ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-19-2010, 10:26 PM   #1
decodent OP
CyberGypsy
 
decodent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Marin County, CA & Ketchum, ID
Oddometer: 1,403
How do I split 1 MapSource route into 2-3 smaller routes?

Haven't found any documentation to help me with this ...

I have Big Dog's CDT route and each of the routes is too large for my Zumo 450 (too many "Via Points").

So I assume what I need to do is simply break the file into smaller routes, yes?

If so, how?

Thanks.
__________________
Currently no bikes. ;-(
decodent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 10:35 PM   #2
Truckin_Thumper
low profile
 
Truckin_Thumper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston,TX
Oddometer: 28,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by decodent
Haven't found any documentation to help me with this ...

I have Big Dog's CDT route and each of the routes is too large for my Zumo 450 (too many "Via Points").

So I assume what I need to do is simply break the file into smaller routes, yes?

If so, how?

Thanks.
make 3 seperate routes....or make one, then the next , then the last.
Separate files

ex: Trip_1 Trip_2 Trip_3
__________________
Hawk and some stoopit chicken are idiots
Truckin_Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 10:48 PM   #3
decodent OP
CyberGypsy
 
decodent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Marin County, CA & Ketchum, ID
Oddometer: 1,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckin_Thumper
make 3 seperate routes....or make one, then the next , then the last.
Separate files

ex: Trip_1 Trip_2 Trip_3
Not sure I understand what you mean (this is my 1st time using MapSource).

So here's what I have - 1 file containing 6 routes. Several of the routes within this file are too large to load up into the Zumo because they have too many "Via Points".

How can I split up a ROUTE within a single file so that each sub-route will show up in a manageable size?

In other words, how do I take 1 long route and split it into 2-3 separate routes within the same file?
__________________
Currently no bikes. ;-(
decodent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:16 PM   #4
ChubbyThumper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ChubbyThumper's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Co.Antrim, N.Ireland
Oddometer: 420
Try creating a new route on the original (go close on magnification) using the route tool then save as new title. You can copy and paste this route into a new Mapsource file. Its what I do
Hope this helps

Chubby
__________________


ChubbyThumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:18 PM   #5
Truckin_Thumper
low profile
 
Truckin_Thumper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston,TX
Oddometer: 28,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by decodent
Not sure I understand what you mean (this is my 1st time using MapSource).

So here's what I have - 1 file containing 6 routes. Several of the routes within this file are too large to load up into the Zumo because they have too many "Via Points".

How can I split up a ROUTE within a single file so that each sub-route will show up in a manageable size?

In other words, how do I take 1 long route and split it into 2-3 separate routes within the same file?
you can't split a route.

You have to keep the waypoints to less than 2,000.....I am pretty sure for a Zumo the max is 200 points.

re-do it in three seprate .gpd files...upoload all three.

I had to do the TAT with 11 or so routes

Just name them in relation so you can find them in the "routes" off of "where to".
__________________
Hawk and some stoopit chicken are idiots
Truckin_Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:21 PM   #6
Truckin_Thumper
low profile
 
Truckin_Thumper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston,TX
Oddometer: 28,466
I am sorry, 50 waypoints.
If you are waypointing LOTS of turns, you will have to keep each route under 50 turns.
__________________
Hawk and some stoopit chicken are idiots
Truckin_Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 11:26 PM   #7
Truckin_Thumper
low profile
 
Truckin_Thumper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston,TX
Oddometer: 28,466
exactly how are you trying to route this, using auto route, or are you entering a shitload of towns or intersections?
__________________
Hawk and some stoopit chicken are idiots
Truckin_Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 05:53 AM   #8
decodent OP
CyberGypsy
 
decodent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Marin County, CA & Ketchum, ID
Oddometer: 1,403
I'm simply using Big Dog's existing GPS file:

Big Dog's CD Route.gpx

I want to use this route on my Zumo exactly the way it is, though that may change as I get more comfortable with MapSource.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckin_Thumper
exactly how are you trying to route this, using auto route, or are you entering a shitload of towns or intersections?
__________________
Currently no bikes. ;-(
decodent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 05:54 AM   #9
decodent OP
CyberGypsy
 
decodent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Marin County, CA & Ketchum, ID
Oddometer: 1,403
I'm simply using Big Dog's existing GPS file:

Big Dog's CD Route.gpx


Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckin_Thumper
exactly how are you trying to route this, using auto route, or are you entering a shitload of towns or intersections?
__________________
Currently no bikes. ;-(
decodent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 06:49 AM   #10
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by decodent
Haven't found any documentation to help me with this ...

I have Big Dog's CDT route and each of the routes is too large for my Zumo 450 (too many "Via Points").

So I assume what I need to do is simply break the file into smaller routes, yes?

If so, how?

