User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-01-2010, 10:48 AM   #1
motosaint OP
LTLYLTL!

Oddometer: 566
Day 1; San Francisco - San Diego Quicky

Okay, it's that much more awesome when going through your own personal hell, that you MAKE some time and get away from it all I had been going through a business 'divorce' of sorts and it's been ugly for months.. Now that things have calmed down a bit, I made a run for it

Unfortunately, my bike had been partially dis-assembled for a few weeks.. 'Anna' is a DR650 and I had been plagued by wicked leaking issues recently with the infamous base & tension gasket issues and finally decided to do something about it. I've never done any kind of car or motorcycle engine work or nothing I can really brag about. Well, I did fix an electrical issue with my 1999 Suzuki Katana 600 (Amanda) that was pretty impressive But I have a degree in electrical engineering.. So I'm glad it was good for something I could use

So for several weeks, I was driving my car which was driving me crazy So when things finally started to calm down, I dedicated a lot more time to fixing the problem. I'm obviously nervous and if it weren't for my buddies at the DR650 Yahoo Group (a special thanks to Charlie ), it' would've been a lot more stressful! The base gasket was a horrible mess and it took probably 2 - 3 hours to clean each joining piece. The tension gasket was an especial mess.. Here are some pictures..

The Head gasket.. Not too bad.

The chain-tension gasket.. This was really bad.. And you can see the gasket maker that I applied for a temporary fix..

A picture of the cam. It was suggested that I take a picture of this before I took it apart, but it wasn't necessary due to the notches in the cam. Just make sure you have the valves properly set first. Which I did