ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2012, 10:25 PM   #1756
FireIdiot
Lost in translation
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Oddometer: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by cforce View Post
Have any of you guys had problems with the 0303 base breaking here:


I've sold a few that needed replacing not long after the customer purchased it. My brother is up in Alaska on a trip from AL and his failed in that spot also. I'm sending a replacement to a friend in Canada for him to use the rest of the way back.
Mine failed at that point as well. It's not a great design. I really hope they update it soon.

Now my problem is I cannot find my SMH10, it's gotta be around the house, but I'm going on two weeks without it and putting earbuds to my phone sucks.
FireIdiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:00 AM   #1757
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoBiker View Post
Yeap. Not a very good design. First one broke, got Sena to replace it, but it broke Day #1 of a 4 Day tour so I had to wait until after I got back to replace it.

My daughter's is failing right now, we spend more time screwing with the damn thing than we do riding almost. It's not all that safe to have her messing around with the boom trying to get sound while riding.

I read out on Amazon that as of June 2012 there is a replacement baseplate with a new design that is supposed to fix this problem of it breaking/loosening.

I wound up using JB Weld on my second plate on my helmet and it was fine for a year, it started cutting out recently so I might have to look into another replacement.
The newest clamp kits have a flexible earbud socket. These started to show up as early as units manufactured in February 2012, but we were getting a mix of older and newer one's from our supplier. The one's were getting in the last week or so, are the newer one's.
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:59 AM   #1758
PhotoBiker
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketMoto View Post
The newest clamp kits have a flexible earbud socket. These started to show up as early as units manufactured in February 2012, but we were getting a mix of older and newer one's from our supplier. The one's were getting in the last week or so, are the newer one's.
Thanks Adam,

Not sure the flexible piece will last unless they also changed out the wiring underneath (there was no slack in the leads so they actually broke first).

We had to use the 3M two-sided tape to mount my daughter's baseplate on her helmet (the one with the failing earbud). Any idea on how to remove this to replace it? It's only been on for a few months, this stuff is pretty sticky.

Did you see my other question, do the new units have sidetone? That would probably be a tipping point for me to upgrade the original units.
__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:44 AM   #1759
8thdwarf
perfect,just perfect
 
8thdwarf's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Ventura Co. CA
Oddometer: 123
does anyone out there know the difference between the models of Sena SMH10, SMH10D and SMH10D-10?
8thdwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:56 AM   #1760
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8thdwarf View Post
does anyone out there know the difference between the models of Sena SMH10, SMH10D and SMH10D-10?
From best I can tell, the D stands for "dual" and you'll see it on a dual pack. When I search for SMH10 vs SMH10-10, it appears the -10 is what they are using to indicate it has v4.0 software which has BT 3.0 on it.

So basically.

SMH10 = single pack older model, although probably still the later USB upgrabable model.

SMH10D = dual pack.

-10 behind any of these = latest v4.0 software featuring BT 3.0.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:40 PM   #1761
8thdwarf
perfect,just perfect
 
8thdwarf's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Ventura Co. CA
Oddometer: 123
thx for the info....
8thdwarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:48 AM   #1762
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoBiker View Post
Thanks Adam,

We had to use the 3M two-sided tape to mount my daughter's baseplate on her helmet (the one with the failing earbud). Any idea on how to remove this to replace it? It's only been on for a few months, this stuff is pretty sticky.

Did you see my other question, do the new units have sidetone? That would probably be a tipping point for me to upgrade the original units.
Heat the base plate for about 20 seconds with a hair dryer or heat gun. Use a piece of fishing line and 'saw through' the adhesive with a back and forth motion. Then roll off the remaining adheive with your fingers, ad clean the surface with WD-40 to remove any remaining adhesive.

Sidetone... not really - unless the unit is malfunctioning.
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:54 AM   #1763
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8thdwarf View Post
does anyone out there know the difference between the models of Sena SMH10, SMH10D and SMH10D-10?
SMH10-01 - singe headset kit (original non-upgradable version)
SMH10D-01 - dual headset kit (original non-upgradable version)

SMH10-01B - singe headset kit (upgradable USB version)
SMH10D-01B - dual headset kit (upgradable USB version)


SMH10-10 - latest USB version single headset kit, 4.0 firmware, no wall charger
SMH10D-10 - latest USB version dual headset kit, 4.0 firmware, no wall chargers
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 04:12 AM   #1764
PhotoBiker
Please insert title here
 
PhotoBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketMoto View Post
Heat the base plate for about 20 seconds with a hair dryer or heat gun. Use a piece of fishing line and 'saw through' the adhesive with a back and forth motion. Then roll off the remaining adheive with your fingers, ad clean the surface with WD-40 to remove any remaining adhesive.

