ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 05:45 PM   #2011
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Sigh, you know. After seeing what others went and go through trying to update this POS I don't know why I decided to do this. Well, I do, it was to fix some bluetooth bugs. Anyways, I try to update and after going through hell to get Windows 7 64bit ver to recognize the darn thing, now it is stopping at 12% and going no further. Has anyone else had this problem? How do you fix it? Use Windows XP?
Windows XP works fine and reliably. I keep windows XP on my little netbook and that's what I update them with.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:18 PM   #2012
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
... Use Windows XP?
That's what I have done and it has always worked flawlessly ... I'm just not up for a fight...............
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:45 PM   #2013
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 3,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Sigh, you know. After seeing what others went and go through trying to update this POS I don't know why I decided to do this. Well, I do, it was to fix some bluetooth bugs. Anyways, I try to update and after going through hell to get Windows 7 64bit ver to recognize the darn thing, now it is stopping at 12% and going no further. Has anyone else had this problem? How do you fix it? Use Windows XP?
me too. Windows 7 64 bit. It recognizes it, starts to climb up the scale, then stops.
Tech support said "it must be a Dell thing".
So I continue to use my Eee machine which is XP.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:50 PM   #2014
Dirt Diver
Dirty Adventurer
 
Dirt Diver's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Tasmania
Oddometer: 1,060
Works fine on mine (Win7 64).
__________________
12 R1200GS Triple Black - Fulfilling my every need!
09 F800GS - Sold
07 GSA Sold and missed.
01 VFR800 Sold and missed.
Adventurers like it dirty!
Dirt Diver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:49 PM   #2015
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden View Post
That's what I have done and it has always worked flawlessly ... I'm just not up for a fight...............
Yeah, I went and used my garage WinXP machine and it worked first time. Figures.
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:09 AM   #2016
RocketMoto
2 Many Motersikles
 
RocketMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: New Haamsha, USA
Oddometer: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by TowPro View Post
Pair of SMH10's and One SR10 with a Montana GPS plugged into it.

Last weekend everything worked perfect. We road all day with intercom turned on (and connected), when GPS needed to say something, SR10 took priority and I can hear the montana perfectly (just like it always works) when we got back I charged everything without removing the SMH10's from the helmet.

This weekend same setup, only now with intercom turned on (and connected) when SR10 takes priroty the sound from the Montana is so distorted I can barely understand what the voice says.
Now get this; If I tap the jog dial to turn the intercom off, the GPS voice sounds perfect.
What changed? During the day I rebooted everything several times and nothing fixed this problem.
The same distoration no matter if I was running a Route made in Basecamp, or if it was a route generated on the Montana. I even tried to switch inputs to the SR10.
Are the SR10 and the Montana powered from the bike, or from internal batteries? If both powered from the bike, try running on internal batteries, or at least one of the two on internal battery.

Did you try doing a 'fault reset'? Power on the SMH10, and gently press a paper clip into the small hole on the back of the main BT module to reset.

If that doesn't help, I'd try doing a factory reset on the SMH10's and the SR10, and the re-pair the devices and see if that helps. The world of Bluetooth - ain't it fun? No wires does not mean 'no problems', just no wires...
__________________
=Adam=
Like us on Facebook -- Follow us on Twitter
PM us for your *personal* ADVRider discount code to use at RocketMoto.com
Autocom | TPX Radar/Laser | Sena Bluetooth
| Hi-Power LED Lights
Shorai Battery | Techmount | Powerlet | Rowe PDM60 | Skene Design


RocketMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 06:11 AM   #2017
danham
Gnarly Adventurer
 
danham's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Oddometer: 268
What Adam said, plus try cleaning the SMH10 contacts. I have on occasion had all kinds of audio problems, including exactly this kind of distortion, due to fairly tiny amounts of crud on the contacts. I'm assuming Adam's advice about running on battery is to eliminate ground loops and it occurs to me that a dirty pin can create one.

-dan
__________________
2009 BMW F800 ST
Never let your motorcycle take you where your brain hasn't been five seconds earlier.
danham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:58 AM   #2018
wingwing
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 119
A $10 ground loop eliminator from eBay fixed all the weird problems on my goldwing.

