ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts > Land of the Rising Sun: ADV Bikes from Japan
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 12:01 PM   #2026
roarin calhoun
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Oddometer: 385
yup jaumey, I had a GS12 & now the Tenere.You are right, both are pigs in sand. Not a lotta fun ...... BUT, it is interesting,don't you think? Kind of challanging ,for a little while. I have not tried either in sand with nice knobbies tho.I wonder about that.
roarin calhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:18 PM   #2027
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 17,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by roarin calhoun View Post
yup jaumey, I had a GS12 & now the Tenere.You are right, both are pigs in sand. Not a lotta fun ...... BUT, it is interesting,don't you think? Kind of challanging ,for a little while. I have not tried either in sand with nice knobbies tho.I wonder about that.
600 lbs never changes. Sand is sand and it's brutal on the big bores.

I need Flydream's support pushers.

pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:27 PM   #2028
Flydream
King of the Atlantic
 
Flydream's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Azores
Oddometer: 382
Look at me now...Happy and relax, that`s the way to ride in the sand
Flydream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:12 PM   #2029
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 17,490
Red!???
pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:19 PM   #2030
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by roarin calhoun View Post
yup jaumey, I had a GS12 & now the Tenere.You are right, both are pigs in sand. Not a lotta fun ...... BUT, it is interesting,don't you think? Kind of challanging ,for a little while. I have not tried either in sand with nice knobbies tho.I wonder about that.
Not interesting at all: VERY TIRED!! even with knobs.
My first time in Morocco was with the DRZ, riding in the dunes was fantastic I accomplished a dream when I was looking the Dakar rally.
Second time was with the GSA. When I saw the first dune here I was… the BMW seem wanted to make a tunnel in it!! What a frustration!!
My friend with a KTM Superenduro was a bit better but no too much: gotta!!

(sorry they are not S10...)






jaumev screwed with this post 05-29-2012 at 03:28 PM
jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:57 PM   #2031
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 17,490
That just looks like the least amount of fun you can have on a bike.
pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:06 PM   #2032
Fasttrak
Captain Crash
 
Fasttrak's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Oddometer: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by pluric View Post
600 lbs never changes. Sand is sand and it's brutal on the big bores.

I need Flydream's support pushers.

I believe they are called "Sand Sherpas". I would need two full-time.


K.B.
__________________
2016 BMW S1000XR
'09 Husqvarna TE610
Fasttrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 05:35 PM   #2033
roarin calhoun
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Oddometer: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaumev View Post
Not interesting at all: VERY TIRED!! even with knobs.
My first time in Morocco was with the DRZ, riding in the dunes was fantastic I accomplished a dream when I was looking the Dakar rally.
Second time was with the GSA. When I saw the first dune here I was… the BMW seem wanted to make a tunnel in it!! What a frustration!!
My friend with a KTM Superenduro was a bit better but no too much: gotta!!

(sorry they are not S10...)





Jaumey, what GRRREAT picts ! Love'em sooo. That KTM pict is lovable---gotta love guys who do stuff like that. Your description of the GSA "Tunneling" thru sand is apt. Mine did,would not climb over mounds of it at all,just tunnelled. A mound of sand drug my foot off the peg once & busted my leg under the Jesse bags. Got soft bags now,a Tenere too.
roarin calhoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:17 PM   #2034
stevepsd
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Idaho & Southern Oregon Coast
Oddometer: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldie05 View Post
You don't have to remove it to change only the oil but you will have to remove it to change the oil filter

I did have to extend the built in cut to remove one of the plugs, I just couldn't remove the plug with any of my tools, couldn't get the ratchet with extender to line up with the plug, no big deal, just opened the cutout a little more
Not true.

