ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2014, 07:37 PM   #1
rapidoxidationman OP
Easily trainable
 
rapidoxidationman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: The Teton Rockies
Oddometer: 8,079
Ethernet and new laptops

Picked up a shiny new Toshiba Satellite P55W a few weeks ago to replace my old laptop.

It doesn't have an ethernet jack.
Lots of new laptops don't have an ethernet jack.

I get it not having a DVD-R/W drawer: Flash drives are quickly making them obsolete. It's got WIFI (of course) and bluetooth (not sure when I'll use that), gobs of RAM and disk space, touch screen, and oooooohh a harman Kardon sound system that is underwhelming. No biggie, that's what external speakers are for. Hey, at least this computer costs less than one that has an apple logo on it.

But no ethernet jack??? WTF? How is one supposed to set up a new modem/router? By what arcane art does this shiny new laptop with most top fashion cutting edge quad core tech connect to an old WRT54G wifi router and turn it into a repeater?
__________________
Quote:
I know I'm feeling badly when I have no interest in speeding
Patrick
rapidoxidationman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 07:50 PM   #2
boredom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
boredom's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Adirondak
Oddometer: 125
Buy a real laptop. With a serial port.

boredom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 07:54 PM   #3
millican
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 102
There are USB ethernet adapters available.
Some hotels and airports have free internet if you have an ethernet cable. Sometimes, it's all that's available, free or otherwise.
millican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 07:59 PM   #4
rapidoxidationman OP
Easily trainable
 
rapidoxidationman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: The Teton Rockies
Oddometer: 8,079
Sure, I've got an ethernet cable.

Guess I need to get a USB>ethernet adapter

(I wonder how many cc's of space and how many pennies Toshiba saved by not putting in a jack on this $800 'puter...)
__________________
Quote:
I know I'm feeling badly when I have no interest in speeding
Patrick
rapidoxidationman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 08:05 PM   #5
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 11,735
Ouch. My Toshiba was $300 and came with an optical drive and an Ethernet port. 'course it's only an i3 and has plain 8 and not Pro, but not having the accessories would drive me a bit nuts.
troidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 10:36 PM   #6
spagthorpe
Beastly Adventurer
 
spagthorpe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 14,408
Get yourself a cheap Monoprice USB to Ethernet adapter. We use them all over the place at work, even on machines that have RJ45s on them. It makes it trivial to add interfaces, sniff packets on a machine, connect on a different network, etc.

I don't like this new dongle mentality either, but the market has spoken, and wants thinner/lighter laptops. I'd bet that the vast majority of laptop users connect via wifi exclusively, so dropping the jack just makes sense. Even on Apple's "Pro" models now, you need a dongle.
spagthorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 11:43 PM   #7
Jonnylotto
Kumbaya my ass
 
Jonnylotto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Sunnyvale
Oddometer: 14,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by spagthorpe View Post
Get yourself a cheap Monoprice USB to Ethernet adapter. We use them all over the place at work, even on machines that have RJ45s on them. It makes it trivial to add interfaces, sniff packets on a machine, connect on a different network, etc.

I don't like this new dongle mentality either, but the market has spoken, and wants thinner/lighter laptops. I'd bet that the vast majority of laptop users connect via wifi exclusively, so dropping the jack just makes sense. Even on Apple's "Pro" models now, you need a dongle.
Yep. It's not the dollars and cents, it's the space savings.

Besides, any admin worth his salt still has a hardwired rs-232 something in his bag-of-holding, along with a null modem and a breakout box. Because you never know when you might need to fix some old DoD kit in the upcoming zombie apocalypse.
__________________
I'm done.
Jonnylotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:27 AM   #8
spagthorpe
Beastly Adventurer
 
spagthorpe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 14,408
I have to say, in recent years I have found my USB logic analyzer gets used more and more.
spagthorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:27 AM   #9
Jonnylotto
Kumbaya my ass
 
Jonnylotto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Sunnyvale
Oddometer: 14,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by spagthorpe View Post
I have to say, in recent years I have found my USB logic analyzer gets used more and more.
Intellectually, I know you're right.

But I still can't throw away my Dsub9 gender benders.
__________________
I'm done.
Jonnylotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:20 PM   #10
AkBrian
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Oddometer: 10,560
It really doesn't require much space or thickness for a RJ45 port. I rather look at an "ugly" RJ45 port than have to worry about losing a dongle. Being a Linux guy, I'll just go ahead and assume that the "dongle" has some closed source driver that makes it a pain in the ass in Linux. Where I have choice, I'd rather be hardwired than on WiFi.
__________________
Solve the World's problems with your spare CPU cycles.
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org
AkBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:01 PM   #11
troidus
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 11,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkBrian View Post
It really doesn't require much space or thickness for a RJ45 port. I rather look at an "ugly" RJ45 port than have to worry about losing a dongle.
Never mind that a dongle is a great lever for prying a port out of a motherboard. The magnetic power cord plugs on the Macbooks are a bit of brilliance that I wish other manufacturers could/would use.
troidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:21 PM   #12
McNeal
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Oddometer: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkBrian View Post
It really doesn't require much space or thickness for a RJ45 port. I rather look at an "ugly" RJ45 port than have to worry about losing a dongle. Being a Linux guy, I'll just go ahead and assume that the "dongle" has some closed source driver that makes it a pain in the ass in Linux. Where I have choice, I'd rather be hardwired than on WiFi.
I wonder how much the regulatory bodies might impact the decision to add a port like the RJ45. In today's world one must have a USB port. The RJ45 for ethernet, not so much. At least years ago when watching systems going through the process each added port was an additional hurdle for compliance. Of course, it could also be a simple issue of cost.
McNeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM   #13
ttpete
Rectum Non Bustibus
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Dearborn, MI
Oddometer: 5,313
Modern routers don't require an ethernet cable for setup. Most new laptops are set up so that you click on the router's signal icon and then press a button on the router to make the connection. Then you just use the correct IP address to access the router on wi-fi.
__________________
10 Ducati 1098 Streetfighter S - "Sleipnir"
09 Kaw Versys
67 Triumph Bonneville TT Special
"The problem with Socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money" _____ Margaret Thatcher
ttpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:46 PM   #14
fahrenheit
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Oddometer: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by troidus View Post
The magnetic power cord plugs on the Macbooks are a bit of brilliance that I wish other manufacturers could/would use.
fahrenheit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014