mnts Ozstralia
Oddometer: 4,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmaxaust View Post
Regretfully, I'm offering my 5 month old Super Tenere for sale. It was bought to do long hauls around Australia but with an ever worsening hip joint (Osteo Arthritis) I won't be riding around Melbourne let alone the back roads of Australia.


Call Sam 0418 303044 or email me direct...
come@comeracing.com
That's a pity Sam. I spotted that earlier in the week. I am sure it will go to a decent home.

Cheers
Graham
__________________
"It's better to ride a boring bike than push an interesting one" ... Canuman

"I just may as well admit that my other bikes are toast. I don't ride them. Plain and simple. I didn't want this. It wasn't the plan." - snakebitten
GrahamD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 06:26 PM   #7781
dcstrom
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: On the road to South America
Oddometer: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul thompson View Post
Done about 100 miles. It does everything i want. Comfy, quick enough, and nimble on it's feet. Fun too. Excellent piece of kit.
Will be ordering the Givi rack soon.
I honestly can't think of any negatives.
Paul, you are one lucky bastard. And the more I see the black bike, the more I like it. I have a blue one coming, at this point I don't care what color it is as long as it gets here soon!

Trevor
__________________
Super Tenere news and reviews
http://supertenere1200.com
dcstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 07:13 PM   #7782
SpeedStar
XT1200Z and DL650
 
SpeedStar's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego, Ca
Oddometer: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul thompson View Post
Done about 100 miles. It does everything i want. Comfy, quick enough, and nimble on it's feet. Fun too. Excellent piece of kit.
Will be ordering the Givi rack soon.
I honestly can't think of any negatives.
Congrats Paul! Nice to see my bike! I can't wait for it to get here.
__________________
FS: XT1200Z Super Tenere Gas Tank Side Panel Guards, Rear Tank Guards, Fork Tube Guards, Headlight Masks and Exhuast Shield Masks
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=714789
FS: V-Strom Frame guards, triple-clamp guards and THE ORIGINAL Headlight Masks
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=356383
SpeedStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 04:27 AM   #7783
Paulvt1
Beastly Adventurer
 
Paulvt1's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Wolverhampton. England.
Oddometer: 3,468
Only issue so far is the crap rear luggage "cover plate". It can't be called a carrier. I think it's just there to provide some kind of finishing trim to the OE box mount. I have junked it and ordered a Givi mount. At the moment, the set up i have is working just fine.
Attached Images
 
Paulvt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 05:51 AM   #7784
Dirt_Dad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Dirt_Dad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Oddometer: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul thompson View Post
Only issue so far is the crap rear luggage "cover plate". It can't be called a carrier. I think it's just there to provide some kind of finishing trim to the OE box mount. I have junked it and ordered a Givi mount. At the moment, the set up i have is working just fine.

I currently have the same box on my Strom and not sure if I want it on the S10. Do you have a side photo of the box on the bike?
__________________
2012 Yamaha Super Tenere Blue
2012 Yamaha Super Tenere Raven
2012 Yamaha XT250
2008 Yamaha WR250R
Dirt_Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:54 AM   #7785
Paulvt1
Beastly Adventurer
 
Paulvt1's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Wolverhampton. England.
Oddometer: 3,468
I could do with a smaller box to be honest. I'll get a snap tomorrow.
Paulvt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014