ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2010, 03:49 PM   #1
huckleberry OP
BACK ROAD BOMBER
 
huckleberry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N.E. Pa.
Oddometer: 1,106
Help from a dualsport mapper

OK i need some help! i have topo 8 and a pn 40, am laying out a dual sport ride and want to create a track to share with anyone that shows up. what do i need to do to create a universal gpx i would guess so i will have min. problems? thanks in adv.
__________________
“An adventure is misery and discomfort, relived in the safety of reminiscence.” Marco Polo
09 F 650 GS twin
XR 400
Beta Techno
huckleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 04:04 PM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by huckleberry
OK i need some help! i have topo 8 and a pn 40, am laying out a dual sport ride and want to create a track to share with anyone that shows up. what do i need to do to create a universal gpx i would guess so i will have min. problems? thanks in adv.
Kind of a broad question - but a gpx file with a single track with less than 500 points will suit Garmin 60's, 276/376/478, 76's which are what you will likely see the most of. And then you will need cables from a laptop to the GPS's.

The older Quests, Streetpilots, III+ and V's will support a track upload if you name them correctly.

Some folks actually create a map to upload with the "track" set up as a road and colored so you can follow it. The problem with that is that you will blow away the maps that exist on a person's GPS.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 04:08 PM   #3
huckleberry OP
BACK ROAD BOMBER
 
huckleberry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N.E. Pa.
Oddometer: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave
Kind of a broad question - but a gpx file with a single track with less than 500 points will suit Garmin 60's, 276/376/478, 76's which are what you will likely see the most of. And then you will need cables from a laptop to the GPS's.

The older Quests, Streetpilots, III+ and V's will support a track upload if you name them correctly.

Some folks actually create a map to upload with the "track" set up as a road and colored so you can follow it. The problem with that is that you will blow away the maps that exist on a person's GPS.
name them correctly? this is the kind of thing i'm lookin for - the problem spots i figure if i can catch the quirks beforehand-------or would it be better to create a route?
__________________
“An adventure is misery and discomfort, relived in the safety of reminiscence.” Marco Polo
09 F 650 GS twin
XR 400
Beta Techno

huckleberry screwed with this post 01-30-2010 at 04:19 PM
huckleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 05:29 PM   #4
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,933
GPS Babel is a great little program to do converting between routes & tracks and rename and entire track log with ease, etc.

I would definitely do tracks, although not all GPS allow you to load saved tracks, but then those guys probably wouldn't be using those GPS for dual sport rides. Most guys that use GPS's for DS rides know how to use tracks and choose a GPS that handle tracks. You could create some general routes, but the limits on what every GPS can handle varies widely between GPS. Some only hold 30 pts, some 50pts. You are so much more limited on the number of pts, it really limits you.

I agree with a 9Dave that limiting your track logs to 500pts each would be a good start. With GPS Babel, you can split those 500's into 250's also which is what some of the older GPS's could store in their track log.

As for naming, you want to make each track pt unique. So just come with a naming convention were each track log as some characters and then numbers each one from say 1-500. Keep it under 8 characters just to be safe too.

Here's some examples.
TrckA001
TrckA....
TrckA500

TrckB001
TrckB....
TrckB500

Obviously, you can name them anything you want, but just keep them organized and unique and keeping that at 8 characters should keep any GPS's from cutting the name short.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 06:16 PM   #5
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,722
I think what 9Dave meant abut naming them correctly is the method of loading tracks into the active log of GPS units that have no (or limited) saved log memory. I believe you have to use all caps and a 3 digit number (ACTIVELOG001 for example). Not sure though.

Just FYI: The GPS V does take saved tracks - 10 tracks of up to 250 points each

huckleberry, the guys in the PN-40 thread may be able to help you more.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 06:23 PM   #6
Cannonshot
Having a Nice Time
 
Cannonshot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SE Wisconsin
Oddometer: 19,016
Huck,

If you draw up a draft of what you propose and send it to me via e-mail (PM for address), I'll go over it for you and explain what I did to get you what you want. There are too many things to talk about to try to address it in this thread. Happy to help. I'm sure some others would do the same. Always glad to see someone willing to work up a track for others to use.
Cannonshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 05:58 AM   #7
huckleberry OP
BACK ROAD BOMBER
 
huckleberry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N.E. Pa.
Oddometer: 1,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannonshot
Huck,

If you draw up a draft of what you propose and send it to me via e-mail (PM for address), I'll go over it for you and explain what I did to get you what you want. There are too many things to talk about to try to address it in this thread. Happy to help. I'm sure some others would do the same. Always glad to see someone willing to work up a track for others to use.
thanks for the help give me a bit and i'll try to find a couple tracks that will give you an idea of what i'm trying to do. the worst thing is going to be trimming down to 500 pts. as the pn saves about 10,000 points to a full track!
__________________
“An adventure is misery and discomfort, relived in the safety of reminiscence.” Marco Polo
09 F 650 GS twin
XR 400
Beta Techno
huckleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:50 AM   #8
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by huckleberry
thanks for the help give me a bit and i'll try to find a couple tracks that will give you an idea of what i'm trying to do. the worst thing is going to be trimming down to 500 pts. as the pn saves about 10,000 points to a full track!
CannonShot should definitely be able to help you. He's shared some awesome tracks and DS routes in the past and I love reading his ride reports.

