ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 02:41 PM   #9541
high dangler
Studly Adventurer
 
high dangler's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: pa.
Oddometer: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullmonte View Post
WTF was Triumph thinking here?

Is there a technique other than holding the nozzle up and spraying between the bars to avoid backsplash?
just the way i do it wether there is bars there or not .
I dont see the problem.
high dangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 04:01 PM   #9542
Xcountry-Rider
Banned
 
Xcountry-Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Pine Valley, California (San Diego County)
Oddometer: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercury264 View Post
You mean cellphone service ? Most modern smartphones don't need cellphone service to operate as GPS units - they have dedicated GPS chips.

But I do agree, the poster would get more traction with this in the dedicated GPS forum than here.
Yes you can pre download tiles and modern cellphones don't need cell service. Posting on the GPS thread won't help me answer my key question. What is the best mount for the Tiger?
Xcountry-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:47 PM   #9543
helotaxi
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Oddometer: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcountry-Rider View Post
Yes you can pre download tiles and modern cellphones don't need cell service. Posting on the GPS thread won't help me answer my key question. What is the best mount for the Tiger?
Same as the best mount for every other bike out there, some variation of the RAM system. Exactly where you want the display and the other farkles that you've got up front will determine the exact setup you want.

I use my phone for nav if I don't have a dedicated unit with me, but the last thing I really want handy and visible while riding is my damn phone. The main appeal of riding is that I don't have to pay attention to the thing.
helotaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:14 PM   #9544
Xcountry-Rider
Banned
 
Xcountry-Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Pine Valley, California (San Diego County)
Oddometer: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by helotaxi View Post
Same as the best mount for every other bike out there, some variation of the RAM system. Exactly where you want the display and the other farkles that you've got up front will determine the exact setup you want.

I use my phone for nav if I don't have a dedicated unit with me, but the last thing I really want handy and visible while riding is my damn phone. The main appeal of riding is that I don't have to pay attention to the thing.
But that does not help me becasue i don't know about mounts i've never had one. So same as any other bike is meaningless. I'd like to up it in a waterproof enclosure. I just don't know what i need to get it done.

Xcountry-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:50 PM   #9545
fbj913
I ride
 
fbj913's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KC MO
Oddometer: 2,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcountry-Rider View Post
But that does not help me becasue i don't know about mounts i've never had one. So same as any other bike is meaningless. I'd like to up it in a waterproof enclosure. I just don't know what i need to get it done.

Not to repeat myself, but maybe you should take this over to the GPS area...
fbj913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:59 PM   #9546
Xcountry-Rider
Banned
 
Xcountry-Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Pine Valley, California (San Diego County)
Oddometer: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbj913 View Post
Not to repeat myself, but maybe you should take this over to the GPS area...

Don't i need a Triumph specific mount?
Xcountry-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 07:16 PM   #9547
bigtallguy
Sasquatch Jr.
 
bigtallguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Jackson, MS
Oddometer: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcountry-Rider View Post
Don't i need a Triumph specific mount?
Depending on where you want it, Ram makes basic motorcycle bases for the handlebars, brake reservoir, etc... Then all you need is the particular mount for whichever phone you have.

http://www.ram-mount.com
__________________
Don't take life too seriously. You'll never get out of it alive.
bigtallguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 07:18 PM   #9548
fbj913
I ride
 
fbj913's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KC MO
Oddometer: 2,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcountry-Rider View Post
Don't i need a Triumph specific mount?
maybe. depends on where you want to mount it. there are lots of options. I'm no expert but i think most are pretty universal. there are a few pics of mounting options here in this thread too. maybe start an T800 thread on this over in the GPS area? you may get lots of information and help others while your at it. i just screwed a mount to my windscreen and called it good. I don't really care where you post. i just thought you would get more diverse help over there... post the address here so we can chime and/or learn a little...
fbj913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:15 PM   #9549
helotaxi
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Oddometer: 380
The only mount that I know of that is Triumph 800 specific is the SW Motech vibration damped mount, but it is meant for a normal GPS unit and bolts to the two smaller handlebar clamp bolts.

With a RAM setup, your imagination is really the only limit. They've got a setup to allow you to do pretty much anything and none of it is bike specific. Check out GPS City or RAM's homepages to get an idea of what's out there.
helotaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:56 PM   #9550
Xcountry-Rider
Banned
 
Xcountry-Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Pine Valley, California (San Diego County)
Oddometer: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by helotaxi View Post
The only mount that I know of that is Triumph 800 specific is the SW Motech vibration damped mount, but it is meant for a normal GPS unit and bolts to the two smaller handlebar clamp bolts.

With a RAM setup, your imagination is really the only limit. They've got a setup to allow you to do pretty much anything and none of it is bike specific. Check out GPS City or RAM's homepages to get an idea of what's out there.
Triumph has an OEM mount but i don't know how to mount a cell phone to it.

Xcountry-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 10:02 PM   #9551
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcountry-Rider View Post
Triumph has an OEM mount but i don't know how to mount a cell phone to it.

looks like a ram base w/ B ball will mount to those holes, then use the ram cradle and arm
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 05:13 AM   #9552
helotaxi
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Oddometer: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
looks like a ram base w/ B ball will mount to those holes, then use the ram cradle and arm
No point in going that route. The Triumph mount uses the somewhat standard AMPS hole pattern made to bolt directly to a GPS mounting cradle without the need for anything else. You could mate it directly with the RAM Aqua Box I linked below but it is a rather pricey "one trick pony" IMO.

http://www.gpscity.com/cell-phone-mo...ua-box-1-large

That should give you an idea of what's available. You can also get the Aqua Box and piece together a mounting setup that suits your needs exactly, for example placing the unit more to the center of the bike so you're not looking to the side to see where you need to go.
helotaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:04 AM   #9553
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by helotaxi View Post
No point in going that route. The Triumph mount uses the somewhat standard AMPS hole pattern made to bolt directly to a GPS mounting cradle without the need for anything else. You could mate it directly with the RAM Aqua Box I linked below but it is a rather pricey "one trick pony" IMO.

http://www.gpscity.com/cell-phone-mo...ua-box-1-large

That should give you an idea of what's available. You can also get the Aqua Box and piece together a mounting setup that suits your needs exactly, for example placing the unit more to the center of the bike so you're not looking to the side to see where you need to go.
yeah that makes sense. the ram stuff is just extra un-needed parts
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 12:36 PM   #9554
markbvt
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
Oddometer: 2,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
yeah that makes sense. the ram stuff is just extra un-needed parts
Or you can skip the weird, overpriced Triumph mount that positions the GPS unit off to the side and just use a regular RAM handlebar mount for less than half the price.

--mark
__________________
'11 Triumph Tiger 800 XC / '03 Honda XR650L / '01 Triumph Bonneville cafe

My ride reports: Missile silos, Labrador, twisties, and more

Bennington Triumph Bash, May 30-June 1, 2014
markbvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:38 PM   #9555
helotaxi
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Oddometer: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by markbvt View Post
Or you can skip the weird, overpriced Triumph mount that positions the GPS unit off to the side and just use a regular RAM handlebar mount for less than half the price.
Which is what I was getting at.
helotaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014