ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 09:34 PM   #1501
SaharaJp99
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Nunn
Oddometer: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by radon222 View Post
Just a heads with the Cardo BTAs. They do work ok but you will have to go through the pairing process every time you power up the up the Sena.
Why would that be? The manual on the BTA says it remembers a pairing, and I know the Sena does. Why when powered up wouldn't they pair up automatically?
SaharaJp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 10:11 PM   #1502
FireIdiot
Lost in translation
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Oddometer: 82
I have the earbud clamp mount on my helmet for about 2 months. It now is very intermittent with the audio and the jack is loose. I assume from setting my helmet on flat surfaces. Anyone else had this issue? I wonder if Sena will warranty it ?
FireIdiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 02:29 AM   #1503
radon222
1150GS-ADV
 
radon222's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Va Beach, VA
Oddometer: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaharaJp99 View Post
Why would that be? The manual on the BTA says it remembers a pairing, and I know the Sena does. Why when powered up wouldn't they pair up automatically?

I have to apologize... it was the Camos BTA that I tried and had re-pair constantly, not the Cardo. Maybe I'll give the Cardo a try too
__________________
'05 R1150GS Adv
'12 R1200RT (Wifey's bike)
radon222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:30 AM   #1504
SaharaJp99
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Nunn
Oddometer: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireIdiot View Post
I have the earbud clamp mount on my helmet for about 2 months. It now is very intermittent with the audio and the jack is loose. I assume from setting my helmet on flat surfaces. Anyone else had this issue? I wonder if Sena will warranty it ?

Yes and yes, on my 3rd earbud clamp mount. They will warranty them. I can't believe they haven't re-designed them yet.
SaharaJp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:52 AM   #1505
AlecMyrddyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Saco, Maine USA
Oddometer: 207
For anyone who had the Intercom dropping problem since upgrading to 4.0: my 4/17 update to 4.0 seems to have done the trick. Took a nice ride this weekend with my girlfriend, and the Intercom ran the whole trip, never dropped once.

My final comments to Sena on the support case included a copy of the 4.0 file I downloaded on 4/4 to prove to them they have released different versions of the firmware under the same file name. So far, no response.

-Alec
AlecMyrddyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:20 AM   #1506
Ohio_Danimal
Midlife Crisis Man
 
Ohio_Danimal's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio (The Crooked River)
Oddometer: 589
I have read here where some Inmates had issues getting the SMH10 bracket to mount nice and flush to RF1100's and similar FF helmets due to the curvature on the helmet not matching the bracket and clip, etc. Not wanting the Sena mount to be distorted in any way to ensure a nice smooth fit of the unit on the mount.

I have just ordered a Sena SMH10 to replace the $40 Chinese Cardo Scala clone I have been using (that acts up so intermittantly I had to pull the trigger on a Sena) And here is what I did to mount my last unit.

I eliminated the entire screw or stick on bracket and simply used some Sugru silicone to stick the sucker in place. It hasn't budged in a year and is still as solid as the day the Sugru hardened.

This also mean there is no inner 'clip" to reduce the helmet opening slightly, causing issues with it hitting your ear when taking the helmet off. The Sugru fill all voids well so it has less windnoise as well.

As soon as my Sena arrives I will post a brief how-to. IIRC it only took one 5g packet of Sugru to do it.
__________________
Wisdom is age well spent.

Anger is age, hell bent.
Ohio_Danimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:05 PM   #1507
mpenner
Heavy Cruiser
 
mpenner's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Centerburg, OH
Oddometer: 779
BT Dongle with A2DP for Satellite radio

Has anyone used a BT transmitter plugged into the audio jack of a satellite radio to connect with the SMH-10 that they would recommend?
__________________
Mike

2001 KLR 650
2003 V-Strom DL1000
mpenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:09 PM   #1508
radon222
1150GS-ADV
 
radon222's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Va Beach, VA
Oddometer: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpenner View Post
Has anyone used a BT transmitter plugged into the audio jack of a satellite radio to connect with the SMH-10 that they would recommend?

Just last week I tried out an IMC Camos BTA with Zumo 550 with XM30. The bluetooth portion worked great once I discovered I had to turn down the master volume in the Zumo to alleviate some distortion/interference.

However, I ended up sending it back because it wouldn't retain its pairing. Any time I cycled the power on the Sena, meant having to go through the Media Select pairing. EVERY TIME.
__________________
'05 R1150GS Adv
'12 R1200RT (Wifey's bike)
radon222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:24 PM   #1509
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,728
I started with a Schoshe BT transmitter on the audio output of my GPS which also had XM. It worked great, but after a year decided not to turn on one day. Now I have one of those cheapy ones off ebay labeled as A2DP Bluetooth transmitter that you can find for under $20 and it works great. If I get a year out of it, I'll be happy. Best thing is they use a mini-usb charger to charge and I already had a ton of those plugs so its easy to charge on the bike when I need to.

__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R, 01 FZ1,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:16 PM   #1510
Macho Man2
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Corryton,Tn
Oddometer: 58
Upgrade

I have been trying to upgrade my SMH10 to the new 4.0 upgrade and when I click on the new 4.0 link my computer comes up NOT Implemented/ 404 not found... error. Can anyone tell me what to do.. I got a reply from Kim with sena but it still doesn't work.

Bill
Macho Man2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 05:02 AM   #1511
levain
STILL Jim Williams
 
levain's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 6,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaharaJp99 View Post
Yes and yes, on my 3rd earbud clamp mount. They will warranty them. I can't believe they haven't re-designed them yet.
Had mine since they came out. 2 years now. Never had a problem, and I'm hard on my stuff.
__________________
Click Here!
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
2008 Yamaha WR250R
1971 Lambretta DL
levain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 05:58 AM   #1512
AlecMyrddyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Saco, Maine USA
Oddometer: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macho Man2 View Post
I have been trying to upgrade my SMH10 to the new 4.0 upgrade and when I click on the new 4.0 link my computer comes up NOT Implemented/ 404 not found... error. Can anyone tell me what to do.. I got a reply from Kim with sena but it still doesn't work.

Bill
Bill,

If you go directly to http://www.senabluetooth.com/support...d_document.php does it work?

-Alec
AlecMyrddyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:15 AM   #1513
Macho Man2
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Corryton,Tn
Oddometer: 58
Update

No it still doesn't work same thing comes up every time, I'm calling sena right now... hoping for a fix.

Bill
Macho Man2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:30 AM   #1514
danham
Gnarly Adventurer
 
danham's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Oddometer: 267
Bill,

Have you cleared your browser cache?

-dan
__________________
2009 BMW F800 ST
Never let your motorcycle take you where your brain hasn't been five seconds earlier.
danham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:50 AM   #1515
SaharaJp99
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Nunn
Oddometer: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Williams View Post
Had mine since they came out. 2 years now. Never had a problem, and I'm hard on my stuff.
Lucky you. This is a known problem with the ear bud mounts. Mine last abou 4-6 months before they break. I'm not the only one experiencing this.
SaharaJp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014