User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-07-2010, 11:36 PM   #1
Luke wl. OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 261
Two 20something's, 2 BRP's and 2 Months

So I have sinned a little. I have been done with my first ride since October 31st, my 23rd birthday. And I am just now sitting down to write this.

I will set you up with the scenario. I just finished my BFA in Motion Graphics from the Savannah College of Art and Design. My name is Luke. My riding buddy/drinking partner/guy whos ass I whop in pool is named Jake. Jake and I have known each other since Junior High. We both grew up in SW florida and after highschool went our seperate ways. He went out to Colorado, and I went to savannah GA. He being a year older than I graduated before me and wanted a change of pace. So he signed on as a roughneck on a platform in the gulf of mexico... We would see each other periodically, mostly on his breaks since I was close to where he was stationed. One day he brought over his 1978 triumph bonneville and asked if he could store it/work on it in my garage for a few months. I said no problem. This is where the conversation started about a trip. Jump forward a few months, I had graduated and he had been laid off. The decision had been made and we decided on Dual sport as opposed to old bikes that break every day (this is our next ride). We began our adventure outside Brevard North Carolina, where the parentals were kind enough to let us work on the Hondas for a few weeks and get ready.

Our workspace.

Supplies.

This is us.

jake is on the right and i am on the left in green.

Day one.

We wanted to take it easy, since Jake was still very new to this bike, so we did a bit of trail riding in the past few weeks but decided to ride the blue ridge parkway up to his sisters on the virgina border.

a little 'character' introductions