Sidetone... not really - unless the unit is malfunctioning.
Thanks all around.

I stumbled upon the Sena Forum and am voicing my opinion on sidetone. They add sidetone and I will upgrade off the original units.

I haven't heard back from them on my problem unit. I don't intend to take a heat gun to my daughter's helmet until I have the replacement in hand as we have an upcoming tour and the solution we have now at least works 30 - 40% of the time.
__________________
-=Glen=-
[Current]
'10 R1200GS
'06 Ninja 250
Check out my Gallery
PhotoBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 01:37 PM   #1765
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoBiker View Post
Thanks all around.

I stumbled upon the Sena Forum and am voicing my opinion on sidetone. They add sidetone and I will upgrade off the original units.

I haven't heard back from them on my problem unit. I don't intend to take a heat gun to my daughter's helmet until I have the replacement in hand as we have an upcoming tour and the solution we have now at least works 30 - 40% of the time.
Glen:
I would call them on the phone - the several times I have called I've received a quick solution.
E-mail response seems a bit drawn out ...
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 02:46 PM   #1766
wingwing
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 119
Just want to post a BIG plug (atta -boy; kudo etc..) for RocketMoto.

They are GREAT to do business with.

One of my "new" SMH10's quit working while we were on extended vacation in N.C.
I called RocketMoto and explained our plight. (bent pin)

They over nighted a loaner unit to the motel we were staying at so we could continue our vacation.

GREAT SERVICE... FIRST CLASS all the way. !!

Thank you and will certainly make all my future purchases there.

Dennis
aka wingwing
http://www.fogbog.com

wingwing screwed with this post 07-19-2012 at 04:37 PM
wingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:50 AM   #1767
bherman
Ærn æærrrn!
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Nårrvæj
Oddometer: 12
Tomtom Go Live bluetooth not connecting

Bought a second hand Tomtom Go Live 120 because it had bluetooth.
Didn't know how to connect the Sena to a gps (read the manual after i got back home, same as for a phone), so i did not get to test it before i bought the unit.
On the gps there is only an option for searching for a phone, not headset and the gps cannot find the Sena.
There goes the benefit of hearing the instructions :(

Most annoying of all is that i'm leaving today on vacation...

Any others have any experience with this gps and succesfully connected to the Sena?
bherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:48 AM   #1768
MJS
Beastly Adventurer
 
MJS's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Oddometer: 1,801
Per the Sena manual, you need a motorcycle specific GPS. (PS - I'm not famaliar with your model GPS)

The issue with the auto GPS bluetooth is that the GPS acts only as a headset for the phone. The auto GPS is not designed to transmit to a remote headset (the Sena unit). If you have audio out on the GPS you could try one of the bluetooth transmitters that are designed to plug into an mp3 player.
__________________
"You can follow me, but it's gonna hurt"
MJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:18 AM   #1769
Pete O Static
Adventure Seeker
 
Pete O Static's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJS View Post
........ If you have audio out on the GPS you could try one of the bluetooth transmitters that are designed to plug into an mp3 player.
I did that with my Garmin Montana. The only issue is that most BT Dongles these days are using the AD2P profile, so for me at least, if I use the dongle on the GPS audio out jack, I cannot pair to another Mp3 player, such as my iphone because of profile conflict. The GPS commands and phone work fine. So I guess you will need to make a choice as to which profile you are willing to give up ( phone or music ) and get a profile specific BT dongle. A nice solution to all of that of course would be adding the Sena SR10 or SM10.
__________________
"The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that you don't really know if they are accurate" - Thomas Edison-
Pete O Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:59 PM   #1770
bherman
Ærn æærrrn!
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Nårrvæj
Oddometer: 12
Thanks for the answers guys.

Dang, how typical of me to not check properly beforehand :(

Oh well, guess i'll be using my phone as gps then.
bherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014