ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 17 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-15-2011, 04:28 PM   #196
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtp View Post
LoL ok you win. The Vector has some neat features. Still not going to buy one though.



I've got a Panoram (previous version of the Endurance) on the Nordwest, Vapor on the TT350, and an Acewell 3100 on the DR650.

The Garmin Oregon 300 gets switched between bikes.

Most of the time the Venture would do me nicely. For the other times the Oregon would bolt to the bars in no time.
NordieBoy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 06:55 PM   #197
Johnf3
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtp View Post
I saw nothing in it's literature about an ODO adjustable by tenths. How do you access this feature?

The Vector does not have gps so while it offers a lot it's not an all-in-one solution.
On the Voyager you hold down the joystick button until the odometer starts flashing and then just click it up or down.
__________________
'06 950 Adventure S
'10 Husaberg FX 450
'01 KTM 520exc
Johnf3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 10:06 PM   #198
dtp
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dtp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Turlock, California
Oddometer: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnf3 View Post
On the Voyager you hold down the joystick button until the odometer starts flashing and then just click it up or down.
Awesome! Thank you! That sounds easy enough to do in a hurry on the trail. I may be picking one of these up then.

Tell me one other thing... is it practical to switch the Voyager between bikes? I'd like to be able to use it on three actually. Well maybe just two. My VStrom would do better with my road-routable gps I suppose.
__________________
07 Husqvarna TE250,07 VStrom 650, 92 Suzuki DR350S
"Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there lurks the skid demon!" -- 1962 Honda Safety Rules
dtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 01:53 AM   #199
flatboarder
Gnarly Adventurer
 
flatboarder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Austria/Europe
Oddometer: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtp View Post
Awesome! Thank you! That sounds easy enough to do in a hurry on the trail. I may be picking one of these up then.

Tell me one other thing... is it practical to switch the Voyager between bikes? I'd like to be able to use it on three actually. Well maybe just two. My VStrom would do better with my road-routable gps I suppose.
You can use it without wiring it to the bike. As a standalone device it is pretty easy to swap it. You need to remove and attach the clamp coming with the voyager. But this kind of usage does not make a lot of sense for motorcycle usage in my opinion.

However, as soon as you wire it to the bike for power supply, coolant temp, speed sensor and tach signal, you need to unplug its four small secured connectors which takes some time and you need to install the same kind of cables for each of your bikes. This may cost some money.

I suggest you would not want to transfer the complete wire harness of the voyager each time you swap bike and this would not even be possible without a big mess.
flatboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 08:06 AM   #200
Johnf3
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtp View Post
Awesome! Thank you! That sounds easy enough to do in a hurry on the trail. I may be picking one of these up then.

Tell me one other thing... is it practical to switch the Voyager between bikes? I'd like to be able to use it on three actually. Well maybe just two. My VStrom would do better with my road-routable gps I suppose.
I guess it depends how you want to use it. I use mine to keep up with total engine hours and total mileage, so I would not want to move it around to different bikes. To take full advantage of what it does, you would need to install all the sensors for all the bikes that you would want to switch it around to. You for sure want the wheel sensor because it is the most accurate method to track speed and distance.
__________________
'06 950 Adventure S
'10 Husaberg FX 450
'01 KTM 520exc
Johnf3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 03:38 PM   #201
Neil E.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Neil E.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Gormley, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 287
I've used the Voyager for most of this riding season. I don't use waypoints at all for the reasons listed in post #168. It does a great job of logging temperature and altitude, but displaying RPM is pitiful. It's all over the place (connected to the coil primary lead). This is not a big deal since RPM display is not important to me.

There is one thing I'd really like to see in this unit: The ability to have an extra method of track display. By this I mean changing the attributes so that some tracks can show as dotted lines. This way single track trails can be differentiated from double track.

Even if this could only be done using RideLeader, it would meet my needs.
Neil E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 05:00 PM   #202
tmotten
Lefthand ride Dutchy
 
tmotten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 2,456
How has the mount held up?
tmotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:05 PM   #203
Neil E.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Neil E.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Gormley, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 287
I didn't use the stock mount. I bought their accessory mount, but only scavenged the rubber grommets from it. I found it was better to make all my own hardware. I have free access to the machine shop at work.
Neil E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:13 AM   #204
flatboarder
Gnarly Adventurer
 
flatboarder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Austria/Europe
Oddometer: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil E. View Post
Even if this could only be done using RideLeader, it would meet my needs.
Neil, thanks for commenting on the tach issue. Same as for me. No use for random values, but works as detector for running engine.
Did you use Rideleader successfully?
For me (in Europe) this software did not work at all. It displays an empty screen, maybe a big ocean, no idea. It does not display the track data or anything useful at all.
Apart from that, I have anything GPS related running on this computer without any issues.

