ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2010, 05:29 PM   #1
Emmbeedee OP
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,341
Mapsource is Updated - Version 6.15.11

MapSource software version 6.15.11 as of February 1, 2010

Change History:
Changes made from version 6.15.7 to 6.15.11:
Improved performance for custom draw elements.
Made sure waypoints of type 'Geotagged Photo' don't crash MapSource.
Allowed the import and export of unlock codes.
Made sure unlocking changes get propagated without needing to restart the application.
Phone numbers that were imported from gpx files were not written back out again. This is now fixed.
Added support for enhanced map security.
Fixed unlocking issue.
Implemented Asian 6-level address search.
Improved trimming performance for some Asian map products.

Here it is... http://www8.garmin.com/support/downl...ils.jsp?id=209
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 06:57 PM   #2
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,314
I would recommend you not install this "update" as it has not fixed the 3rd Party map unlocking bug that was created by the v6.15.9 update hidden in the CNNA 2010.4 update.

Use at your own risk...as Garmin would say.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 08:15 PM   #3
Emmbeedee OP
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK
I would recommend you not install this "update" as it has not fixed the 3rd Party map unlocking bug that was created by the v6.15.9 update hidden in the CNNA 2010.4 update.

Use at your own risk...as Garmin would say.
Is it a bug or an undocumented feature?

Worked just fine for me but then I don't have any 3rd party maps.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:17 PM   #4
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK
I would recommend you not install this "update" as it has not fixed the 3rd Party map unlocking bug that was created by the v6.15.9 update hidden in the CNNA 2010.4 update.

Use at your own risk...as Garmin would say.
Like no cost non Garmin Topos for example???
Twohondas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:22 PM   #5
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,314
This problem will only affect LOCKED 3rd Party Maps.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 09:49 PM   #6
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK
This problem will only affect LOCKED 3rd Party Maps.
Thanks - I should be ok then.........at least to try it on one PC.
Twohondas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 04:13 AM   #7
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee
Change History:
Changes made from version 6.15.7 to 6.15.11:
Allowed the import and export of unlock codes.
Made sure unlocking changes get propagated without needing to restart the application.
Added support for enhanced map security.
Fixed unlocking issue.
Implemented Asian 6-level address search.
Hope the import export feature allows storing your codes on your computer so you don't have to go back out to the site to unlock a product you already have a code for.

And just what is the "enhanced map security" about?



I really wish I could still run 6.13.7, but I'm screwed as I bought the map subscriptions.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:27 PM   #8
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave
Hope the import export feature allows storing your codes on your computer so you don't have to go back out to the site to unlock a product you already have a code for.

And just what is the "enhanced map security" about?



I really wish I could still run 6.13.7, but I'm screwed as I bought the map subscriptions.
They probably came up with a new algorithm for locking maps???
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 01:26 PM   #9
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,314
Yes, Garmin is changing their Locking schema in an attempt to stop illegal map use (their Unlock code has been hacked). I don't have any problem with Garmin enhancing their security as I believe they should be fairly compensated for their products.

The irritation is how inept their Software Engineers seem to be in making a smooth transition for their customers. I would prefer they spend more time TESTING the code before releasing it to customers.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 04:21 PM   #10
Iced Tea
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Iced Tea's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denison Texas
Oddometer: 158
I ran into this problem today, I updated Mapsource and my North American maps now my Bicimapas Mexico 2010 will not unlock! How can I fix this?
Iced Tea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 05:25 PM   #11
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,314
You cannot...either Garmin needs to fix MapSource or BiciMapas will have to create an update to deal with Garmin's changes...I know they are working on this with Garmin as best they can - as are the other 3rd Party map makers that sell Locked maps.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 06:34 PM   #12
Iced Tea
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Iced Tea's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denison Texas
Oddometer: 158
could I uninstall mapsource an reinstall older version from cd of city navigator 2008 at least them maybe I could use my Bicimapas............
Iced Tea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 06:59 PM   #13
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,314
Posting this too many places...but, go to this site and download the v6.15.7 patch. Run the patch and it should take you back to v6.15.7. BiciMapas should be OK then.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:23 PM   #14
Iced Tea
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Iced Tea's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Denison Texas
Oddometer: 158
Quote:
Posting this too many places...but, go to this site and download the v6.15.7 patch. Run the patch and it should take you back to v6.15.7. BiciMapas should be OK then.
Yes I know, but I was desperate I spent to much time on the phone with Garmin today with no solution.The patch seems to work, Mapsource says everything is unlocked, still don't see the Bicimapas Mexico on my 2820 yet, working on that. Thanks.
Iced Tea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:30 PM   #15
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,314
You should be able to select map tiles in the Atlas and send them if the product shows as Unlocked. Make sure you can see the map detail at street level.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014