ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2004, 03:38 AM   #16
rallybug
Local Yokel
 
rallybug's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: North Salt Lake, UT
Oddometer: 8,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicorn
Here in the UK, water speed and depth would be pretty useful right now :-(

Yep I have a stick on thermometer too - just thought it might be nice to have a record of it in the track log.

--
Mike
Wind speed too, from what I heard on the radio this morning - 80mph gusts
Got family around Exeter (I'm from Somerset originally), so hope they're not waterlogged.
__________________
Ben

My Ride Reports
rallybug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 08:45 AM   #17
Marc
Just sayin...
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: PNW
Oddometer: 8,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbski
How did you mount your gps to your bike?
Read this thread



This thing just plain works.

Marc
__________________
[i]"I mean, really ... when you get right down to it, does a man need anything much more than bacon
Marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 07:34 AM   #18
Unicorn OP
'99 Triumph Sprint ST
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Devon UK
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM

Are you sure it can record it ?
My understanding is that it would display it but not record it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicorn
Possibly not in the track log (at the moment) but I would expect to see it recorded in waypoint records. I'd better ask before I spend any money ;-)


--
Mike
Garmin have just realsed a beta version of the OS for the 276C v 2.93b
http://www.garmin.com/support/agree.jsp?id=622

This enables Temperature and Altitude logging in the Track. What is more it is actually saved when the track is saved on the unit. However, the field "Water Temperature" is not available to display in Automotive mode. I have emailed the beta response email address and asked for this to be added ...
__________________
--
Mike
http://www.sprint-st.org/

Unicorn screwed with this post 11-04-2004 at 07:56 AM
Unicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 06:19 PM   #19
Unicorn OP
'99 Triumph Sprint ST
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Devon UK
Oddometer: 10
I said I'd report back - but I didn't expect the interval to be so long. I succeeded in achieving my goal of reconding air temperature with my track log.

http://www.sprint-st.org/tours/spain_2005_index.html

shows the result.
__________________
--
Mike
http://www.sprint-st.org/
Unicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 07:25 PM   #20
Lobby
Viel Spass, Vato!
 
Lobby's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Oddometer: 27,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicorn
I said I'd report back - but I didn't expect the interval to be so long. I succeeded in achieving my goal of reconding air temperature with my track log.

http://www.sprint-st.org/tours/spain_2005_index.html

shows the result.
So, where do the wires plug into?

Got any pics?

Can we buy this device in the U.S?

And, thanks for the research. I've been wanting this for a long time.
__________________
Gracie's Gold
Lobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 02:42 AM   #21
Unicorn OP
'99 Triumph Sprint ST
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Devon UK
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobby
So, where do the wires plug into?

Got any pics?

Can we buy this device in the U.S?

And, thanks for the research. I've been wanting this for a long time.
I have the power lead 010-10513-00 hardwired to the bike. The data feed from the temperature sensor is connected to Data_2 (NMEA 4600 baud)

No pics, but this is in any case a prototype and consists of the thermistor soldered to a wire and then buried in epoxy, the electronic are encased in a 5/8" diameter tube that is about 4 inches long. Phil at Active Research thinks that for a production unit the whole thing could be less than the size of a relay.

I am hoping that you will be able to obtain the device from Active Research provided that there is sufficient demand to warrant production. (I derive no financial benefit)

Cheers
__________________
--
Mike
http://www.sprint-st.org/
Unicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 04:36 AM   #22
simonm
Stealth Adventurer
 
simonm's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: Sheffield, England
Oddometer: 408
Very cool.
I have no personal interest in recording air temperature onto my 276c but I applaud you for pushing the envelope and taking the time to report back.
__________________
said Vance:
Go waste a day...
simonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 06:14 AM   #23
Lobby
Viel Spass, Vato!
 
Lobby's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Oddometer: 27,264
It's sometimes silly the accessories we like on our bikes. But one of the things I really like about my Honda ST1300 is the ambient temp readout. It's very accurate.

I just like knowng what the temperature is.

I'd be interested in something like this for the GS.

Thanks for your R&D.
__________________
Gracie's Gold
Lobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014