ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 07:38 AM   #121
Jeff@TheQuadShop
TAT survivor
 
Jeff@TheQuadShop's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Crestwood, Kentucky
Oddometer: 4,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by DynaSport View Post
The only thing I don't like is my inability to create routes on something like Google maps and load them into the phone like I can with Basecamp on my Garmin.
You can do that with Navigon
__________________
1998 RMX 250 singletrack bike
96 XR600 adventure bike
KY state Vet A offroad champion
TAT and TWVT survivor
Jeff@TheQuadShop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:21 PM   #122
DynaSport
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TheQuadShop View Post
You can do that with Navigon
Interesting, the Navigon website says you can, but the instructions about what was necessary seemed confusing, so I called their customer support and the customer support person says you can't. So, if you have successfully done this could you let me know.

Thanks
DynaSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 06:40 AM   #123
Jeff@TheQuadShop
TAT survivor
 
Jeff@TheQuadShop's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Crestwood, Kentucky
Oddometer: 4,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by DynaSport View Post
Interesting, the Navigon website says you can, but the instructions about what was necessary seemed confusing, so I called their customer support and the customer support person says you can't. So, if you have successfully done this could you let me know.

Thanks
I haven't done it myself, I read a thread on here about it. I only use track logs as they are way more reliable when following specific roads than routes.
__________________
1998 RMX 250 singletrack bike
96 XR600 adventure bike
KY state Vet A offroad champion
TAT and TWVT survivor
Jeff@TheQuadShop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:26 AM   #124
DCMC
Supermoto Rider
 
DCMC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Oddometer: 78
I have iOS 6, and the apple navigation talks to your bluetooth. Now I may buy a SENA helmet headset. It's pretty neat.
DCMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 02:05 PM   #125
DynaSport
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 448
Motion X Drive gives me my directions on BT as well through my Scala G4
DynaSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 05:38 AM   #126
levain
STILL Jim Williams
 
levain's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 6,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by DynaSport View Post
Motion X Drive gives me my directions on BT as well through my Scala G4
yeah, but you can't upload premade routes from laptop.
__________________
Click Here!
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
2008 Yamaha WR250R
1971 Lambretta DL
levain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 05:14 AM   #127
seevtsaab
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Smugglers Notch VT
Oddometer: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by DynaSport View Post
The only thing I don't like is my inability to create routes on something like Google maps and load them into the phone like I can with Basecamp on my Garmin.

.
You can do that just fine with Motion X. You CANNOT do that with Motion X Drive.
Motion X - Tracks.
Motion X Drive - Routes.

Create route in Google, convert to gpx, email or drag and drop to your phone. Track maps can be preloaded so no issue with cell coverage even though that's the next shortcoming to be reported.

Just used my custom backroad track to get to Ogunquit and home over back roads through VT, NH, ME and I'm a fanboy now.

Only thing that really pisses me off, I mean really really really pisses me off, is the asshole popups (alerts) 'Unable to acess cellular data network' (only popped up once thank God) and 'Charging not supported with this device' (after 4 hours of charging fine). These popups require me to fucking press OK and did I say this pisses me off?

Other than that for on road custom routes it was great for a dollar.

seevtsaab screwed with this post 09-22-2012 at 05:16 AM Reason: dufus
seevtsaab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 05:24 AM   #128
levain
STILL Jim Williams
 
levain's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 6,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by seevtsaab View Post
You can do that just fine with Motion X. You CANNOT do that with Motion X Drive.
Motion X - Tracks.
Motion X Drive - Routes.

Create route in Google, convert to gpx, email or drag and drop to your phone. Track maps can be preloaded so no issue with cell coverage even though that's the next shortcoming to be reported.

Just used my custom backroad track to get to Ogunquit and home over back roads through VT, NH, ME and I'm a fanboy now.

Only thing that really pisses me off, I mean really really really pisses me off, is the asshole popups (alerts) 'Unable to acess cellular data network' (only popped up once thank God) and 'Charging not supported with this device' (after 4 hours of charging fine). These popups require me to fucking press OK and did I say this pisses me off?

