ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2012, 06:22 AM   #14581
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by omroizo View Post

The great irony it's that i down own a S10 but an XT660Z Tenere. I'm trying to sell it to buy an used S10 but they don't know the bike that i have. Maybe in all Cyprus will be 15 pieces. So i was very exited to read your forum to be ready with all the tricks and mods that you have done to your bikes.
Btw when i will buy the S10 i will be ok with 19" front wheel??? Do i need to change the front wheel to 21"??? Because i have been driving the XT660Z Tenere that has the 21".
Also if i had money (no offence Woody great wheels) i would like to uses the Kineo wheels:
http://www.in-motion.it/main.php?lan...=58&contText=2

Sorry for my bad english
Thanks for the info omroizo, I hope to start with the filter modification soon.

The ST is really good with the 19” front wheel. The only problem if you do hard off road or if you are too heavy (as Pluric can tell ) is the low ground clearance, but in general is enough.
The good thing is if you needed you can fix a 21” front wheel and still have te ABS and TC working fine.
Woody and Kineo are top quality wheels. I don’t know if Kineo ca be fixed with the OEM hub to keep the ABS/TC as Woody’s can.
I am working with a Spanish manufacturer witch is cheaper, after a proper test if it works ok I’m going to tell you.

Your English is really good, and as Pluric said if they understand mine, everything is fine, this guys are really kind (well… some of them… )

Hope you can have the S10 soon, good luck!!
jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:29 AM   #14582
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by pluric View Post
I thought you would like it.

It also hold stickers very well. Can never have enough stickers ya know.

Your project bike is turning out very well. It's become a head to head battle with Wasp
on who can complete the Yamaha to KTM conversion first. Wish I could give you a lead
on a shit fuel pump, bad water pump or crappy clutch to help out.
Yeah never enough stickers….

After Wasp and JaumeV Super Ténéré’s the KTM owners are going to try to convert their bikes in Yamaha’s….

Hummmm, don’t know if I need your help…
jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:31 AM   #14583
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post
Can you feel a big difference?

how much $$?? The bike should have come from the factory with steel braided lines, like the European bike competition does..
I only did a short off road trip with them. In this conditions I didn’t feel a big difference. Probably on road is going to be more evident. Hope to try it better this weekend and tell you.
I like them because they don’t have the line fixed on the front mudguard, a safer setup in off road use.
Don't know the price yet. I'll post it when I know
jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:50 AM   #14584
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 15,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by omroizo View Post
Thank Pluric. Here in Cyprus you must have pass any kind of English exams (GSE or TOEFEL) to say that i can speak English. The English that i know i have learn them mostly from TV and PC gaming.

Now for the oil filter relocation kit i think it a good mod because you can save time from removing the bash plate to have access to the oil filter. Does it need to be positioned again in horizontal or it doesn't matter if you install it in vertical position???
I have not used this set up. I have a Rhino but to me it's not that big of a deal to change the filter.
According to the website it does not matter which way the filter is angled.

It seems to work at different angles.



pluric screwed with this post 11-30-2012 at 07:57 AM
pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:22 AM   #14585
William42
Beastly Adventurer
 
William42's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Champaign, IL
Oddometer: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaumev View Post
Yeah never enough stickers….

After Wasp and JaumeV Super Ténéré’s the KTM owners are going to try to convert their bikes in Yamaha’s….

Hummmm, don’t know if I need your help…


__________________
Mud is evil
William42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:33 AM   #14586
NicolasR
Adventurer
 
NicolasR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Oddometer: 39
blown additional powerlet fuse

I plugged my compressor and it immediately blew the fuse. It has a 3A fuse, what a shame!!!
I have a couple of questions for you:

Can I change the 3A fuse for a 10A fuse without harming the system??
Can i just connect the air compressor directly to the battery with two alligator clips?? Will this cause any problem to the battery or the system in general??

Thanks
NicolasR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:40 AM   #14587
MeefZah
Curmudgeonly
 
MeefZah's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: New Philadelphia, Ohio
Oddometer: 10,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicolasR View Post
I plugged my compressor and it immediately blew the fuse. It has a 3A fuse, what a shame!!!
I have a couple of questions for you:

Can I change the 3A fuse for a 10A fuse without harming the system??
Can i just connect the air compressor directly to the battery with two alligator clips?? Will this cause any problem to the battery or the system in general??

