ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 02:46 PM   #2551
nwdub
Banned
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: PNW
Oddometer: 1,097
can I get a model 60 in amber?
nwdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 04:39 PM   #2552
Ben Carufel
Boxer Addict
 
Ben Carufel's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 697
Awesome! Just ordered 2 pairs of the Model 60's with dimmers. A buddy ordered a set yesterday for his KTM...looking forward to getting them on there. I'll actually be looking forward to riding at night, then.
__________________
Ben Carufel
'02 BMW R1150GSA - '72 BMW R60/5
Recovering BMW Addict...
Ben Carufel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:12 AM   #2553
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper X View Post
I am very interested in one of the headlights to augment (in this case blow it away) my stock WIMPY headlight on my 1973 CB340 Four Honda. I want the LED for it's low power consumption and high output. WHat model shout I get and where will it mount? Please PM me the details.
Any idea what your stator output is?

Post a pic of your bike. You could remove the reflectors on the upper fork (if they are bolt on) and mount there or possibly the bolts holding the headlight bucket (but they may block the blinkers).

Quote:
Originally Posted by nwdub View Post
can I get a model 60 in amber?
Here ya go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Carufel View Post
Awesome! Just ordered 2 pairs of the Model 60's with dimmers. A buddy ordered a set yesterday for his KTM...looking forward to getting them on there. I'll actually be looking forward to riding at night, then.
Thanks for the business!
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 12:47 AM   #2554
Jdeks
Departed
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 966
So after buying a generic Fleabay "1125" Lumen LED spotlight, and finding it actually produces less light than my LED headtorch, I'm looking at some of these model 30's for my 950 Adv.

I just switched to 55w HIDs on my conventional low and high beam, and I'm looking at just getting one model 30, and mounting it to my high fender under the chin of the bike, so I have a directional headlight. So I was wondering:
  • how much does each lamp weigh?
  • Since I'm only looking at running one (.85 A), reckon I can get away with just tapping it straight off my high-beam circuit?

    Cheers!

Jdeks screwed with this post 07-20-2012 at 07:27 AM
Jdeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 08:11 PM   #2555
MikeFromMT
Past Tense
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Not in MT, for now.
Oddometer: 4,076
Any thoughts on running one spot and one wide beam (in addition to my stock headlamps) ? I'm thinking one LED lamp on each side of my bike, currently I have some PIAA mounted on my crash bars just below the gas tank on my Tiger, I'd be replacing the PIAAs with these instead. This way I'd get a good wide pattern up close and a good spot out front.
FYI the Tiger headlamps suck on high beam (useless really) but provide a fair amount of light closer in, but still kinda sucky.
__________________
Tommy, what you ridin' there?
Uh... Roll top desk!


Do I look like a man with a plan?
MikeFromMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:15 AM   #2556
Rev
Asshole
 
Rev's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Charleston SC
Oddometer: 238
OK, so its been a few weeks since i got the new ST switch and just wanted to report back really quick

ALL IS WELL and i think that maybe i just got one of "those bad ones" that sneak by on occasion. as soon as i had 20 minutes to throw this one back on (that long only because of the way i have it mounted, i have to pull the whole headlight off, which is only 2 bolts.) i did and havent had an issue yet.


at this point, my only niggle is the buttons are hard to locate with gloves on, and ive taken to riding with one off when i know ill need to hit the switch.

other than that, i cant wait to see a model 60 spot....then ill be set!!!
__________________
Give a man fire, and he's warm for a night.

Set a man on fire, and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Rev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:51 AM   #2557
TRed
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Northern Az., land of a million trails
Oddometer: 11
I got it working finally. I didn't realize that I am litterally the only person here that had to make a completely custom installation of this light on my bike. So I had to learn a ton of stuff to make it work. First off my bike didn't have a lighting coil, so I bought one, but they don't tell you it will need to be modified to work for my bike, it has only one power wire comming out, so I had to "float the ground" they call it. That means cutting the ground wire loop off and soldering another wire to it so that I can have 2 wires come out of the coil. Sounds easy right? It isn't, soldering to a coil wire is near impossible, they coat the wire with something that won't burn off and just won't allow solder to stick, so I had to take it to a radio repair guy who was able to solder it for me. Ok, now that I have 2 wires, I needed a REGULATOR/RECTIFYER, again I didn't know that and had originally purchased a REGULATOR only, which will not work because it doesn't turn the electricity into dc voltage. I then had to get technical info from folks like ricky stator and trail tech to help me discover that I was also going to need a battery and a wireing scematic to show me how to hook it all up. And it can be wired several ways depending on how you want to run it. I got it running last night and it is super bright and killer looking. I mounted the light on the handle bars, the switch is mounted into the side fairing for easy reaching and it is the only button there so it is not confusing in the dark. I mounted the regulator/rectifyer and also the battery into my air box using wide size heavy duty velcro! And to tie it all together I soldered and shrink tubed all connections, which reminds me, that waterproof connector from ADVmonster was no good for me, bad design that takes tiny hands and an hour of time to use, I tossed it and soldered the wires together.