Other than that for on road custom routes it was great for a dollar.
I guess I need more of a hand holding. I tried to do this. Got the waypoints on Motion X and it drew a straight line from point to point. There was no routing. What am I doing wrong? Does it actually do turn by turn?
__________________
Click Here!
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
2008 Yamaha WR250R
1971 Lambretta DL
levain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 02:55 PM   #129
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by levain View Post
I guess I need more of a hand holding. I tried to do this. Got the waypoints on Motion X and it drew a straight line from point to point. There was no routing. What am I doing wrong? Does it actually do turn by turn?
Motion-X GPS does *NOT* do on-road routing. Motion-X Drive does.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 03:54 PM   #130
levain
STILL Jim Williams
 
levain's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 6,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmEff View Post
Motion-X GPS does *NOT* do on-road routing. Motion-X Drive does.
But you can't upload routes in drive. Correct?
__________________
Click Here!
2012 Triumph Tiger 800 XC
2008 Yamaha WR250R
1971 Lambretta DL
levain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:53 PM   #131
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by levain View Post
But you can't upload routes in drive. Correct?
Don't quote me on this, but I believe that is correct.
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:59 AM   #132
DynaSport
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 448
No you can't. At least I can't find a way to and I emailed their customer support and they said you couldn't as well.
DynaSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 03:59 AM   #133
seevtsaab
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Smugglers Notch VT
Oddometer: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by levain View Post
But you can't upload routes in drive. Correct?
I also believe this is true. I mistakenly purchased MotionX Drive initially. Not what I wanted. Waste of $.99!
So I looked a little deeper and found MotionX.
How many waypoints were in the GPX file you sent to MotionX? I'd guess you should have several hundred per mile?
Pretty continuous trace of dots along a map.

I'll paste in the How-To file I wrote cause I'm a dumb fuck and forget shit, and I LOVE being able to create a custom map
and follow on a GPS, or my phone in this case (as I'm also poor and don't have a proper moto GPS).

I wrote this file specifically for me so forgive if bits don't make sense.


Create a route, convert to gpx format and import to motionX app on iPhone


Create Route in Google Maps
Save to My Maps (login as edtheslowrider)
Edit Map to give a decent name
copy Link from Google map ('link') button
1) use Takeitwithme (http://www.takitwithme.com/)
-Select *Line Options* To Track
-Edit resulting .gpx file to get rid of ALL extraneous <name> tags (keep just the <name> following <trk> tag)
or
2) GPSVisualizer http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/convert...ert_format=gpx
-Edit resulting GPX <name> tag
or
3) with google map open with route (FIREFOX!!) click GMapTo2GPX on toolbar - select 'Full' in GPX file that opens
-Edit resulting GPX <name> tag
copy / paste into *.GPX file (use Notepad save as .gpx)

Do either:
1) connect iPhone, select phone, Apps, page down to File sharing, Add...., select gpx file
2) email attached gpx to gpsimport@motionx.com, open email on iphone and select link - use native mail app

Tracks - Import
seevtsaab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:19 AM   #134
Jeff@TheQuadShop
TAT survivor
 
Jeff@TheQuadShop's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Crestwood, Kentucky
Oddometer: 4,508
Instead of up loading routes which are unreliable, upload tracks. Tracks will never change when transfering like routes will.
__________________
1998 RMX 250 singletrack bike
96 XR600 adventure bike
KY state Vet A offroad champion
TAT and TWVT survivor
Jeff@TheQuadShop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:17 PM   #135
abhibeckert
Beastly Adventurer
 
abhibeckert's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Cairns, Australia
Oddometer: 1,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by seevtsaab View Post
Only thing that really pisses me off, I mean really really really pisses me off, is the asshole popups (alerts) 'Unable to acess cellular data network' (only popped up once thank God) and 'Charging not supported with this device' (after 4 hours of charging fine). These popups require me to fucking press OK and did I say this pisses me off?
Yeah, the cellular network alert is crap. That is a bug in MotionX... I've emailed them but they haven't done anything so far.

The charging not supported message is your charger on it's way out... either due to vibration or water damage. Time to clean the contacts, maybe replace the cable. If that doesn't work buy a new charger.
__________________
We're building a community to help noobs choose the right oil: Stack Exchange's Proposed Motorcycle Community
abhibeckert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014