ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts > The British Invasion: Triumph Tigers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2014, 04:12 PM   #19741
Seventy One
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Seventy One's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Land of 10,000 lakes.
Oddometer: 455
I love my stock windscreen. I'm 5' 11" though.
__________________
If I agreed with you we'd both be wrong.
2009 DR650
2013 Tiger 800XC
Seventy One is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 08:09 PM   #19742
Sound Farm
Art x Science
 
Sound Farm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Des Moines IA
Oddometer: 105
so per the manual, is it true with ABS, you need to have the dealer tune and ECU cable to do a brake bleeding and fluid change ?
__________________
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
99 KTM Adventure-R 640 (sold)
Garmin 550
Sound Farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 08:23 PM   #19743
klinquist
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound Farm View Post
so per the manual, is it true with ABS, you need to have the dealer tune and ECU cable to do a brake bleeding and fluid change ?
With my car, you only need to cycle the ABS pump if you think you have significant bubbles in it. You can easily push fluid through it via normal methods. I suspect the Tiger is the same.
__________________
My 2013 Tiger 800 "Off-Roadie" (plate GETLOZT) - My 2003 DRZ (plate LV DRT RD) - My 2003 E350 Adventure Van (plate ADV VAN) - Amateur Radio W1ADV
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 08:24 PM   #19744
bross
Where we riding to?
 
bross's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Osoyoos, BC
Oddometer: 4,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound Farm View Post
so per the manual, is it true with ABS, you need to have the dealer tune and ECU cable to do a brake bleeding and fluid change ?
Yes, I did mine with DealerTool.
bross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 11:18 PM   #19745
Sound Farm
Art x Science
 
Sound Farm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Des Moines IA
Oddometer: 105
I found some third party cables that look like they should work for the ecu cable. Where u guys get your dealer tool? I have also seen tuneboy out there any feedback
also are you able to do your throttle body sync and MAP updates through dealertool?
__________________
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
99 KTM Adventure-R 640 (sold)
Garmin 550

Sound Farm screwed with this post 03-11-2014 at 11:26 PM
Sound Farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:55 AM   #19746
KildareMan
Studly Adventurer
 
KildareMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: County Kildare, Ireland
Oddometer: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound Farm View Post
I found some third party cables that look like they should work for the ecu cable. Where u guys get your dealer tool? I have also seen tuneboy out there any feedback
also are you able to do your throttle body sync and MAP updates through dealertool?
Dealertool comes with it's own cable.
dealertoolcouk.ipage.com/
Yes

cables on ebay and the like should work with tuneecu. Check tuneecu.com for details.
KildareMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:21 AM   #19747
ducnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: central IL
Oddometer: 3,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound Farm View Post
so per the manual, is it true with ABS, you need to have the dealer tune and ECU cable to do a brake bleeding and fluid change ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by klinquist View Post
With my car, you only need to cycle the ABS pump if you think you have significant bubbles in it. You can easily push fluid through it via normal methods. I suspect the Tiger is the same.
On some GM stuff, you can't bleed the brakes at all, without the module valves being opened. My vacuum pump will not pull the fluid, even with the gauge buried.

You're better off to have the valves opened, to ensure there are absolutely no bubbles in the system. If you should mess around and get them, it can be difficult to get them out. Linked ABS, like Honda, is an absolute PITA to get cleaned out.
__________________
'09 Triumph Tiger1050
'96 Ducati 900SS
'02 Suzuki SV650S (hers)
ducnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 02:22 PM   #19748
klinquist
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducnut View Post
Linked ABS, like Honda, is an absolute PITA to get cleaned out.

hah, tell me about it, my last bike was an 04 VFR800 ABS. *7* bleeder nipples.
__________________
My 2013 Tiger 800 "Off-Roadie" (plate GETLOZT) - My 2003 DRZ (plate LV DRT RD) - My 2003 E350 Adventure Van (plate ADV VAN) - Amateur Radio W1ADV
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 03:46 PM   #19749
Windy Rider
Pussy Power
 
