ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 01:43 PM   #16
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,435
I've been following some of the discussion for sd card size in various forums. The trend of thought is that cards up to 8GB will work. However, since the unit can only handle a single "gpsmapsupp.img" file and that file is limited to 4GB there little incentive to waste the money purchasing anything bigger than a 4GB card.
__________________
My SPOT - No tracks = not riding | Mapsource Tutorial | Husky TR650 Thread Index | Husky TR650 OEM and Interchangeable Parts List | Charter Member: T.O. Club | Voted - "Nicest Asshole you will ever meet" by my friends
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:24 PM   #17
Sapling
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sapling's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
I've been following some of the discussion for sd card size in various forums. The trend of thought is that cards up to 8GB will work. However, since the unit can only handle a single "gpsmapsupp.img" file and that file is limited to 4GB there little incentive to waste the money purchasing anything bigger than a 4GB card.

That is unless your looking for a place to hide your Porn....
__________________
2008 990 ADV AK map Ti Q4 pipes
Woods setup Yz 450F
http://www.youtube.com/user/saplingthrasher
Sapling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:36 PM   #18
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapling View Post
That is unless your looking for a place to hide your Porn....

Ah, well that gives me a heck of an idea....thanks!
__________________
My SPOT - No tracks = not riding | Mapsource Tutorial | Husky TR650 Thread Index | Husky TR650 OEM and Interchangeable Parts List | Charter Member: T.O. Club | Voted - "Nicest Asshole you will ever meet" by my friends
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 10:47 AM   #19
omeier
Gnarly Adventurer
 
omeier's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Puget Sound (WA)
Oddometer: 365
I flashed the firmware and double checked i'm using the latest firware, so I'm good there.

(The nice thing is that solved my functionality issue of putting the unit into USB Mass storage mode.)

didn't change a thing.

I'll try the partioning.

I suspect it may be a formatting issue. The 2 GB card I'm using was originally one I bought from garmin with maps preloaded. Its formatted to FAT.
The 8BG card is formatted to FAT32 i believe. Windows won't let me reformat it to just FAT...

Anyone else notice this. Does this matter?
omeier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 12:09 PM   #20
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,184
Yes, formatting does matter. Do you know anyone with an older computer you could use in conjunction with a card reader to try to reformat? But 8GB may not be compatible with FAT.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 02:44 PM   #21
omeier
Gnarly Adventurer
 
omeier's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Puget Sound (WA)
Oddometer: 365
I think I may just abandon it, since I just learned you can only have one .img file on the card. I have a city navigator one and a topo one, but can't combine them (don't have the cd), so I'm stuck. (I think?)
omeier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 04:16 PM   #22
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,953
You can have as many .IMG files on there as you want.

However, the GPS is only going to use the one named "GMAPSUPP.IMG" in the Garmin directory.

I have two IMG's, one for topo and one for CityNav, on the 4GB MicroSD card in the GPS. (Readme.txt is a short how-to on changing between the two, topo mapset.png is a screenshot of the areas loaded on that mapset. The receiver ignores these files.)


To change between the two, I can either mount that card as a volume on a computer and rename it there, or remove the card and use a file manager on my Palm to rename the files.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:14 AM   #23
PineyMountainRacing
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 1,920
SD card for Garmin 60Cx

how big of an SD card can I use in the 60Cx? I was told that 2 Gb was the max and I ordered one from GPScity.com along with my City Navigator DVD, but they shipped an 8 Gb card. Will the 8 work just as well as the 2? Does it matter? I have to say I am a complete computer/software/GPS illiterate :(

Craig
PineyMountainRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:19 AM   #24
Yossarian™
Deputy Cultural Attaché
 
Yossarian™'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: the 'Ha
Oddometer: 9,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by PineyMountainRacing View Post
how big of an SD card can I use in the 60Cx? I was told that 2 Gb was the max and I ordered one from GPScity.com along with my City Navigator DVD, but they shipped an 8 Gb card. Will the 8 work just as well as the 2? Does it matter? I have to say I am a complete computer/software/GPS illiterate :(

Craig
You can use the larger card; there are some limits as to what the GPS can address, though.
__________________
Successfully surviving motorcycling since 1976.
Yossarian™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:40 AM   #25
PineyMountainRacing
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 1,920
appreciate it - I'm sure they'll exchange it for a 2 Gb if I ask, I'm just leaving out in the morning for a trip and wanted to have the GPS up and running.
PineyMountainRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:53 AM   #26
NorthernTraveler
Long time Adventurer
 
NorthernTraveler's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The Big Mitten
Oddometer: 397
Large micro SD card

With the latest firmware you can have at least a 4 gb map set - I have map set that is just over 3 gb and it works fine. Keep in mind you are limited to 2025 map segments.... when you select maps to download, it'll tell you at the bottom of the map tab how many map segments you have selected.

The extra memory can be used to save your track log for the day... you can set the GPS up to automatically save the days track log to the micro SD card with full resolution, named with that days date.

To load that big map set that I made, using the USB interface, it takes several hours.
NorthernTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:30 PM   #27
PineyMountainRacing
Oops....
 
PineyMountainRacing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: SW Florida / Western NC
Oddometer: 1,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernTraveler View Post
With the latest firmware you can have at least a 4 gb map set - I have map set that is just over 3 gb and it works fine. Keep in mind you are limited to 2025 map segments.... when you select maps to download, it'll tell you at the bottom of the map tab how many map segments you have selected.

The extra memory can be used to save your track log for the day... you can set the GPS up to automatically save the days track log to the micro SD card with full resolution, named with that days date.

To load that big map set that I made, using the USB interface, it takes several hours.
I obviously have a lot of homework to do since this all sounds like a foreign language - so I guess no reason to swap the card out for a 2Gb. I'm leaving out of here tomorrow, I'll have to mess with the GPS and City Nav when I get to NC. I haven't had a chance to play with it yet. Thanks again!
PineyMountainRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:52 PM   #28
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by omeier View Post
I think I may just abandon it, since I just learned you can only have one .img file on the card. I have a city navigator one and a topo one, but can't combine them (don't have the cd), so I'm stuck. (I think?)
You might want to combine the maps with GMapTool.



The 'Join' tab allows you to combine maps, I think. I've only recently started playing with GMapTool, so I could be wrong, though.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:39 AM   #29
thestrunas
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Oddometer: 18
Wicked GPSmap 60CSx - 16GB no problem

Hey I know this is a bit of an old thread, but it still comes up on a google search so I thought I would add my experience in this area.

I am running a SanDisk 16GB card without any problems.

Got all of North America installed and room left over for topos, though, as mentioned earlier they must be renamed via an external device to be recognized as the current map.

So, anybody got a 32GB in there yet?

Chris

3 DR650s (change 'em like my underwear:)
thestrunas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:51 AM   #30
NorthernTraveler
Long time Adventurer
 
NorthernTraveler's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The Big Mitten
Oddometer: 397
Memory card problems

In the past year I've had 2 micro SD cards fail while in use in one of my 76cx's.

Both were off brands, and neither were recognizable in a computer afterwards... in other words I lost the daily tracklog files on them.

So I started looking over my memory cards... the SanDisk brand cards specifically say they are shockproof, freezeproof, etc. None of the others that I have make these claims.

So it might be worth your while to spend the couple of extra bucks for the SanDisk cards. I got a two pack of 4gb Sandisk cards at Walmart for around $17 dollars... worth it for my peace of mind.
NorthernTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014