ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 10:19 AM   #2551
SV_Dwayne
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SV_Dwayne's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Oddometer: 302
I've been thinking of picking up a set of the model 60s to mount on a light bar on my V-Strom, along with a dimmer with high-beam bypass. One concern I have though is that since there's no cut-off, the lights will be blinding to oncoming traffic when it's dusk and darker out, even if they're dimmed down. If I dim them down to 10%, that might take care of it, but if they're that dim, I'm not sure I'll be throwing any real additional light onto the road. I did do an HID conversion, that works great. Has anyone run a setup like this and actually looked at the dimmed lights themselves when it's dark out?
__________________
Kicking ass seems to be THE ONLY solution to life's problems. Kicking ass is the first, second and third option. Plan B and C are also kicking ass.


SV_Dwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 01:31 PM   #2552
StmbtDave
AKA Invisible Dave
 
StmbtDave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Loveland, CO summer - Green Valley, AZ winter
Oddometer: 2,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by SV_Dwayne View Post
... One concern I have though is that since there's no cut-off, the lights will be blinding to oncoming traffic ...
Thus the reason they're not DOT approved . There really is no solution as the lights have no reflector to control the light pattern.

Dave
__________________
Why are we stopping? We don't have time for that!
StmbtDave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 04:02 AM   #2553
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by SV_Dwayne View Post
I've been thinking of picking up a set of the model 60s to mount on a light bar on my V-Strom, along with a dimmer with high-beam bypass. One concern I have though is that since there's no cut-off, the lights will be blinding to oncoming traffic when it's dusk and darker out, even if they're dimmed down. If I dim them down to 10%, that might take care of it, but if they're that dim, I'm not sure I'll be throwing any real additional light onto the road. I did do an HID conversion, that works great. Has anyone run a setup like this and actually looked at the dimmed lights themselves when it's dark out?
I've used each of the LED models as primary lights (ie no other headlight) in our Dual Sport fairing. They work just fine, produce an adquate amount of light for riding at night while not blinding oncoming traffic (unless you need to). So in your application they should work great.

A pair of 60s on the strom and you won't realize you have other lights
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 03:18 PM   #2554
Sniper X
De Oppresso Liber
 
Sniper X's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Central New Mexico, 7420ft above sea level
Oddometer: 33,319
I am very interested in one of the headlights to augment (in this case blow it away) my stock WIMPY headlight on my 1973 CB340 Four Honda. I want the LED for it's low power consumption and high output. WHat model shout I get and where will it mount? Please PM me the details.
__________________
" The people who cast the votes decide nothing. The people who count the votes decide everything."
Straight Out Da Trailah!
Sniper X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 03:46 PM   #2555
nwdub
Banned
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: PNW
Oddometer: 1,097
can I get a model 60 in amber?
nwdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:39 PM   #2556
Ben Carufel
Boxer Addict
 
Ben Carufel's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 632
Awesome! Just ordered 2 pairs of the Model 60's with dimmers. A buddy ordered a set yesterday for his KTM...looking forward to getting them on there. I'll actually be looking forward to riding at night, then.
__________________
Ben Carufel
'02 BMW R1150GSA - '72 BMW R60/5
Recovering BMW Addict...
Ben Carufel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 05:12 AM   #2557
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper X View Post
I am very interested in one of the headlights to augment (in this case blow it away) my stock WIMPY headlight on my 1973 CB340 Four Honda. I want the LED for it's low power consumption and high output. WHat model shout I get and where will it mount? Please PM me the details.
Any idea what your stator output is?

Post a pic of your bike. You could remove the reflectors on the upper fork (if they are bolt on) and mount there or possibly the bolts holding the headlight bucket (but they may block the blinkers).

Quote:
Originally Posted by nwdub View Post
can I get a model 60 in amber?
Here ya go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Carufel View Post
Awesome! Just ordered 2 pairs of the Model 60's with dimmers. A buddy ordered a set yesterday for his KTM...looking forward to getting them on there. I'll actually be looking forward to riding at night, then.
Thanks for the business!
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 01:47 AM   #2558
Jdeks
Departed
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Oddometer: 958
So after buying a generic Fleabay "1125" Lumen LED spotlight, and finding it actually produces less light than my LED headtorch, I'm looking at some of these model 30's for my 950 Adv.

I just switched to 55w HIDs on my conventional low and high beam, and I'm looking at just getting one model 30, and mounting it to my high fender under the chin of the bike, so I have a directional headlight. So I was wondering:
  • how much does each lamp weigh?
  • Since I'm only looking at running one (.85 A), reckon I can get away with just tapping it straight off my high-beam circuit?

    Cheers!

Jdeks screwed with this post 07-20-2012 at 08:27 AM
Jdeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:11 PM   #2559
MikeFromMT
Past Tense
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Not in MT, for now.
Oddometer: 3,911
Any thoughts on running one spot and one wide beam (in addition to my stock headlamps) ? I'm thinking one LED lamp on each side of my bike, currently I have some PIAA mounted on my crash bars just below the gas tank on my Tiger, I'd be replacing the PIAAs with these instead. This way I'd get a good wide pattern up close and a good spot out front.
FYI the Tiger headlamps suck on high beam (useless really) but provide a fair amount of light closer in, but still kinda sucky.
__________________
Tommy, what you ridin' there?
Uh... Roll top desk!


