ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts > British Beasts: Triumph Tigers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 06:07 AM   #12916
fbj913
I ride
 
fbj913's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KC MO
Oddometer: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by KildareMan View Post
No
From the top:
REMOTE computer button
Aux lights
Heated grips
Oh and the toggle switch is hazard flashers.
Remote computer button
fbj913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:11 AM   #12917
Birdy68
Scared, but wants to
 
Birdy68's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Bad Zurzach, Switzerland
Oddometer: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbj913 View Post
Remote computer button
....?
Is he saying he's hacked into the tacho and re-wired the 'A' and 'B' button!!!?


Please do elaborate...
__________________
Birdy68
-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-
Leave the pork pies for now - get the sausage rolls while they're hot!
Birdy68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:22 AM   #12918
BillDRZ
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BillDRZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 105
Remote computer button??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdy68 View Post
....?
Is he saying he's hacked into the tacho and re-wired the 'A' and 'B' button!!!?


Please do elaborate...
I use my bikes on dual sport and adventure rides, these rides are navagated by roll charts and some GPS. A remote button to reset the mileage would be great!! I'm really interrested if this is what it does? Please tell us more!
BillDRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:55 AM   #12919
KildareMan
Studly Adventurer
 
KildareMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: County Kildare, Ireland
Oddometer: 681
Tis easy, although it'll void your warranty I would imagine. Just did the lower button.

http://www.tiger800.co.uk/index.php/....html#msg76678

Remove the instrument pod. The rear bit with 800 on it is just a shield the clocks themselves are quite thin. There's a bigger of a 7mm to remove. Once clocks are removed you'll see that you can see the circuit board though the gap around the connector opening. This is where your 2 wires (cat 5 is good) poke through. Solder a wire to each of the two points on the lower button closest to the upper switch.
The switch I used is the triumph aux light switch and bracket. You need to open the switch and butcher it as the logic in the switch could cause problems. Link 2 wires, I used the red & white to two of the switch contacts. Check with a dvm for correct switching. Bob's your uncle.

KildareMan screwed with this post 05-29-2012 at 08:49 AM
KildareMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:33 AM   #12920
Adv Grifter
on the road o'dreams
 
Adv Grifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Passing ADV Stalkers in California
Oddometer: 6,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meles meles View Post
Had no problems with the Giant Loop Great Basin in Utah last year but I also added a piece of the Aerostich 'heat tile' to the inside corner of right side. I have the Arrow exhaust which has a smaller heat shield than stock.

Nice pic and great set up. But how does that work out going off road? Seems to me you have no room to move around. I like to be able to shift my weight back without luggage restricting movement or distracting me when I feel it there.

Shifting weight back is especially useful going down steep downhills.

For this reason I prefer soft panniers and a top duffel set back on the rear rack ... where it belongs. No other diddy bags or bed rolls hanging off anywhere are needed because everything can fit in the panniers or big duffel. Not fond of a tank bag for off roading either. I had one on my Vstrom but it was very low profile, still took a while to adapt to.

I can see using Giant Loop bags on a real dirt bike (for which they were designed) that has NO sub frame. But the 800 XC has a good, strong sub frame, no problem loading it up a bit further back from where the the GL's hang.

I rode with a friend riding a KTM. He had GL's on. They stayed put pretty well but access is not good. If you happen to need something stashed deep in one lobe, its hard to get to. There are no separate compartments, everything is just crammed into one space ... a pretty small space as it turns out. Works good on dirt bikes though, but for mostly On Road touring, I prefer other systems. YMMV!
Adv Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:42 AM   #12921
BillDRZ
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BillDRZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 105
Brilliant

Quote:
Originally Posted by KildareMan View Post
Tis easy, although it'll void your warranty I would imagine. Just did the lower button.

http://www.tiger800.co.uk/index.php/....html#msg76678

Remove the instrument pod. The rear bit with 800 on it is just a shield the clocks themselves are quite thin. There's a bigger of a 7mm to remove. Once clocks are removed you'll see that you can see the circuit board though the gap around the connector opening. This is where your 2 wires (cat 5 is good) poke through. Solder a wire to each of the two points on the lower button closest to the upper switch.
The switch I used is the triumph aux light switch and bracket. You need to open the switch and butcher it as the logic in the switch could cause problems. Link 2 wires, I used the red & white to two of the switch contacts. Check with a dvm for correct switching. Bob's your uncle.
Thank you, good link photo's also! I assume the soldered bits were the contact points for the old button. Did the modification allow the origional button to still operate?
Have you tested it? I'm guessing you leave the A button in the function you like and the new B will reset on the fly?
For and adventure bike they should have incorporated it into the start button. I believe the start button now acts as a timmer when engine is running but I haven't tried it. I thought I read that in the manual briefly before I just jumped on the thing and went to my local gravel pit!
BillDRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:49 AM   #12922
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillDRZ View Post
I believe the start button now acts as a timmer when engine is running but I haven't tried it.
Not familiar with this term; can you please elaborate?
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:38 AM   #12923
KildareMan
Studly Adventurer
 
KildareMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: County Kildare, Ireland
Oddometer: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillDRZ View Post
Thank you, good link photo's also! I assume the soldered bits were the contact points for the old button. Did the modification allow the origional button to still operate?
Have you tested it? I'm guessing you leave the A button in the function you like and the new B will reset on the fly?
For and adventure bike they should have incorporated it into the start button. I believe the start button now acts as a timmer when engine is running but I haven't tried it. I thought I read that in the manual briefly before I just jumped on the thing and went to my local gravel pit!
Instrument pod button still works.
Yes fully tested & working as it should. The remote button has the full button B functionality.
Don't know where you got the timer idea from but the starter switch on the 800 is just a starter switch.
KildareMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:43 AM   #12924
the_babaji
Gnarly Adventurer
 
the_babaji's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
Not familiar with this term; can you please elaborate?

you can always count on urban dictionary for the answer, or a few

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Timmer
the_babaji is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:57 PM   #12925
BillDRZ
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BillDRZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 105
Lap timer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
Not familiar with this term; can you please elaborate?
I'll check my manual again and see if the function works. As I thought I read it the start button acts as a lap timer while the engine is running. I'll test on way home from work and report. I apologize for misspelling of "timer".
BillDRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:18 PM   #12926
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillDRZ View Post
I'll check my manual again and see if the function works. As I thought I read it the start button acts as a lap timer while the engine is running. I'll test on way home from work and report. I apologize for misspelling of "timer".
Well, I'll be.

Page 39 of my owner's manual states:

"With the engine running, the starter button functions as the lap timer 'trigger' button. Momentarily pressing the starter button will start the lap timer recording the next lap."

Bravo for remembering that! I'll have to give it a test to see how it functions.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:40 PM   #12927
Stein67
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
Well, I'll be.

Page 39 of my owner's manual states:

"With the engine running, the starter button functions as the lap timer 'trigger' button. Momentarily pressing the starter button will start the lap timer recording the next lap."

Bravo for remembering that! I'll have to give it a test to see how it functions.
Used to use it on my Daytona when I was actually timing laps.
__________________
I drive a BMW, but I ride a Triumph.

'12 800 XC
Stein67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:44 PM   #12928
KildareMan
Studly Adventurer
 
KildareMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: County Kildare, Ireland
Oddometer: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
Well, I'll be.

Page 39 of my owner's manual states:

"With the engine running, the starter button functions as the lap timer 'trigger' button. Momentarily pressing the starter button will start the lap timer recording the next lap."

Bravo for remembering that! I'll have to give it a test to see how it functions.
Well bugger me with a fish fork. My apologies for my previous statement. Will have to try it tomorrow.
KildareMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 05:41 PM   #12929
Meles meles
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Grayslake, IL
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yossarian™ View Post
Well, I'll be.

Page 39 of my owner's manual states:

"With the engine running, the starter button functions as the lap timer 'trigger' button. Momentarily pressing the starter button will start the lap timer recording the next lap."

Bravo for remembering that! I'll have to give it a test to see how it functions.
Don't believe everything you read in the owner's manual. There is also a caption #6 for "Gear Change Lights" in the diagram of the instrument panel layout. Most likely bad editing from the manual for the Daytona 675, which does have all those features.
Meles meles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 05:54 PM   #12930
Meles meles
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Grayslake, IL
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adv Grifter View Post
Nice pic and great set up. But how does that work out going off road? Seems to me you have no room to move around. I like to be able to shift my weight back without luggage restricting movement or distracting me when I feel it there.

Shifting weight back is especially useful going down steep downhills.

For this reason I prefer soft panniers and a top duffel set back on the rear rack ... where it belongs. No other diddy bags or bed rolls hanging off anywhere are needed because everything can fit in the panniers or big duffel. Not fond of a tank bag for off roading either. I had one on my Vstrom but it was very low profile, still took a while to adapt to.

I can see using Giant Loop bags on a real dirt bike (for which they were designed) that has NO sub frame. But the 800 XC has a good, strong sub frame, no problem loading it up a bit further back from where the the GL's hang.

I rode with a friend riding a KTM. He had GL's on. They stayed put pretty well but access is not good. If you happen to need something stashed deep in one lobe, its hard to get to. There are no separate compartments, everything is just crammed into one space ... a pretty small space as it turns out. Works good on dirt bikes though, but for mostly On Road touring, I prefer other systems. YMMV!
Can't say either bag bothered me when up on the pegs but riding Potash Road/Shafer Trail is about as off-road as I go. Your points are all valid, particularly about trying to access things packed in the GL, which I found a pain. Tank bags are a love/hate thing for most people. I could not live without one as I take a lot of pictures and like to stash an SLR in there for quick access. Not convinced the Triumph bag is the best out there but it works.
Meles meles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015