Windy Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Ulverstone, Tasmania
Oddometer: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by KildareMan View Post


Brace the screen with Givi screen brace kit for a GS. You'll need to make your own bottom brackets.
Add a Wunderlich or MCA screen lip and you're sorted.
I like that nice job

If you mounted the braces on to the adjustable bolts some how, it would be perfect
__________________
2011 Triumph Tiger xc

Blog: http://thetigerhunt.tumblr.com

http://tiger800xc.tumblr.com
Windy Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:55 PM   #19750
marloweluke
The Flying Dutchman
 
marloweluke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: East Kootenay
Oddometer: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorado_Rider View Post
As long as the engine doesn't care, neither do I. Any good fixes out there for with screen?

I'm in the process of reading this thread but it's a gunna take a while.
There is a special thread for Tiger 800 windscreens on this forum somewhere. Could be useful to you. I also have the Madstad and love it. You can get different shapes of screen using the same mounting bracketry. I have the "adventure" shaped screen which works well.
__________________
WITHOUT RISK........THERE IS NO ADVENTURE
marloweluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 10:09 PM   #19751
bross
Where we riding to?
 
bross's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Osoyoos, BC
Oddometer: 4,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by marloweluke View Post
There is a special thread for Tiger 800 windscreens on this forum somewhere. Could be useful to you. I also have the Madstad and love it. You can get different shapes of screen using the same mounting bracketry. I have the "adventure" shaped screen which works well.
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=686867
bross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 05:14 AM   #19752
KildareMan
Studly Adventurer
 
KildareMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: County Kildare, Ireland
Oddometer: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Windy Rider View Post
I like that nice job

If you mounted the braces on to the adjustable bolts some how, it would be perfect
Those were my 1st brackets. I altered them to match the adjustments for the screen. I'm now back to non adjustable as I've reverted to the standard screen with a Wunderlich lip.
KildareMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:42 AM   #19753
akaDigger
Amateur Adventurer
 
akaDigger's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Oddometer: 485
This quote is from the windshield thread. I agree with all the OP's subsequent comments.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fbj913 View Post
First long ride with the new windshield. Being able to adjust while on the move is awesome!!! I approve of the Givi

I'm 6' 3" with 34" inseam. I ride with the stock seat in the tall position. I found this windshield to be very nice. Night and day difference from stock. I only pull the screen up to block rain. It keeps the bad air off in the low position at any speed. It's called the "Givi Airflow". I paid only about $165 US for it but that was dealer cost 2yrs ago. It actually looks very compact on the bike.
__________________
Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it. Ferris Bueller
Baja 2012, my first moto tour
Oaxaca, Estados Unidos Mexicanos
akaDigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 10:44 AM   #19754
ElJefeATX
Morally correct
 
ElJefeATX's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: On your ignore list
Oddometer: 4,574
Anybody want to help me test live video from El Tigre this afternoon and possibly witness incredible fail?

Going to take a little ride today through the Texas hill country. Will be pretty boring other than some nice scenery, but I'm prepping for my July trip to Canada and may do the live video thing for the sake of concerned family members.

I'm not real confident of the iPhone Camera quality, especially with vibration and it will be interesting to se how cellular bandwidth and such affect it.

If you'd like to ride along go to www.ustream.tv/channel/eljefeatx.

You can comment in the chat window. I'd like input on video quality, whether it seems viable and worth the effort.

You can also opt in to e-mail/twitter alerts any time I begin a broadcast if you're into that kind of thing. I doubt I'll do it a lot, but if I take an interesting ride, I'll probably broadcast it.
ElJefeATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:06 PM   #19755
ElJefeATX
Morally correct
 
ElJefeATX's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: On your ignore list
Oddometer: 4,574
False start with a dead battery (Grrrr). Gonna try again. Video should be live within 30-45 minutes of the timestamp on this post.
ElJefeATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015