ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > West California, the desert southwest and whatever is left
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-29-2010, 11:00 AM   #1
Hubbman OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 706
Old Coast Highway, done it?

Hello all,

I'm a noob to adventure riding, and I'm really interested in hearing from anyone who's ridden the Old Coast Highway in Big Sur. My plan is to start from Carmel (my home town) and head down the coast all the way down to Santa Barbara (baby steps!). When I have more experience I really want to take a few weeks and extend this trip all the way down to Baja! I would love some details of what the road conditions are on the coast road, and how your bike was outfitted for the ride (tires, etc......).

Thanks!
Hubbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 11:06 AM   #2
loeky
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 226
Great place to gain some experience, imho. Done it on both bike and truck - nothing is extreme save for a few randomly placed boulders.

Unless it's raining, you shouldn't have any problems with mud or even wet. I would advise having something more substantial than plain street tires, but full knobbies are not necessary to bang through comfortably.

Given you're so close, I could do it a few times in both directions. You can easily do it twice or three times in a single day.

Very scenic and fun little path.
Old 07-29-2010, 11:30 AM   #3
Hubbman OP
Studly Adventurer

Thanks!

Cool, thanks for the quick response! I was thinking about the Sahara 3's for rubber, they seem to have good reviews for road and off road. BTW, where does the coast road dump you back onto 1? It's hard to tell from the topo map I'm looking at on my iPad.
Old 07-29-2010, 10:25 PM   #4
BigT
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 837
I've done it a number of times. Great little road, but there more to explore if you find yourself in the area.