Do I look like a man with a plan?
MikeFromMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:15 AM   #2560
Rev
Asshole
 
Rev's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Charleston SC
Oddometer: 232
OK, so its been a few weeks since i got the new ST switch and just wanted to report back really quick

ALL IS WELL and i think that maybe i just got one of "those bad ones" that sneak by on occasion. as soon as i had 20 minutes to throw this one back on (that long only because of the way i have it mounted, i have to pull the whole headlight off, which is only 2 bolts.) i did and havent had an issue yet.


at this point, my only niggle is the buttons are hard to locate with gloves on, and ive taken to riding with one off when i know ill need to hit the switch.

other than that, i cant wait to see a model 60 spot....then ill be set!!!
__________________
Give a man fire, and he's warm for a night.

Set a man on fire, and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Rev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 10:51 AM   #2561
TRed
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Northern Az., land of a million trails
Oddometer: 11
I got it working finally. I didn't realize that I am litterally the only person here that had to make a completely custom installation of this light on my bike. So I had to learn a ton of stuff to make it work. First off my bike didn't have a lighting coil, so I bought one, but they don't tell you it will need to be modified to work for my bike, it has only one power wire comming out, so I had to "float the ground" they call it. That means cutting the ground wire loop off and soldering another wire to it so that I can have 2 wires come out of the coil. Sounds easy right? It isn't, soldering to a coil wire is near impossible, they coat the wire with something that won't burn off and just won't allow solder to stick, so I had to take it to a radio repair guy who was able to solder it for me. Ok, now that I have 2 wires, I needed a REGULATOR/RECTIFYER, again I didn't know that and had originally purchased a REGULATOR only, which will not work because it doesn't turn the electricity into dc voltage. I then had to get technical info from folks like ricky stator and trail tech to help me discover that I was also going to need a battery and a wireing scematic to show me how to hook it all up. And it can be wired several ways depending on how you want to run it. I got it running last night and it is super bright and killer looking. I mounted the light on the handle bars, the switch is mounted into the side fairing for easy reaching and it is the only button there so it is not confusing in the dark. I mounted the regulator/rectifyer and also the battery into my air box using wide size heavy duty velcro! And to tie it all together I soldered and shrink tubed all connections, which reminds me, that waterproof connector from ADVmonster was no good for me, bad design that takes tiny hands and an hour of time to use, I tossed it and soldered the wires together.

TRed screwed with this post 07-23-2012 at 10:57 AM
TRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:07 AM   #2562
dacrazyrn
ED RN Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Oddometer: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFromMT View Post
Any thoughts on running one spot and one wide beam (in addition to my stock headlamps) ? I'm thinking one LED lamp on each side of my bike, currently I have some PIAA mounted on my crash bars just below the gas tank on my Tiger, I'd be replacing the PIAAs with these instead. This way I'd get a good wide pattern up close and a good spot out front.
FYI the Tiger headlamps suck on high beam (useless really) but provide a fair amount of light closer in, but still kinda sucky.
I THINK mine have worked fine.. My thoughts any.
Flood on the right (I have "Yellow filter" covering the bottom half of the light) and spot on the left. Spot to come on with brights and fogs on a AS7 Autoswitch to turn signal cancel button (F800GS)
__________________
Tracy E / Photos4Aidan.com / dacrazyrn.dpcprints.com / Can you SPOT me?
“When you do things RIGHT, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.” God in Godfellas-Futurama
Life is Risk Management
'09 BMW F800GS-Fate Honeyed GSabelle
dacrazyrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:15 AM   #2563
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdeks View Post
I just switched to 55w HIDs on my conventional low and high beam, and I'm looking at just getting one model 30, and mounting it to my high fender under the chin of the bike, so I have a directional headlight. So I was wondering:
  • how much does each lamp weigh?
  • Since I'm only looking at running one (.85 A), reckon I can get away with just tapping it straight off my high-beam circuit?
Each light with mount is 8oz. or 226g.


You should be ok with the high beam circuit. Although you should check the fuse size just to verify.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFromMT View Post
Any thoughts on running one spot and one wide beam (in addition to my stock headlamps) ? I'm thinking one LED lamp on each side of my bike, currently I have some PIAA mounted on my crash bars just below the gas tank on my Tiger, I'd be replacing the PIAAs with these instead. This way I'd get a good wide pattern up close and a good spot out front.
FYI the Tiger headlamps suck on high beam (useless really) but provide a fair amount of light closer in, but still kinda sucky.
The spot/flood combo works well. The spot on the oncoming traffic side reduces possible blinding, the flood lights the ditch and off into the woods. Should plug right in to your piaa connections.

After spending a bunch of time adjusting my 02 Tiger 955 headlight, they work reasonably well, you might check out tigertriple for recommended adjustments.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRed View Post
I got it working finally.
Congrats, lets see some single track action with the light

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRed View Post
I didn't realize that I am litterally the only person here that had to make a completely custom installation of this light on my bike.
You aren't the only one with a custom install. Glad to hear you got it working. Wish you would've posted up more info about your bike.

I have a functioning protoype for dirt bikes that uses ac power and I'm always looking for a guinea pig For now it will be installed on the KTM 300 2T.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TRed View Post
And to tie it all together I soldered and shrink tubed all connections, which reminds me, that waterproof connector from ADVmonster was no good for me, bad design that takes tiny hands and an hour of time to use, I tossed it and soldered the wires together.
The connector design works and works well. Assembly can be tedious and is not for everyone, but when done properly the connectors will last and last. Post up some single track pics with the light and I'll send you a refund for the connector
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:02 AM   #2564
MikeFromMT
Past Tense
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Not in MT, for now.
Oddometer: 3,911
Any eta on the model 60? I see it's on backorder.
__________________
Tommy, what you ridin' there?
Uh... Roll top desk!


Do I look like a man with a plan?
MikeFromMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:49 PM   #2565
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFromMT View Post
Any eta on the model 60? I see it's on backorder.
Later this week.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014