ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2012, 08:16 AM   #1591
Pistolero
W. F. O.
 
Pistolero's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Oddometer: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-treks View Post
Yeah - thats what I'll do but if you can't wait that long then you may want to check out CPR FAB as they are planning to have maps available
I just saw that. I wish I lived out there, then I could just take my bike up there and let them do their magic ... But I'll have to settle for the AKRA map for now I guess.
Pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 02:37 PM   #1592
marcing
Adventurer
 
marcing's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: West Midlands, UK
Oddometer: 70
Can I load other OEM maps for 990 Adventure ABS UK/EU 2006 model than the one dedicated for this year bike ?
marcing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:21 PM   #1593
KTMexcrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMexcrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Marietta
Oddometer: 120
Rpm

Hey Guys,
I was hoping to get some quick help for my 07 990. Recently I put on Leo Vince slip-on's, changed the air filter to a BMC, removed the SAS and all associated plumbing.
The bike is running really good except for 4500 to 5100 revs it's very snatchey. I'm currently running the Akro map. any suggestions for a quick fix using Tune ECU.
I'm fairly certain this has already been covered in this thread but i'm pressed for time and was hoping one of you could help me out.
Thanks
KTMexcrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:49 PM   #1594
DirtClaudeKilly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
DirtClaudeKilly's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Central Coast California
Oddometer: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMexcrider View Post
Hey Guys,
I was hoping to get some quick help for my 07 990. Recently I put on Leo Vince slip-on's, changed the air filter to a BMC, removed the SAS and all associated plumbing.
The bike is running really good except for 4500 to 5100 revs it's very snatchey. I'm currently running the Akro map. any suggestions for a quick fix using Tune ECU.
I'm fairly certain this has already been covered in this thread but i'm pressed for time and was hoping one of you could help me out.
Thanks
Try turning the O2 sensors off, if you haven't already
__________________
Emoticon illiterate
DirtClaudeKilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:51 PM   #1595
KTMexcrider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMexcrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Marietta
Oddometer: 120
Check, they got turned off when i downloaded the Akro map.
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtClaudeKilly View Post
Try turning the O2 sensors off, if you haven't already
KTMexcrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 05:49 PM   #1596
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 757
I agree - in EVERY configuration I run with the O2 on - I get the 4K pause. As soon as it is disabled, all is good! Doesn't matter which map I use....but I like the way the bike runs with no O2 on.
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:57 AM   #1597
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,812
You can run any map before the models with the 105hp came along.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcing View Post
Can I load other OEM maps for 990 Adventure ABS UK/EU 2006 model than the one dedicated for this year bike ?
I run the 07-08 EU and am very pleased with it. Wings with baffles and EU model, everyting stock but secondaries never less than 14%.
Cheers.

gefr screwed with this post 04-21-2012 at 05:39 PM
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 03:40 PM   #1598
newbaumturk
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: pittsburgh pa
Oddometer: 89
Wicked anyone near pgh pa?

anyone around pittsburgh pa wanna help me out? i have a 990s akra cans sas and vap rec removed. no clue what tune is in my bike but its lean... scary lean on start up.....

if willing please pm me
newbaumturk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:13 AM   #1599
SauceSquatch
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SauceSquatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by gefr View Post
I run the 07-08 EU and am very pleased with it. Wings with baffles and EU model, everyting stock but secondaries never less than 14%.
Cheers.
What year is your bike?

I just put on a set of Wings on my 2010.
SauceSquatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:44 AM   #1600
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,812
Mine is 2006.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SauceSquatch View Post
What year is your bike?

I just put on a set of Wings on my 2010.
I was having surging problems and dive into TUNEcu. After installing European map 2007/8 front lambda sensor heating appeared grounded. After replacing, I got the same with the rear lambda sensor. Then air pressure leaking due to sloppy repair on its inlet pipe. After all that, bike came to its senses. And then, fuel pump crapped.
I bring all that up to show there are lots of things that can cause troubles we try to solve with TUNEcu.
Cheers.

gefr screwed with this post 05-04-2012 at 05:04 PM
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:38 AM   #1601
SauceSquatch
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SauceSquatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 255
yes, that's solid advice.
SauceSquatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:43 PM   #1602
the foolish fellow
UP FOR IT
 
the foolish fellow's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: DONEGAL
Oddometer: 140
15 min idle

Does one have to do the 15 min idle with every small change with tune ecu ?
__________________
990 adv
850 Le mans
Gl 1000
X5 3.0d
FE 450 BERG
the foolish fellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:12 PM   #1603
moto-treks
Back Home
 
moto-treks's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Spokane Washington
Oddometer: 1,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by the foolish fellow View Post
Does one have to do the 15 min idle with every small change with tune ecu ?
I'm sure you don't as I would think that over time the ECU would adjust. But it's only 15 minutes and then it done. I also find that you need to take it for a ride too as it seems that the second time out everything works better.
__________________
Moto Trek'n to New York via the Trans Labrador Hwy, South America

Moto-Treks
moto-treks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:17 PM   #1604
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by the foolish fellow View Post
Does one have to do the 15 min idle with every small change with tune ecu ?
Only changes to the F and L maps as well as ignition maps require the reset.
Anything else is reset upon ignition cycles.

__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:40 AM   #1605
1050rat
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: West Coast Scotland
Oddometer: 33
Laugh

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcing View Post
Can I load other OEM maps for 990 Adventure ABS UK/EU 2006 model than the one dedicated for this year bike ?
My bike was manufactured in Dec 2006 so I can guess an 07 model on an 08 plate. Last week I bought a cable and connected it via the work laptop (teehee it had to be useful for something ) to study what map I had.

To my horror I discovered I had been running the US spec Akrapovic map on a completely stock bike UK since buying it from the stealer. Despite complaining of the dreaded surging issues nothing was done through three years of services at the same shop except a suggestion to remove the secondary butterflies. By the way, the map had O2 sensors disabled EPC off etc.

SO, I downloaded the stock EU 07/08 map from the TuneEcu site and uploaded it to my bike over the course of the weekend and did the 15min idle. WHAT A TRANSFORMATION !!!!!I cannot quite believe how the bike runs now and as it was supposed to from leaving the factory floor. To think I have been riding this bucking bronco for thousands of miles with the wrong map infuriates me.

Yesterday I decided to tinker and disable the EPC (O2 still enabled). OMG another quantum leap forward that has me having to completely change my riding style as I find myself barelling into corners with no engine breaking way too fast oh and just riding like a loon everywhere I cannot believe the way the bike pulls now overtakes are a breeze whereas previously I would struggle against say a chipped V6 diesel.

Gobsmacked but absolutely loving my *new* bike I would recommend trying the 07/08 map from here
http://www.tuneecu.com/Tunes_in_Hex_...0704501Map.zip. I can only imagine the mapping was improved between 06/07 and shouldn't imagine you can do much harm ?!

I was going to take the plunge and buy a set of aftermarket cans to try and solving the surging issues I was having instead I have completely fixed the problem for the price of a TuneEcu cable. This is definately the way to go never mind about trying to snip gear sensor wires fitting O2 eliminators etc. TuneEcu and mapping is *the* solution.

Let us know how you get on..OH and NEVER TRUST YOUR DEALER !!!!!

Cheers
1050rat
1050rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014