TRed screwed with this post 07-23-2012 at 09:57 AM
TRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:07 AM   #2558
dacrazyrn
ED RN Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFromMT View Post
Any thoughts on running one spot and one wide beam (in addition to my stock headlamps) ? I'm thinking one LED lamp on each side of my bike, currently I have some PIAA mounted on my crash bars just below the gas tank on my Tiger, I'd be replacing the PIAAs with these instead. This way I'd get a good wide pattern up close and a good spot out front.
FYI the Tiger headlamps suck on high beam (useless really) but provide a fair amount of light closer in, but still kinda sucky.
I THINK mine have worked fine.. My thoughts any.
Flood on the right (I have "Yellow filter" covering the bottom half of the light) and spot on the left. Spot to come on with brights and fogs on a AS7 Autoswitch to turn signal cancel button (F800GS)
__________________
Tracy E / Photos4Aidan.com / dacrazyrn.dpcprints.com / Can you SPOT me?
“When you do things RIGHT, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.” God in Godfellas-Futurama
Life is Risk Management
'09 BMW F800GS-Fate Honeyed GSabelle
dacrazyrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:15 AM   #2559
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdeks View Post
I just switched to 55w HIDs on my conventional low and high beam, and I'm looking at just getting one model 30, and mounting it to my high fender under the chin of the bike, so I have a directional headlight. So I was wondering:
  • how much does each lamp weigh?
  • Since I'm only looking at running one (.85 A), reckon I can get away with just tapping it straight off my high-beam circuit?
Each light with mount is 8oz. or 226g.


You should be ok with the high beam circuit. Although you should check the fuse size just to verify.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFromMT View Post
Any thoughts on running one spot and one wide beam (in addition to my stock headlamps) ? I'm thinking one LED lamp on each side of my bike, currently I have some PIAA mounted on my crash bars just below the gas tank on my Tiger, I'd be replacing the PIAAs with these instead. This way I'd get a good wide pattern up close and a good spot out front.
FYI the Tiger headlamps suck on high beam (useless really) but provide a fair amount of light closer in, but still kinda sucky.
The spot/flood combo works well. The spot on the oncoming traffic side reduces possible blinding, the flood lights the ditch and off into the woods. Should plug right in to your piaa connections.

After spending a bunch of time adjusting my 02 Tiger 955 headlight, they work reasonably well, you might check out tigertriple for recommended adjustments.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRed View Post
I got it working finally.
Congrats, lets see some single track action with the light

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRed View Post
I didn't realize that I am litterally the only person here that had to make a completely custom installation of this light on my bike.
You aren't the only one with a custom install. Glad to hear you got it working. Wish you would've posted up more info about your bike.

I have a functioning protoype for dirt bikes that uses ac power and I'm always looking for a guinea pig For now it will be installed on the KTM 300 2T.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TRed View Post
And to tie it all together I soldered and shrink tubed all connections, which reminds me, that waterproof connector from ADVmonster was no good for me, bad design that takes tiny hands and an hour of time to use, I tossed it and soldered the wires together.
The connector design works and works well. Assembly can be tedious and is not for everyone, but when done properly the connectors will last and last. Post up some single track pics with the light and I'll send you a refund for the connector
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:02 AM   #2560
MikeFromMT
Past Tense
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Not in MT, for now.
Oddometer: 4,076
Any eta on the model 60? I see it's on backorder.
__________________
Tommy, what you ridin' there?
Uh... Roll top desk!


Do I look like a man with a plan?
MikeFromMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:49 AM   #2561
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 5,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFromMT View Post
Any eta on the model 60? I see it's on backorder.
Later this week.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:05 PM   #2562
mwood7800
Banned
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Oddometer: 611
I have the 3600 led lights, they kill my fm radio recption, I tried ferrit chokes, no diference, these lights might not meet us codes.
mwood7800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:08 PM   #2563
MikeFromMT
Past Tense
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Not in MT, for now.
Oddometer: 4,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwood7800 View Post
these lights might not meet us codes.
For what? they're not DOT approved, says so right on the website and in this thread.
The KC Daylighters on my truck aren't DOT approved either but I put them on my truck anyway.
I you use them properly nobody will care or even know.

As for radio interference, I've got nothin'.
__________________
Tommy, what you ridin' there?
Uh... Roll top desk!


Do I look like a man with a plan?
MikeFromMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 08:08 PM   #2564
mwood7800
Banned
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Oddometer: 611
I'm not worried about the light output, just the guy walking by wearing a pacemaker!
mwood7800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 08:22 PM   #2565
beechum1
Grimace Soup
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Not home in Tijuana
Oddometer: 8,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwood7800 View Post
I'm not worried about the light output, just the guy walking by wearing a pacemaker!
You're driving too slow.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boondoggle View Post
Watching Dakar is like watching people who've built their own world, and for just a couple of weeks they get to live in it.
beechum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015