You can change the oil filter with the Altrider plate in place. You have to use a filter that is no longer than the OEM one - 2.5" in length. It clears with about 3/8" to spare.
__________________
'12 XT1200Z SuperTénéré, '09 KTM 530 EXC, '08 Triumph Tiger 1050, '87 XR600R Street Legal
Gone but not forgotten: '92 Yamaha TDM850, '82 XJ550 Seca, '80 XS1100,'85 GL1200A, '84 V65 Sabre, '80 CB750F SuperSport, '77 RD400, '72 TS250, '69 CB450K, '68 CL70
stevepsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:36 PM   #2035
Goldie05
Fast George
 
Goldie05's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, NJ
Oddometer: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevepsd View Post
Not true.

You can change the oil filter with the Altrider plate in place. You have to use a filter that is no longer than the OEM one - 2.5" in length. It clears with about 3/8" to spare.
Really? I am about to do my first oil filter change after installing the AltRider bash plate but just from looking at it I didn't think I could remove the oil filter :

I hope you right, it would make my life much easier, next weekend I will test it :)


Sent from my amazing Samsung SII :-)
__________________
12 Yamaha Super Ténéré
Alaska Trip
Cross Country Trip
Riding USA Blog
GeorgeFPhotography
Goldie05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 11:18 PM   #2036
pluric
Gimpy Adventurer
 
pluric's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Salt Lake
Oddometer: 17,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevepsd View Post
Not true.

You can change the oil filter with the Altrider plate in place. You have to use a filter that is no longer than the OEM one - 2.5" in length. It clears with about 3/8" to spare.
Maybe, but it is sure going to be a tight fit. No way my filter socket can be used.
Channel locks or filter strap to get it off and tighten.
Let us know how it goes for you Goldie05. I'm not due for a while longer.



pluric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:23 AM   #2037
Mikef5000
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Oddometer: 2,031
Nothing too exciting here, but did a 3 day 1000 miles easy 2-up loop this weekend to Niagara Falls and Frankenmuth Michigan. Passed through Hell on the way home.
__________________
2008 990 Adventure
2008 WR250R
www.Mikef5000.com
Mikef5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:32 AM   #2038
Goldie05
Fast George
 
Goldie05's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, NJ
Oddometer: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by pluric View Post
Maybe, but it is sure going to be a tight fit. No way my filter socket can be used.
Channel locks or filter strap to get it off and tighten.
Let us know how it goes for you Goldie05. I'm not due for a while longer.
I do have a filter strap, going to try that but there's not much room from the end of the filter to the bash plate

I will let you know
__________________
12 Yamaha Super Ténéré
Alaska Trip
Cross Country Trip
Riding USA Blog
GeorgeFPhotography
Goldie05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 02:29 AM   #2039
jaumev
Beastly Adventurer
 
jaumev's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Barcelona
Oddometer: 1,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by pluric View Post
Maybe, but it is sure going to be a tight fit. No way my filter socket can be used.
Channel locks or filter strap to get it off and tighten.
Let us know how it goes for you Goldie05. I'm not due for a while longer.


I have the Touratech bash plate. Really disappointing comparing with the very strong bash plate they build for the GSA.
The aluminium is too thin and with the hits the front is going back and spoils the oil filter.
Also, I’m not convinced with the Alt Rider front anchorage. It receives all the hits and move to the engine.
I’m working now with a enduro bash plates manufacturer to make a prototype for the ST. I think it's better to have two pieces, one to protect the oil filter and other the engine separately. We’ll see…
jaumev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:56 AM   #2040
Dirty bike
Eval Innovations Inc
 
Dirty bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Ivins, UT
Oddometer: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaumev View Post
I’m working now with a enduro bash plates manufacturer to make a prototype for the ST. I think it's better to have two pieces, one to protect the oil filter and other the engine separately. We’ll see…
Sounds interesting. Also sounds like more stuff to take off for an oil change. Good protection is worth a little service inconvenience though! That's one of the many things I love about the Rumbux. 6 easy to get at bolts and the bash plate is off for oil/filter changes. And with the lower bash frame mounting for the skid plate, no worries about where the impact forces are going.
Dirty bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015