Dennis
EMFB
wingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:26 AM   #2019
TowPro
Getting there
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Compass PA
Oddometer: 3,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by danham View Post
What Adam said, plus try cleaning the SMH10 contacts. I have on occasion had all kinds of audio problems, including exactly this kind of distortion, due to fairly tiny amounts of crud on the contacts. I'm assuming Adam's advice about running on battery is to eliminate ground loops and it occurs to me that a dirty pin can create one.

-dan
The SR10 is battery powered, so it's not a ground loop.

I will try to clean the contacts as well. The only thing that was different is a new rear tire, and I washed the bike between rides (washed it so the rear tire was not so dirty when I changed it). The SMH10's, or the SR10 was not near the bike when I washed it, and the Montana rugged mount had the rubber cover on the contacts when washing. But the wash job was Tuesday night, the tire was changed Wed night, and the audio problem was Saturday.

Keep in mind, the strange part of the problem is if I turn of the intercom, this problem goes away and the GPS voice is normal again.
__________________
2014 R1200GS - My Naked Street Touring Bike
2000 KTM LC4 640 E - For everything else
TowPro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:45 AM   #2020
danham
Gnarly Adventurer
 
danham's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Oddometer: 268
@TowPro:

My SR10 and SMH10 are also internal battery-powered, but my Valentine 1 and zumo 600 are bike powered, so they can introduce the noise into the whole system, especially because they plug directly into the SR10 in my setup.

One reason that these problems show up with the intercom in play is that intercom uses up some of Bluetooth's bandwidth and what is left my not be enough to carry clean audio to your helmet. Whenever I have the distortion problem, tapping the dial and killing intercom fixes it, just as in your case. And I've noticed that a two-rider intercom call is less likely to cause the problem than three, adding some more support for the bandwidth theory.

Depending on the Montana cradle, you might clean its contacts too, especially considering the wash aspect. Deoxit works wonders.

-dan
__________________
2009 BMW F800 ST
Never let your motorcycle take you where your brain hasn't been five seconds earlier.
danham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:26 PM   #2021
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,587
Ok, just a side question. From what I can gather. The SR10 is a device that I can pair multiple things to and then pair it to the Sena for greater expandability, correct?

Another question. If I have my phone paired to the Sena SMH10 using the A2DP for phone and music. If I get a bluetooth music mp3 player, can I pair it to the Sena with the phone still paired under A2DP?
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:35 PM   #2022
danham
Gnarly Adventurer
 
danham's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Oddometer: 268
The SR10 is a BT hub whose primary function is to allow devices which lack BT (or whose BT you want to shut off for other reasons) to connect to your SMH10 via HFP (low bandwidth, mono). You plug those devices, such as a radar detector or two-way radio, into the SR10 via hardwire. Yes, you can pair a "dumb" phone (HFP only) to the SR10, but that doesn't really give you "expandability" with your SMH10 because you still need an HFP slot to pair the SR10 with the SMH10, just as if you paired the phone directly to it. I don't think you can pair more than one phone to the SR10. You can plug one 2-way radio and two devices into it by wire.

The SMH10 will accommodate two HFP profiles and one A2DP, so the "smart" phone/music pairing in your second question uses up the one A2DP slot, at which point the music player will not connect.

The new SM10 hub might do this, but I have no experience with it.

-dan
__________________
2009 BMW F800 ST
Never let your motorcycle take you where your brain hasn't been five seconds earlier.
danham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:19 PM   #2023
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by danham View Post
@TowPro:

tapping the dial and killing intercom fixes it, just as in your case ... -dan
How do you kill the intercom?

If you do not have your SMH10 paired with any other SMH10 units (paired only to an iPhone for example) is this an issue?

Thanks,
Jim
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:53 AM   #2024
danham
Gnarly Adventurer
 
danham's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Oddometer: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden View Post
How do you kill the intercom?

If you do not have your SMH10 paired with any other SMH10 units (paired only to an iPhone for example) is this an issue?

Thanks,
Jim
Sorry, by "kill" I simply mean tapping the jog dial to end the intercom call. As long as no intercom call is happening, no distortion, so I've never tried un-pairing in addition.

However, on one occasion I got distortion with no other riders anywhere near me and that was definitely caused by crud on the cradle pins of my zumo. I cleaned them right there by the side of the road and all was well.

-dan
__________________
2009 BMW F800 ST
Never let your motorcycle take you where your brain hasn't been five seconds earlier.
danham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:15 AM   #2025
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,587
Ok, so no phone paired with A2DP and a separate music player. Is it possible to take my phone and just pair it with phone use only and then a separate music player?
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014