ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2004, 12:26 PM   #1
rocks OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rocks's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: North Wales UK
Oddometer: 417
Why 276c not 2610..??

Having read a few ride reports and post on this site.. it seems there is a bit of an atlantic divide regarding GPS..

In the UK the 2610 is really popular.. but I see a lot of US riders pictures showing the 276c. Since the 276c is primarily a marine unit. How come you guys find it so popular..? Whats it got over the 2610, for you guys?
__________________
R1150GS - Manderin Yellow
Been here since 2004 feck!
rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 12:51 PM   #2
kirkmoon
Making up for lost youth
 
kirkmoon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 8,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocks
Having read a few ride reports and post on this site.. it seems there is a bit of an atlantic divide regarding GPS..

In the UK the 2610 is really popular.. but I see a lot of US riders pictures showing the 276c. Since the 276c is primarily a marine unit. How come you guys find it so popular..? Whats it got over the 2610, for you guys?
Big, beautiful screen which works well in direct sunlight. Very fast redraw. Has all the usual autorouting bells and whistles. Only real downside is the use of the proprietary (read expensive) Garmin memory chip.
__________________
Kirk Mn
kirkmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 01:13 PM   #3
spagthorpe
Beastly Adventurer
 
spagthorpe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 14,408
Don't forget the 276C has a battery as well, which makes it really handy to use off the bike....even if it's just hooking it up to the computer or messing with routes while having lunch.
spagthorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 05:23 PM   #4
sherpa
...Robert
 
sherpa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Oddometer: 3,175
The 2610 comes with power cord which plugs into any building outlet...use it while on the couch, at your computer, in the hotel room, etc....
__________________
Trebor Home Inspections


05 640 Adventure
08 KTM 250 XCFW

I'd trade all my motorcycles for one Flying Dragon.
sherpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 07:00 PM   #5
BurnieM
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherpa
The 2610 comes with power cord which plugs into any building outlet...use it while on the couch, at your computer, in the hotel room, etc....
On the side of the road ?
At a campsite ?
While hiking ?
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 07:25 PM   #6
edwyun
Gnarly Adventurer
 
edwyun's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Oddometer: 149
Take a look at both screens. While both are color and fairly large, the 276C uses a newer TFT screen, has better resolution, and can be seen in direct light.
__________________
Ride Safe,
Edward
'72 Ducati 750GT
'98 Ducati 900 SS/FE
IBA#18798
www.geocities.com/edwyun/index.html
edwyun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 07:32 PM   #7
DavidND
Studly Adventurer
 
DavidND's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Oddometer: 569
I like and have the 2610

for the cheap memory, touch screen, and software included.
DavidND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 07:40 PM   #8
Too Many Toys
Adventure Poseur
 
Too Many Toys's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Just off the Lincoln hiway in Ioway & Mesa, AZ
Oddometer: 1,200
I love my 276C, haven't used a 2610. Does the 2610 have a touch screen?

The 276C has a great screen, fast redraws, easy-to-use controls, etc. Couldn't ask for much more.
__________________
TMT
Too Many Toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 05:30 AM   #9
MuleTrain
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MuleTrain's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Oddometer: 280
This thread was the question I was afraid to ask; I am trying to decide between the 276 and the 2610/BMW Nav II.....one question; when planning a route can you select to use all back roads on both models?

Thank you,

Chris
MuleTrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 01:18 PM   #10
Roamin
Roamin Hands
 
Roamin's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Oddometer: 158
Which is best?

All good questions...is there one unit above the others, if price where not the issue? I want to use it on the bike for GeoCaching...for rallies...and general travel...ie from Alaska to a store downtown.
Roamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 03:23 PM   #11
TwoWheelExplorer
Livin' the dream
 
TwoWheelExplorer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: North Bend, WA
Oddometer: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstewart77
This thread was the question I was afraid to ask; I am trying to decide between the 276 and the 2610/BMW Nav II.....one question; when planning a route can you select to use all back roads on both models?

Thank you,

Chris
The BMW Nav II has the button controls in addition to the touchscreen that's standard for the 2610, right? Those aren't available in the aftermarket, and they seem to add a huge point in favor of the 2610. The 276c is supposed to be easier to use when moving ont he bike; the 2610's touchscreen is a nicer input when you can use all your attention for it.

I'm personally looking seriously at the 276c, but if the BMW Nav II were the same price, (or I could afford it), I'd buy that one. As it is, the 2610 is very attractive.
__________________

'08 FJR1300A, '93 Ducati 900SL | iShootYouLive(My Photos) | $5 Smugmug Coupon
"The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page." - St Augustine
TwoWheelExplorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 03:27 PM   #12
NJ_Bob
Occasional Adventurer
 
NJ_Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: EM12 (DFW)
Oddometer: 2,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstewart77
This thread was the question I was afraid to ask; I am trying to decide between the 276 and the 2610/BMW Nav II.....one question; when planning a route can you select to use all back roads on both models?

Thank you,

Chris
There is no "Back Roads Only" selection. But, you can select shortest distance, which will send you on some less travelled roads which in my case here in North Texas, works pretty well since major roads don't always go directly from pt a to pt b. If you're creative, you can select some intermediate destinations to force it off of the slab too.

Both of these recalculate so fast, that if you know where you can go, rather than where it might be directing you, you can force it to route you any way you want to go.

Effectively using a GPS for a pleasure ride takes some doing, and with experience, I think you can plan ahead and have it direct you wherever you want to ride.

You have to remember that these things are intended to help people get to their destination by either travelling less miles, or taking less time. Sometimes, we don't really want either!
__________________
Bob Naumann - W5OV - Sachse, TX - K1300GT - IBA #19100
NJ_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 07:36 AM   #13
MuleTrain
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MuleTrain's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Oddometer: 280
Thank you for the reply; I thought there was a feature on the BMW Nav II that you could select what type of roads to use going from Point A to Point B.....is that true?

Didn't know if that was also a feature with the 276 and/or 2610?

Thank you,

Chris
MuleTrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 07:58 AM   #14
HardBall
Adventurer
 
HardBall's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Mid-Missouri
Oddometer: 22
Another virtue of the 276C that I appreciate is the fact that it is water resistant. Mine has been through quite a bit of rain with no problem.
HardBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2004, 09:47 AM   #15
sherpa
...Robert
 
sherpa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Oddometer: 3,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstewart77
Thank you for the reply; I thought there was a feature on the BMW Nav II that you could select what type of roads to use going from Point A to Point B.....is that true?

Didn't know if that was also a feature with the 276 and/or 2610?

Thank you,

Chris
Sort of...there is a preferences menu that lets you adjust relative priority between local ,secondary or major roads...
__________________
Trebor Home Inspections


05 640 Adventure
08 KTM 250 XCFW

I'd trade all my motorcycles for one Flying Dragon.
sherpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014