Thanks
You will probably be ok swapping fuses and using a 10A but the wiring is not going to be rated to handle that kind of a load long term. If you are using the pump for 2 minutes once a month, no big deal. If you are running it for longer periods of time, that could eventually lead to overheating the wiring to the socket.

There is no problem with using alligator clips to the battery, that's a safe solution.
__________________
"A man turns his back on the comforts of home, and when the dust all settles and the story is told, history is made by the side of the road..." - DBT

My Smugmug Galleries
MeefZah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 09:50 AM   #14588
Dallara
Creaks When Walks...
 
Dallara's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: South Texas
Oddometer: 1,752
Compressor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NicolasR View Post
I plugged my compressor and it immediately blew the fuse. It has a 3A fuse, what a shame!!!
I have a couple of questions for you:

Can I change the 3A fuse for a 10A fuse without harming the system??
Can i just connect the air compressor directly to the battery with two alligator clips?? Will this cause any problem to the battery or the system in general??

Thanks

Ran into the same problem in the first month I had my S-10. Couldn't believe Yamaha used such a wimpy circuit for the power plug. Guess they just intended it for things like a GPS, radar detector, or charging a phone, etc. I thought about putting in a higher amp fuse, but after taking a long, hard look at the wiring to the plug receptacle I decided that might cause more problems than it solved...

And when my headlamp sub-harness melted I really knew a bigger fuse wasn't the way to go.

I use a BestRest CyclePump, and I simply hook mine directly to the battery using the big alligator clips. It's safe, foolproof, and not really any more time consuming given how easy the sidecover goes on and off. I carry a little 4mm allen wrench on my pocket keychain so I always have the tool handy to pull the sidecover. Makes using the compressor a quick and painless deal.

Dallara



~
__________________
~

You never see a motorcycle parked outside a psychiatrist's office

~
Dallara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:20 AM   #14589
Cos
Re-Greekified
 
Cos's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Home
Oddometer: 10,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by omroizo View Post
Thank Pluric. Here in Cyprus you must have pass any kind of English exams (GSE or TOEFEL) to say that i can speak English. The English that i know i have learn them mostly from TV and PC gaming.

Now for the oil filter relocation kit i think it a good mod because you can save time from removing the bash plate to have access to the oil filter. Does it need to be positioned again in horizontal or it doesn't matter if you install it in vertical position???


Τελικα εμεις οι Κυπραίοι ολο ιδεες ειμαστε.

Αναλογα με το τι θα κανεις, το δεκαεννιαρι ειναι μια χαρα.
Αν χρειαστεις βοηθεια σε οτιδηποτε με τα Αγγλικα πε μου.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by An Appalachian mudsquid
Why do we always hurt the ones we hit?
Cos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 10:35 AM   #14590
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 15,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cos View Post


Τελικα εμεις οι Κυπραίοι ολο ιδεες ειμαστε.

Αναλογα με το τι θα κανεις, το δεκαεννιαρι ειναι μια χαρα.
Αν χρειαστεις βοηθεια σε οτιδηποτε με τα Αγγλικα πε μου.
It's all Greek to me.
pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:57 AM   #14591
Cos
Re-Greekified
 
Cos's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Home
Oddometer: 10,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by pluric View Post
It's all Greek to me.
Διακοσια πεντε.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by An Appalachian mudsquid
Why do we always hurt the ones we hit?
Cos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:59 AM   #14592
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cos View Post


Τελικα εμεις οι Κυπραίοι ολο ιδεες ειμαστε.

Αναλογα με το τι θα κανεις, το δεκαεννιαρι ειναι μια χαρα.
Αν χρειαστεις βοηθεια σε οτιδηποτε με τα Αγγλικα πε μου.
Yeah.. agree, you are absolutely right about Pluric.

jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:12 PM   #14593
cug
--
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Sunny California
Oddometer: 4,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cos View Post
Διακοσια πεντε.
CCV
cug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:26 PM   #14594
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,464




jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:56 PM   #14595
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 15,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaumev View Post
Yeah.. agree, you are absolutely right about Pluric.

Please tell him I'm flattered, but I do not ride a black Tenere. Let him down easy.
pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014