Thanks.
There's an easier way than splitting the routes. Go to the Garmin website and download BaseCamp for your operating system. Open the file in BaseCamp and find the tracks. At quick glance it appears they're by day and run about 700 points. Now you have two options. You can split the tracks using the track tools and then have BaseCamp convert each segment to a route. Option two is to upload the track segments to your GPS and use then, but if you're not comfortable with tracks go the route method. HTH
__________________
SW
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 07:41 AM   #11
decodent OP
CyberGypsy
 
decodent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Marin County, CA & Ketchum, ID
Oddometer: 1,403
Any other options besides BaseCamp?

BaseCamp won't install. Says I need to download Windows Service Pack 3. Which, from the problems I've heard it causes, I won't do.
__________________
Currently no bikes. ;-(
decodent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 08:27 AM   #12
Truckin_Thumper
low profile
 
Truckin_Thumper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Houston,TX
Oddometer: 28,466
Like I said, keep the waypoints below 50...the tracks have 4xx + of waypoints.

You'll have to break it down, or you can just load the tracks and lose any "turn here, turn there".....
__________________
Hawk and some stoopit chicken are idiots
Truckin_Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 10:49 AM   #13
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by decodent
Any other options besides BaseCamp?

BaseCamp won't install. Says I need to download Windows Service Pack 3. Which, from the problems I've heard it causes, I won't do.
Sorry about that. I forgot that Garmin had gone that route (I'm running a Mac). AFAIK, BaseCamp is the best bet for track to route conversion. OK...... I didn't want to go here but try this.

In MapSource, make a duplicate of the route you want to start with. Copy it to your clipboard and open a second instance of MapSource. Paste the copied route to the new instance. Open the route properties window and count down 50 via points. Delete all of the via points below this and recalc the route. Check it against the original in the first MapSource and adjust if necessary. Rename it. Upload this edited route to your GPS and make sure it looks OK. For route 2, re-paste the original into the second MapSource. Delete the first 50 via points, count down another 50 and delete all below this point..... Get the picture? I have no idea if this will work with off road routes but I've used it on road based routes to save route segments I want to archive without saving the whole route. HTH

Edit:

You can also try with more vias to start and find what the limit of your GPS is. 50 seems pretty limited but then I find the whole Zumo series limited.
__________________
SW
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 10:53 AM   #14
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,678
The first thing we need to do is figure out if decodent is trying to use the ROUTES or the TRACKS in this file (or both)

BigDog never intended the *routes* in this file to be used as "follow roads" autoroutes (see post #146 in the thread where he posted the file). He used a 276C for his ride and so his file is made to work with that unit well.
His intention was for riders to use the routes in "off road" mode as a rough guide between turns but use the TRACKS for the exact navigation. I did this in 2007 with my 60Cx and it worked great - after I edited the track files to work with my GPS.
You need to use his file as a guide to develop your own file that will work for you and your specific GPS unit (as CBAT suggested in the Divide Ride thread) but it sounds like you don't have enough Mapsource experience to do it.

I think Countdown has a file for the CDR he created which has 250 points or less in all of the routes and tracks - however it was created for use in the old GPS V so you would be needlessly reducing track resolution for your Zumo IMHO.

You can split routes up in Mapsource by going to route properties and cut/pasting some of the points into a new route.

The limit for a Zumo 450 for any kind of route is 250 points, not 50 (as DRTBYK replied in the other thread). The 60/76 (eTrex?) family units do have a limit of 50 points for a "follow roads" route but they can take 250 for an "off road" route.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com

tbirdsp screwed with this post 06-20-2010 at 11:01 AM
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:26 PM   #15
decodent OP
CyberGypsy
 
decodent's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Marin County, CA & Ketchum, ID
Oddometer: 1,403
MapSource Immersion ...

... that's what it feels like I'm doing.

Anyway, here my goals:

Vision - have entire CDR on my Zumo 450, and simply "follow the purple line" all the way from Mex to Can.

But, at a more granular & practical level, also:
  • Use the GPS to find known gas, lodging, restaurants, etc.
  • Be able to meander away from the main CDR for a bit, then come back and rejoin it.
This is only my 2nd day with MapSource, and - frankly - I find it to be a fairly "clunky" program; it's not as intuitive as it could be. I have no doubts that it's a powerful program, but there's a learning curve to it. For example, I find it's nowhere near as elegant as Google Maps.

And the documentation/ tutorials I've found are not as helpful as they might be.

At any rate, I simply want to accomplish the above as easily & smoothly as possible.

From what I can see, Zumo likes ROUTES as the form of import. If so, then I'm guessing that the best path is to edit the TRACKS into these 250-max sizes, then convert them to ROUTES that easily get pulled into the Zumo.

Yah? Or is there an easier way?

Oy ... and then it sounds like there's the path of overlaying Big Dog's tracks and then creating my own route from there, then saving it?

Much to learn ...
__________________
Currently no bikes. ;-(
decodent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014