ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-25-2011, 04:54 AM   #8116
GrahamD
Beastly Adventurer
 
GrahamD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Blue Mnts Ozstralia
Oddometer: 4,965
Ok before everyone gets carried away...

This has been beaten to death on BMW forums.

It's can be done with a resistor or potentiometer (variable resistor). You can do it yourself for very little money.

All you do is wire a Potentiometer across the [intake air] temperature sensor so that the ECU thinks that the temperature is cooler than it actually is, the ecu pumps a bit more fuel than it normally would and bobs your uncle.

They are have been massive flame fests about what I have just said, but essentially that is all it is. What happens at -20Degres C I don't know, but for most sane temperatures it works fine. (On R1200XX motors)..I have a friend who has done just that just to prove it.

Basically measure the resistance of your Temp sensor at 25C and 5C and whack a resistor across the sensor to make the total resistance the same at 25C as it read at 5C without the resistor (or zero if ice is handy).

Cheers
Graham
__________________
"It's better to ride a boring bike than push an interesting one" ... Canuman

"I just may as well admit that my other bikes are toast. I don't ride them. Plain and simple. I didn't want this. It wasn't the plan." - snakebitten

GrahamD screwed with this post 05-25-2011 at 03:36 PM
GrahamD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:02 AM   #8117
Bundu
===============
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Oddometer: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamD View Post
Ok before everyone gets carried away...

This has been beaten to death on BMW forums.

It's can be done with a resistor or potentiometer (variable resistor). You can do it yourself for very little money.

All you do is wire a Potentiometer across the temperature sensor so that the ECU thinks that the temperature is cooler than it actually is, the ecu pumps a bit more fuel than it normally would and bobs your uncle.

They are have been massive flame fests about what I have just said, but essentially that is all it is. What happens at -20Degres C I don't know, but for most sane temperatures it works fine. (On R1200XX motors)..I have a friend who has done just that just to prove it.

Basically measure the resistance of your Temp sensor at 25C and 5C and whack a resistor across the sensor to make the total resistance the same at 25C as it read at 5C without the resistor (or zero if ice is handy).

Cheers
Graham
thanks Graham!
Bundu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:04 AM   #8118
Too_Tall
The Belgian
 
Too_Tall's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Oddometer: 551
Hm ok, so what about cooling? Does the mod compensate for the percieved lower temps or does it simply trick the fuel management?

Also, that link you provided has this;

Quote:
- gives barely an increase of the fuel consumption
which contradics the S10 ad I believe?

I'm going to head over to a BMW forum and read some more about this...
__________________
Yamaha XT1200Z Super Ténére
Too_Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:47 AM   #8119
Tee Dee Mmm
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tee Dee Mmm's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Karalee
Oddometer: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Too_Tall View Post
Just kidding. If the mod tells the engine it's running at say 60 when it's actually at 80 (20 degrees cooler per their ad) won't it have a negative effect on engine life? Running at normal temp but with the engine being "undercooled" because it thinks it's cooler, therefor less cooling => running hotter?
Not too sure about bikes like the S10 but there are usually 2 temp senders one only does the temp gauge and the other does the info for the ECU.

Now my question is the mod carried out to the inlet air temp sender or to the coolant temp sender?? For the ECU not the Gauge of course??

Tee Dee Mmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:48 AM   #8120
Wilmo
Orange Fever
 
Wilmo's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: North Perth
Oddometer: 1,258
This is the same as we use on the baby fi xtz660 Tenere, go to xt660.com and have a look at 'the kev mod'. Variable resistor set up....works well on the 660. And it's the air intake temp sensor....not the engine temp sensor.
__________________
Rudall River Ride 2011 Kimberley Ride 2012
Australasian Safari 2012 Gascoyne Dash Racer 2012

Take risks and live an extraordinary life!
Wilmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:49 AM   #8121
Too_Tall
The Belgian
 
Too_Tall's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Oddometer: 551
Now it's getting VERY interesting!
__________________
Yamaha XT1200Z Super Ténére
Too_Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:50 AM   #8122
yfis
Adventurer
 
yfis's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Belgium / Flandres
Oddometer: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Too_Tall View Post
Uh-Oh...

I took that picture yesterday at Kortrijk (B), Infopol !
Don't worry, there's no copyright on it...
__________________
Kawa 1400 GTR / Concours C14
yfis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:53 AM   #8123
Too_Tall
The Belgian
 
Too_Tall's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Oddometer: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by yfis View Post
there's no copyright on it...
I could tell
__________________
Yamaha XT1200Z Super Ténére
Too_Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 07:08 AM   #8124
S_Palmer
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Baker City
Oddometer: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocca View Post
Struggle to get excited about this kind of mod but it should be pretty easy for someone to test the resistor theory:

I'm thinking you have mistaken the air pressure sensor for air temp. Sensor.

The temp sensor is on the right rear of the intake as near as I can tell from the drawing.
Pic is on page 4-18
S_Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 07:41 AM   #8125
rocca
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Oddometer: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_Palmer View Post
I'm thinking you have mistaken the air pressure sensor for air temp. Sensor.

The temp sensor is on the right rear of the intake as near as I can tell from the drawing.
Pic is on page 4-18
You're right. That's what comes of searching "air intake" in the PDF and then lazily not bothering to read the search results properly!
rocca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 12:50 PM   #8126
Old Git Ray
Now retired...YeeHaa
 
Old Git Ray's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: UK based, Touring the Americas
Oddometer: 1,296
I had one on my 09 GSA and it did work very well. It does not improve performance but it does make the engine much more user friendly and softens the throttle in town and with small throttle openings.

I do not recall any differnce in fuel mileage. I put this down to the fact that as it was more user friendly, I used the throttle smoother.
__________________
Karen "Oh my God, I am traveling with a f**king idiot."
Blog: http://www.raykarenhall.blogspot.com
Old Git Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 01:22 PM   #8127
Tee Dee Mmm
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tee Dee Mmm's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Karalee
Oddometer: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocca View Post
You're right. That's what comes of searching "air intake" in the PDF and then lazily not bothering to read the search results properly!
I don't think that is it because it is a pressure sensor otherwise known as the MAP sensor . If it is layed out like the TDM900 the inlet air temp sensor is in the air box.

Cheers Rick
Tee Dee Mmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 03:43 PM   #8128
vendetta25
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstrom View Post
Do you know the cause of your GS problem? Was it pinging caused by bad fuel? IF so, in theory (going by Yamahas premium fuel recommendations) you have to be careful with the S10 as well.

Was the GS covered by warranty?

Even if equal on fuel recommendations there are plenty of other advantages of the S10 - let us know what you think!

Trevor

yea covered by warranty,the bmw quallity is low i think...tenere i hope to more quallity
vendetta25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 06:14 PM   #8129
MoBill
Smiles when says dat
 
MoBill's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 13,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pax View Post
Yeah man. Shoulda PM'd me. I'd have bought you dinner! Woot!

Thanks man...I forgetted. I got in at midnight, and was rolling by 0845, tag mounted, 12V power to the tank bag and GAWN, didn't stop until Paducah.

Glad to see you on here meng.
MoBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:22 AM   #8130
Goldie05
Fast George
 
Goldie05's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, NJ
Oddometer: 627
Just received an e-mail from my dealer to inform me about delivery

"Yamaha says they will have all Super Teneres delivered by end of August"

I so hope it's true
__________________
12 Yamaha Super Ténéré
Alaska Trip
Cross Country Trip
Riding USA Blog
GeorgeFPhotography
Goldie05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014