Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-19-2010, 06:25 AM   #1
Sutherngintelmen OP
around the bend

Oddometer: 1,196
R75/5 Buying Questions

Hey,

I'm new to airheads. Have had my eye on 75/5's for a couple of years and gearing up to buy one. It'll be a rider as I'm some ways out from my own Barber.

Been trying to find a check list of pre purchase items with no luck - wondering what resources you gents might point me at.

What should I ask the seller? Things I should look at when face to face with the bike?

Stuff like - carbs, valves (isn't there something about pre-unleaded petrol?) tank work, hell - even knowing it's not a Frankenstein!

Any good books out there?

Many thanks.
There is a pleasure in the pathed woods, There is a rapture in the smoking pipe, There is chaos, where none intrudes, in the deep dell, with its thrills roar; I love not nature less, but bikes the more. Byron riding.

All pics < 6/30/12 deleted by Apple Now with SmugMug supporting ADV
Sutherngintelmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 06:45 AM   #2
jtwind
Wisconsin Airhead

Oddometer: 3,472
Searching here will get you a number of threads on this question. If you aren't familier with airheads I'd suggest taking someone along who was. In general buying a airheads isn't any different from any other bike. How does it start cold, how does it run, how does it look, how much is it etc. Certainly not rocket science. If you buy a airhead and don't figure on spending some time and money making it right you are often in for a surprise. So for me price is the most important thing because I am often buying a platform to work on.

There is a BMW motorcycle buyers guide out there by motorbooks international. Not definitive but has some good info.

www.northwoodsairheads.com
www.jefftrappwindsors.com

"Between two explanations, choose the clearest; between two forms,
the most elementary; between two expressions, the shortest."