ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2011, 09:40 PM   #796
FYYFF
Forever young...
 
FYYFF's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
The 3 mode lights will not work with an external pwm dimmer is it will fight the pwm dimmer that is built into the light. The light will become a very bright strobe light.

OK. I think you are coming up with a new product to solve this "50% w/ low beams, 100% w/ high beams in one click" issue. Is that so?
If yes, is it going to be just a switch we can use in our systems, in both direct 24W and variable 24W's? Are we gonna be able to use the same 24W LED's?
Thanks for the answer.


E.S.
__________________
- 2010 KTM 990 Adv. -

My Smugmug
Follow me with SPOT
My YouTube
FYYFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 04:01 AM   #797
viz
I Ride Ms Piggy
 
viz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney, Oz
Oddometer: 1,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by oregoncoast View Post
PANIC AT THE DISCO!!


I just wanted to say that my one light got delivered promptly..thanks Sanjoh. I didn't realize these were supposed to be ordered in sextuplets

I post up pics of the light on the vintage race bike when it gets installed.....
I like lights - lots of them . Too much bouncy beef (kangaroos) and wombats (small heavy pig like creature) at night - make a real mess if you hit one...

And then there are the cages... Definitely an improvement having the variables and handlebar lights

viz
__________________
Pig In The City - 2010 BMW R1200 GSA Adventure
1996 XL1200S Sportster - a temporary insanity
Webmaster BMW Touring Club of NSW
viz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 08:40 AM   #798
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hababam View Post
OK. I think you are coming up with a new product to solve this "50% w/ low beams, 100% w/ high beams in one click" issue. Is that so?
No plans to make a system to do this. These are offroad lights, having them tied in to the existing lighting system might send the wrong message to DOT.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:54 AM   #799
FYYFF
Forever young...
 
FYYFF's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 1,991
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
No plans to make a system to do this. These are offroad lights, having them tied in to the existing lighting system might send the wrong message to DOT.
Got that. Thanks...


E.S.
__________________
- 2010 KTM 990 Adv. -

My Smugmug
Follow me with SPOT
My YouTube
FYYFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:18 PM   #800
grizzly660
SilverWing
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Oddometer: 3
wire gage

Hi! I am a new member to this forum and I like what I read. Lots of good information. Thank's to you guy's. One question is what is the wire gage # on the wires of the led light is it #18 or #20 gage. by the way I have two of those 24w flood led light and they are well built and very brigth. Thank's to sanjoh for everything.

Thank's again.
Regards.
grizzly660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:21 PM   #801
NomadS
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
No plans to make a system to do this. These are offroad lights, having them tied in to the existing lighting system might send the wrong message to DOT.
That is understandable since you sell them and could open yourself up to problems.

With that said. Does anyone else with electrical experience know how to wire the lights so they would automaticly switch to Medium (8-12w) brightness on low beam and full bright (24w) with high beam? Plus be able to turn them completely off with a separate switch.

NomadS screwed with this post 01-12-2011 at 05:43 PM Reason: added last sentence
NomadS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:45 PM   #802
syspig
Dog Scratcher
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Olympic Peninsula, WA
Oddometer: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by NomadS View Post
With that said. Does anyone else with electrical experience know how to wire the lights so they would automaticly switch to Medium (8-12w) brightness on low beam and full bright (24w) with high beam? Plus be able to turn them completely off with a separate switch.
I realize it's now a long thread, but that's been covered pretty extensively here.

The short version: As of now, you need to buy fixed power aux lights, add in your own PWM dimmer, and wire things up via a relay to the high beams. Here's a link showing the basics.
syspig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:59 PM   #803
NomadS
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by syspig View Post
I realize it's now a long thread, but that's been covered pretty extensively here.

The short version: As of now, you need to buy fixed power aux lights, add in your own PWM dimmer, and wire things up via a relay to the high beams. Here's a link showing the basics.
thanks.. I missed that.
NomadS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 11:31 AM   #804
BexarWolf
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Central Texas
Oddometer: 46
I see the new wireless dimmer is available. Is it retroactive with currently installed lights, including the non-dimming 24w?
__________________
BexarWolf
2001 BMW F650GS
Falkor
__________________________________
"Sit tall in the saddle, hold your head up high. Keep your eyes fixed where the trail meets the sky. Live like you ain't afraid to die. Don't be scared, just enjoy your ride" - Chris LeDoux
__________________________________
BexarWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 04:49 PM   #805
c.vestal
Rally On
 
c.vestal's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: COS
Oddometer: 4,863
Just received my 15W. This thing is perfect for the rally faring I am designing. Shipped fast and great deal. I will be ordering more!!

You sell replacement lenses right?? I foresee a need in the near future.
c.vestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:19 PM   #806
Hotcorner
Member FDIC
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Oddometer: 102
Sanjoh's Switch Installed on a DRZ

I examined the inside of the left handlebar switch unit and found a good place to mount the little waterproof switch. Drilled the hole, a little RTV on the front side of the switch where it sits against the switch housing...(That "goo" on the side of the housing appears to be something the PO did, possibly grip glue?).Switches easily with the index finger.
__________________
'06 Suzuki DRZ400SM
'08 Ducati Multistrada 1100S

Hotcorner screwed with this post 01-13-2011 at 08:37 PM
Hotcorner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:49 AM   #807
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvestal View Post
You sell replacement lenses right?? I foresee a need in the near future.
Replacement parts are in stock. Contact me if you break a lens, I found so far that these things avoid flying rocks and debri due to the small size and the force. However they are not exempt from gravity so some folks have dropped em.
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 01:31 AM   #808
viz
I Ride Ms Piggy
 
viz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney, Oz
Oddometer: 1,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjoh View Post
Replacement parts are in stock. Contact me if you break a lens, I found so far that these things avoid flying rocks and debri due to the small size and the force. However they are not exempt from gravity so some folks have dropped em.
Good to hear.

viz
__________________
Pig In The City - 2010 BMW R1200 GSA Adventure
1996 XL1200S Sportster - a temporary insanity
Webmaster BMW Touring Club of NSW
viz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:04 AM   #809
sanjoh OP
Purveyor of Light
 
sanjoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mountains of Central Florida:)
Oddometer: 4,863
Hotcorner nice install on the switch. Did you have any clearance issues on the inside when installed on the handlebars?
sanjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:51 AM   #810
feyd
Adventurer
 
feyd's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Oddometer: 78
Anyone installed these on a V-strom?

Also, anyone know if sanjoh's LED's will fit this mount??
http://www.twistedthrottle.com/trade...view/3878/203/
__________________
Nothing
feyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014