ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2014, 03:17 PM   #1
miron721 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Oddometer: 6
DR650 Upgraded stator woes

I bought a Suzuki DR650 pretty recently, only got about 2700 miles on it or so. No engine mods to speak of, but after getting a heated jacket and some auxiliary lights, I needed some extra electrical power. I got a larger stator from procycle for Christmas, and I figured it'd be easy enough to put in with the service manual.

Popped off the left cover, unbolted the old one, bolted in the new one, and put it back together. Now, it's making a very concerning noise. I'm pretty sure I put the gears back in properly, it starts OK but it sounds to me like the starter isn't disengaging. It's definitely coming from either the starter or the gears.

Since describing a noise via text is pretty much useless, I recorded a video. I started it, no choke, then hit the choke so it'd actually run since it was cold. It's that little clicky flappy noise, happens every rotation. Sounds like I've got a baseball card over the exhaust or something.
http://youtu.be/pS_RoAqmgmc

The torque limiter has both washers in place, but the shaft kinda springs outwards. I'm hoping this is normal. The only other thing I can think of is if the new gasket is slightly too large, and is rubbing against the torque limiter teeth. I haven't taken it apart yet to check though.

Any ideas?
miron721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:21 PM   #2
GypsyWriter
Sarah
 
GypsyWriter's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Hanford CA
Oddometer: 1,414
__________________
2012 R1200GS Rallye - Gypsy
2003 R1150GSA with DMC sidecar
Ask A Self-Publisher
Quote:
Originally Posted by FotoTEX View Post
Life is dangerous. Not doing what you love makes life even more dangerous...
GypsyWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:22 PM   #3
miron721 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Oddometer: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyWriter View Post
Thanks, I tried that a bunch of times but couldn't get it to work. The "switch to editor mode" button doesn't seem to show up for me.
miron721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 05:48 PM   #4
bobzilla
Dirty Old Man
 
bobzilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Lost & Found again in the Great Basin
Oddometer: 875
that aint right...take it back apart and look at everything
__________________
Ride the DEZ
05 FE 550 Husaberg plated
08 FE 650 Husaberg plated
01 DR Frankenbike 650
76 CB750
bobzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 05:49 PM   #5
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobzilla View Post
that aint right...take it back apart and look at everything
+1 if it didnt do that before,it shouldnt do it now.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 06:23 PM   #6
TrophyHunter
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,946
if something obvious doesn't show up quickly, call PC. I've had good service and whatever happened probably happened to a customer before. Might be the quickest solution.
__________________
www.dualsportmoto.com
2005 DR650 2003 DRZ-250
2013 HD Road King '73 Hodaka Wombat

"It's a small amount of gas, but it represents a long walk" My Dad...
TrophyHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 09:50 PM   #7
miron721 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Oddometer: 6
I finally had some time to take the bike apart, and I think I've found the issue. It wasn't the gasket.

I think it was the new stator rubbing against the generator rotor. There's some scratches on the outside of the stator, as well as some marks on the inside of the rotor. No markings on the old stator, and I'm not sure if the rotor had the marks before. I regret not taking "before" pictures.

Here's some scratches on the new stator, they go all the way around:


The old one for comparison:


And the inside of the rotor:


So, this probably isn't supposed to happen. Any way I can fix it? The only thing I can think of is filing down a tiny bit off the edges of the stator, but that's probably not a good idea. Anything else I can do?
miron721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 10:40 PM   #8
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 5,459
Contact ProCycle and send him these pics, or tell him they're here.
__________________
2004 DR650: 61,211 miles
2013 WR250R

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:42 AM   #9
strongbad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Oddometer: 480
There may be enough slop in the bolts that fasten the stator down that you can loosen them and re-position the stator. Tolerances between the stator and rotor are pretty tight.
strongbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:07 AM   #10
_cy_
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 5,587
sorry but this is an operator error .. you should have checked to make sure rotating parts are not touching before closing up. if holes provided doesn't give enough room to clear rotor. make sure shellac is not plugging up hole. call mfg for permission before drilling out hole or return to mfg for a refund.

make sure your R/R will handle increased output. shunting regulators are rated by wattage it can handle.
_cy_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 02:45 PM   #11
miron721 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Oddometer: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongbad View Post
There may be enough slop in the bolts that fasten the stator down that you can loosen them and re-position the stator. Tolerances between the stator and rotor are pretty tight.
I thought of that,but the scratches go all the way around the stator,leading me to believe that it's either a uniform fit or there's a part on the rotor sticking out.
miron721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 02:50 PM   #12
miron721 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Oddometer: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by _cy_ View Post
sorry but this is an operator error .. you should have checked to make sure rotating parts are not touching before closing up. if holes provided doesn't give enough room to clear rotor. make sure shellac is not plugging up hole. call mfg for permission before drilling out hole or return to mfg for a refund.

make sure your R/R will handle increased output. shunting regulators are rated by wattage it can handle.
I should have verified that it fit first, you're right. But what do you mean about the shellac? Plugging up the bolt holes? And you mean drilling out new bolt holes? There's zero play in the mount, before I bolted it down it hardly rotated. Plus the uniform scratching makes me think something on the rotor is sticking out more, or it's a very close fit
miron721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 06:10 PM   #13
sandwash
Beastly Adventurer
 
sandwash's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Flagstaff Az
Oddometer: 1,270
As others have said,get with the shop you bought it from and show the pic's.Something is not right.
__________________
97dr650
sandwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 07:35 AM   #14
OKlr
Youtube whore
 
OKlr's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Ponca City Oklahoma
Oddometer: 764
any new update on this i'm curious.
OKlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:49 PM   #15
miron721 OP
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Oddometer: 6
Sorry, forgot to update.

So I contacted ProCycle, and they offered to take it back to check it. I sent it back, they said it looked fine, and sent me one back. I don't think it was the same one, it didn't seem to have the scratches on the outside anymore.

I put it in, spun the motor, and it worked perfectly. No noise, no weird movements, no shavings in the oil or anything.

A couple thousand miles later, no issues to report. I'm pretty happy I can run both my offroad lights and my heated jacket now, though.
miron721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014