Splitting track logs is not that hard and I'm sure CS will have some tricks up his sleeve.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 09:09 AM   #9
huckleberry OP
BACK ROAD BOMBER
 
huckleberry's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N.E. Pa.
Oddometer: 1,106
went back and checked the manuel and know how to trim down the tracks it was set for a point every 10 feet so i guess i have to set it down to get 500 in 50 miles so that won't be bad just have to get them to work with garmin easily
__________________
“An adventure is misery and discomfort, relived in the safety of reminiscence.” Marco Polo
09 F 650 GS twin
XR 400
Beta Techno
huckleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:42 AM   #10
intothenew
Briar Patch Navigator
 
intothenew's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Almost Heaven
Oddometer: 2,138
I leave my gps set to auto calculate the amount of points stored in a track. This allows for more detail in the ziggy sections while only adding a minimum in a stretch. I then allow mapsource to filter each track to less than 500 points before distributing. The filtering algorithm is smart enough to keep the detail where needed.

I also supply routes, direct routes or off road routes as some refer. Keep the via points to less than 250 per route.

If you manage the routes correctly, waypoints should not become a problem. Use VIA points as often as possible. I have one file that has 363 waypoints and have not heard of a problem. I would guess that you need to stay under 500, but that is only a guess.

Does a pn-40 have an auto calc for track logs? Does Delorme Topo 8 allow for track filtering and direct route via points? It's been a long time since I helt, felt, or smelt anything Delorme.
__________________
Momentum is your friend, and never trust a grapevine.

"For a boy,it was a kind of paradise.
I wasn't just playing Indian, I was living Indian."
intothenew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:48 AM   #11
projectsguy
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Oddometer: 1
GPS Tracks

I ride DS rides out west and find the rides by Countdown the best for GPS. Jerry has it down to an art. I just finished his Hi Desert 250 ride this weekend and the tracks were dead on. You can see a library of some of his public tracks at http://www.gpsxchange.com/ look under private libraries.

All of that said for naming if you break the ride into tracks for the way out, then the way back and by day. Example DS11, DS12, DS21, DS22. This would be dual sport day one, track one etc. This allows you to turn off and display only the track out. This is important if your ride crosses paths on the way out and back.

As someone else mentioned most DS people use a latter model Garmin and the tracks allow 500 points. So when you take a long track and optimize it to 500 points you lose detail. Having multiple tracks allows keeping more detail for navigation.

Hope this makes sense, good luck.
projectsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 09:36 AM   #12
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectsguy
As someone else mentioned most DS people use a latter model Garmin and the tracks allow 500 points. So when you take a long track and optimize it to 500 points you lose detail. Having multiple tracks allows keeping more detail for navigation.

Hope this makes sense, good luck.
+1 most GPS's can store multiple save tracks also, so for a long ride, I'd rather have several tracks each broken into 500pts each vs some trying to slim it down to one 500pt log and loose the detail you need.

I agree that leaving the GPS auto calc it is the best option and then just chop them up in 500 pt intervals and save those.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 06:49 PM   #13
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by huckleberry
went back and checked the manuel and know how to trim down the tracks it was set for a point every 10 feet so i guess i have to set it down to get 500 in 50 miles so that won't be bad just have to get them to work with garmin easily
Just load them into Mapsource and use the Filter function to reduce the number of points.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:07 PM   #14
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by huckleberry
went back and checked the manuel and know how to trim down the tracks it was set for a point every 10 feet so i guess i have to set it down to get 500 in 50 miles so that won't be bad just have to get them to work with garmin easily
If you have x model it makes like much easier.

I record as many points as possible (Auto Method and Most Often) in Active Log. An x will save it all every day. When I get home, I upload to PC and save, also edit tracks to perhaps make new route. My tracks for rides are all gas to gas. On Mex2Can and all my Dual Sport rides I use 500 points for gas to gas of about 100-130 miles works fine. There are times when more detail is needed and I have more than one 500 point track between gas but very rare.

To filter, I don't use Mapsource is will give you a lot less than 500 points when you want 500. If you name a track ACTIVE LOG and send it to an x, and then "Save", it will be exactly 500 points.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 05:35 AM   #15
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave
Just load them into Mapsource and use the Filter function to reduce the number of points.
He's on a Delorme PN40, so no MapSource.

.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by huckleberry
OK i need some help! i have topo 8 and a pn 40, am laying out a dual sport ride and want to create a track to share with anyone that shows up. what do i need to do to create a universal gpx i would guess so i will have min. problems? thanks in adv.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014