tmotten: no issues with stock mounting clamp for me up to now.
flatboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:53 PM   #205
KyoXR
Clouds, Snow, Rain
 
KyoXR's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: CA
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil E. View Post
displaying RPM is pitiful. It's all over the place (connected to the coil primary lead). This is not a big deal since RPM display is not important to me.
.
this can usually be fixed,
I went the extra mile and soldered in a resister in the lead and that cured my "all over the place" condition, I still think this is caused from the signal wire picking up some extra signal via proximity to something it shouldn't be.
__________________
2007 XR650L,
Looking to acquire a stock XRL choke plunger.
The multi-quote function is your friend.
My motorcycle is 5000 times faster then a centipede!
KyoXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:07 PM   #206
Neil E.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Neil E.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Gormley, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 287
I have no trouble at all with RideLeader. It is very rudimentary and somewhat clumsy. It takes a bit of right clicking to find some of the features. RideLeader displays OK in editor mode and map mode. Earth mode is slow but works, although I've never used it. List mode does nothing but I haven't tried to find out what it is supposed to do.

I find sharing the pan/zoom function on one button is awkward. As long as I remember to back out to the main map screen, the display while riding is passable. Based on my experience I can't recommend the Voyager and I'm using it to map out a specific riding area which is the task it was designed for.

I think it makes sense to buy a Garmin Montana and a very basic Trailtech or Acewell unit for odometer/hourmeter purposes. The Montana wasn't available when I bought the Voyager. The fact that the Voyager did not have maps was not an issue for me. I really only needed good track recording and track management capability.
Neil E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:10 PM   #207
Neil E.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Neil E.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Gormley, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyoXR View Post
I went the extra mile and soldered in a resister in the lead
What value of resistor did you use? I wonder if the signal filtering time in the Voyager is correct.
Neil E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 02:06 AM   #208
flatboarder
Gnarly Adventurer
 
flatboarder's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Austria/Europe
Oddometer: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil E. View Post
What value of resistor did you use? I wonder if the signal filtering time in the Voyager is correct.
Well, why not just use coaxial wire? Maybe connecting coating mesh to ground? This should prevent interference of other signals, I guess. Maybe I will give it a try. However, I am wondering how the Vapor does it. It is explicitely offered as a Tachometer with grafical signal bar. It should perform better than the voyager with respect to displaying tach values.

Neil, you are right, the Pan/Zoom control is messed up. It seems like they kind of fixed it for the FW 2 devices, but not for the FW 1 devices. At least they introduced a one button zoom level change between two levels, according to changelog.

I still like the idea of having a GPS tracker at hand whenever I use the motorcycle. The Voyager as a fixed gauge is always at hand, and I can collect my rides on it, mark places, eval vehicle data, whatever. However, there are some nasty issues. For instance, incompatibility with Garmin Oregon created GPX files (preventing just inserting a Garmin SD card to import those tracks without editing them manually) due to trivial reasons. Also, I would still ask for integration of the tripmaster remote switch, to have an all in one instrument. And correct tach values.
flatboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 06:04 PM   #209
KyoXR
Clouds, Snow, Rain
 
KyoXR's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: CA
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil E. View Post
What value of resistor did you use? I wonder if the signal filtering time in the Voyager is correct.
I used a 2.2K 1/8watt resister from Radio Shack,

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatboarder View Post
Well, why not just use coaxial wire? Maybe connecting coating mesh to ground? This should prevent interference of other signals, I guess.
.
That's not a bad Idea, I was trying to think of a way to shield the wire from outside signals.
__________________
2007 XR650L,
Looking to acquire a stock XRL choke plunger.
The multi-quote function is your friend.
My motorcycle is 5000 times faster then a centipede!
KyoXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:54 AM   #210
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,187
Bikes with FI lights

The new Fuel Injection bikes have FI lights that should be heeded, should something go wrong.

I looked through the Voyager manual and noted that the LED lights are for the water temp only.

Trail Tech, can you guys update your software so that these lights can be used (as an option) for the FI lights. Now that FI is becoming more and more common, is Trail Tech going to address this issue and provide a way to monitor the FI light?

Since these are supposed to "replace" the standard display units, will this be addressed?
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014